We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quayside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palace(Paignton)
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berry Hotel(Paignton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveller rating
255
242
74
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
255
242
74
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravelzoo dealernie listercar parkoverlooking the harbourbar next doorno lifthotel is in a great locationinland roomsuperior roommonkfishlocal fishmobility problemsone night stayfamily roomshort walklovely breakweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 619 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Spent two nights here, ideal location and pleasant view of Marina. Had dinner both nights in the restaurant the food is of a very high standard and service and ambience excellent. All staff very friendly and helpful . The rooms let it down very cramped and dated. No dressing table as coffee tray takes all the space no where for toilet bag or anything in the bathroom, and Blankets!! furniture very dated. A little disappointed to pay full rate when I asked about offers on booking then a few days later a travel Zoo offer appeared did mention this and was told they would look into it but nothing happened

Room Tip: Book a superior room if possible
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midd877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

we had a wonderful stay, we booked a superior room on the top floor with a balcony, the views across the harbour were amazing as we knew they would be as we have been to brixham on several occasions, the breakfasts in the resaurant were of a enjoyable standard, we ate an evening meal in the ernie lister bar & it was wonderful, there is alot of history in the quayside as originally they were fishermans cottages, room service/reception were very helpful, the room was always clean & smelling fragrant on our return every day, the stairs are very steep though so i wouldnt recomend the elderly or disabled booking anything on to higher floor, thoroughly enjoyable hotel & friendly staff, Lisa in west mids.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I have recently retuned from a 3 night break at the Quayside Hotel and had a very enjoyable stay.
We booked a room at the rear of the hotel,which was fine;the bed was comfortable and we had all we required, including a t.v. with good reception...........not something one can always rely on in quite a few hotels.There was no bath,only a shower which was adequate,if on the small side,as was the bathroom.The staff,one or two of whom were slightly'off the wall' but in a nice way,were friendly and helpful.The breakfasts were fine with plenty of choice and dinners were excellent and we both enjoyed some lovely fish dishes.It was also pleasing to see that the wine list was reasonably priced as well.It was Agatha Christie Week when we were visiting and we took part in the special dinner,during which an interesting and informal talk on Agatha was given by John,a local historian.A potent 'Agatha' cocktail was served beforehand and thankfully no-one was poisoned!
The only drawback to the hotel is the carpark which, as other reveiwers have stated,is some distance away up quite a steep hill.Not good for those of us with dodgy knees,but you can't change that.We left the car alone and took some very reasonably priced boat trips to Dartmouth and Torquay.....excellent value.
Finally our only criticism was that we thought the Ernie Lister bar was rather dingy and overpowered by dark wood.A bit like a 1970's pub but not in a good way!Needs tastefully updating.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed the Quayside Hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it and look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We had booked 3 nights at The Quayside Hotel but after our first night there we immediately had to find a different hotel for our 3rd night as we knew we couldn't spend 3 whole nights at The Quayside. We were in a twin room and had been placed on the first floor the first room that everyone's passes. Not only were we disturbed by everyone walking past the room all through the night but the room was unbearably too hot with a noisy ventilation pile outside we couldn't open the window. But the staff were friendly, helpful and the food was fantastic.

Room Tip: Avoid twin room on first floor, too hot.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Quayside. Particularly of note is the breathtaking view across the harbour from the front of the hotel. Parking is a bit of a problem because the hotel is a short walk away from its car park which was already full when I arrived. The staff were very friendly, coping admirably with the full hotel, and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms boasting a sea view also suffer from greater noise. I'd recommend the rooms at the back of the hotel for a good night's sleep which are still very comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews