We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location on the harbor edge.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location on the harbor edge.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Location and view was excellent. Staff was very accommodating. Downside was the multiple staircases to get to the comfortable well kept room and in suite bathroom. Free Parking was located several blocks away. Short walk to village and harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billatbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    209
    69
    26
    12
See reviews for
44
342
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Brixham Hotel between the 15th and 20th Sept. 2013 and when we booked, which was online, the hotel and rooms looked great. We booked a twin room, at the back of the hotel with no views, but by photo standard looked great and was really looking forward to our weeks stay. The reality was the room was dingy and dirty and the lights had to be on at all times, sure there was no views but what you could see was just a filthy outlook, room like it was in the attic with rickety stairs up through the floors to get to it, toilet was like a small corridor with no window, toilet and bath was not cleaned during our stay although the floor and sink was along with towel changes, the beds were so uncomfortable they gave you backache and the pillows were not pillows at all and it was just awfull.

The positives. Nice reception staff, nice dining room with nice views if your lucky, good breakfast and hotel in a great position.

We were booked for a week but by the 5th night both my Wife and I had such a bad sleepless night we decided enough is enough, quickly packed our bags and traveled back home, 355 miles.

Peter and Sandy Bullard
Lowestoft

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room at the front and avoid room 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quaysidehotel, Owner at Quayside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We are sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. We obviously cannot change the fact that we are in a 250 year old cottage building but if you had spoken to our very helpful receptionists during your stay they would have tried to deal with your cleaning issues. Just as a note, the beds that you found so uncomfortable are new high quality pocket sprung beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

booked this hotel for two day mid week stay which included breakfast and evening meal for both nights in with the price, which was good value for money. The breakfast was average but the evening meal was excellent. Our room was number 34 which was at the very top with stunning views of the harbour, the room itself was very clean and comfortable, small shower room but was sufficient for the time we were there. The staff were all friendly and polite and gave a good service. Cosy bar area and beautiful restaurant area. The car park is only a short walk down the road but do drop your luggage off first.

Room Tip: book a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Totally enjoyed my stay at this hotel, cannot fault anything it was perfect. Will,definitely be visiting this hotel,again in the future. The choice of breakfast was amazing nothing was too much for them. Staff were friendly and helpful the rooms were spotless. They have a restaurant and bar too which is really good.

Room Tip: Sea view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in our way to Cornwall. What a great hotel & the service was great, our room was fantastic although not a great view, we did just turn up & hadn't booked. The breakfast was so nice my husband had full English & I had lovely poached eggs & smoked haddock scrummy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is formed from six fishermen's cottages perched in a great location above the harbour. Naturally this has resulted in a rather quaint mixture of rooms, levels and staircases. The harbour facing rooms enjoy wonderful ever changing views. My room had recently been refurbished including the ensuite bathroom. The bed was comfortable , the room was clean, the shower could not make up it's mind if it should deliver hot or cold water and supplied a medley of both. Breakfast was very good and dinner was excellent. The hotel has a small cosy pub attached adjacent to the dining room, food is also available here. The Quayside is located within a couple of minutes walk from the town and harbour, the only downside is the location of the car park which by necessity is located a fair distance away from the hotel and uphill. The staff were excellent, efficient and friendly, my American relatives loved it.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is harbour facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just got back from a five day visit to the Quayside hotel,food at breakfast was realy good,staff helpful at all times,but be warned room 17 is extremely warm although the hotel do provide two fans one being a ceiling fan which is covered in dust and a small one on the desk,we were not told this when we booked,only that we looked out on to a patio which blocked most of the light out of the room,on saying this the room was clean and kept clean all week.Drinks umm,a glass of red wine nearly six pounds!!!!

Room Tip: Room 17 very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triciaatavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#23 of 25 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside Hotel

Property: Quayside Hotel
Address: 49 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quayside overlooks Lyme Bay and is a short walk to Brixham town centre, the Marina and beautiful coastal paths. Public areas include a comfortable lounge, an intimate and award winning restaurant, a cosy resident's bar and a traditional public bar with great bar food. Full of character and charm, the hotel has been expertly developed from 6 period fisherman's cottages. Enjoy the atmosphere, but don't get lost in the quirky corridors and winding stairs that make our friendly Hotel so distinctive. Wi Fi Internet access is available throughout the Hotel and we have a free private car park approx 350 yards from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quayside Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing