We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant brilliant brilliant”
Review of Quayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant brilliant brilliant”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A short stay in stormy Brixham made perfect by the attentive friendly staff at this cosy hotel with great views over the quay. After a warm welcome we were led up to our extremely comfortable and homely sea view room, having parked up in the large private car park.

The evening meal was served by exceptionally friendly and cheerful staff and the food was of the very highest quality, beautifully cooked and presented. A gratis glass of bubbly with the TravelZoo option went down very nicely thank you, as did the out of season low price tag but high quality experience. The breakfast was every bit as good as the previous night's meal and the following two meals were of the very highest standard possible.

We were so impressed with everything and really could not find fault at all. We WILL be coming back.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view - a little more money but really worth it to be able to watch the quay and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    223
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
51
373
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated right on the harbour, it has a nice bar and lounge, very quite but it was January! There is a nice restaurant and a bar next door which is part of the hotel. Food is served in both with the bar being slightly cheaper. The room was nice but typically English seaside. It was clean and comfortable. We had room 5, it had a sea view, a real one where you look out of the window and see the sea!

The bar lounge has a nice open fire (gas) but was great on cold night.

The staff were very friendly the food was great. An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angNpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We booked a one night stay for an Anniversary treat and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the accommodation. Having a bar adjacent to the dining room that served real ale was an unexpected bonus. The evening dinner was truly exceptional and the breakfast was also very good. The staff were friendly and welcoming so it is hard to find be critical of anything. Suffice it to say it would not suit disabled guests the stairs are quite narrow/steep as might be expected in a hotel composed from a terrace of houses. The car park is also 5 minutes walk away but luggage can be dropped off/collected at the door.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed for a night on the seemingly popular Travelzoo deal and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were friendly from start to finish, the room was clean and comfortable and the adjoining public bar welcoming and fully equipped with real ale! The place has character. Just down the road a visit to the Sprat & Mackerel pub - under new friendly management - is recommended.

The modern dining room overlooks the harbour and served a good breakfast and dinner. The latter was a 3-course meal which was very tasty - especially the tomato soup and crab starters (although the monk fish fish and chicken were not top notch quality). The rain on the patio "roof" outside our room was noisy enough to wake us up in the night meaning you might need to sleep with the window closed.

These issues are minor, though and our stay represented great value for money. Recommended!

Room Tip: At least some of the inland rooms have doors opening on to a covered patio - rain on the roof is lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A very warm and cheery welcome awaited us for our overnight stay on a one night Travelzoo deal. This excellent reception set the scene for the rest of our stay. Our room was very cosy with a comfortable bed. We were allocated a window seat in the restaurant where we were served a superb evening meal and breakfast by very attentive staff ( The walnut bread was wonderful). I cannot think of anything negative to say and wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Destinators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evesham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spent new year at the quayside in Brixham with friends. we all had a great time and enjoyed the break. the hotel organised a 'race night' new years eve which interspersed with some lovely food made for a great night of entertainment.
The breakfasts are especially lovely!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evesham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for one night deal including 3 course meal, glass of bubbly and breakfast. Hotel is quaint and quirky, lots of stairs , staff very friendly and helpful and food was very good. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
742 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,011 reviews
15.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
3.2 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
334 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside Hotel

Property: Quayside Hotel
Address: 49 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quayside overlooks Lyme Bay and is a short walk to Brixham town centre, the Marina and beautiful coastal paths. Public areas include a comfortable lounge, an intimate and award winning restaurant, a cosy resident's bar and a traditional public bar with great bar food. Full of character and charm, the hotel has been expertly developed from 6 period fisherman's cottages. Enjoy the atmosphere, but don't get lost in the quirky corridors and winding stairs that make our friendly Hotel so distinctive. Wi Fi Internet access is available throughout the Hotel and we have a free private car park approx 350 yards from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quayside Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing