We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service and cuisine to match” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quayside Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Tonteg, Pontypridd
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Superb service and cuisine to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

The hotel is ideally situated overlooking the harbour, and the views are lovely. A small hotel which is very clean, fresh but has not lost its charm. The staff - all of them, are very efficient and friendly, and the head waiter was very informative, at each breakfast made sure we were aware of the evenings plans. The food was absolutely stunning, and the wine selection would suit anyone. The new years eve dinner and entertainment was very well organized, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We did think it a little expensive for 3 nights, and we spent far more than we budgeted for as the drinks at the bar were expensive. However, overall we had a fantastic stay, would go back, and very much recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmcm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    210
    69
    26
    12
See reviews for
44
343
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Parking is an issue but they deal with it very efficiently. Quickly unload then a permit will let you leave your car up the road and turn right! Homely welcome no fuss. It's an old building so lots of stairs and fire doors to negotiate. Nice room and modern bathroom. Gorgeous view from seafront room. Food in restaurant top notch! Very helpful head waiter. Really enjoyed our stay here and would like to go again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rome_at_Easter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at the Quayside hotel for one night on 18th September with our 8 year old. Service was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and service was quick. If there was anything to say that was negative it would be the room decor a little tired although very clean. Was a little disappointed that food was served in the Lister bar until 9.30pm and i asked for a ploughmans at 9pm and was told that they wouldnt make that 'at this time of night'! Would return again though.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dowhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Usually get booked into a Premier Inn, but due to them being fully booked for the holiday season, the company put me up in this traditional and welcoming hotel- full of olde worlde charm.

Great staff, interseting building and a good bar, were all plus points. Plus a fantastic location, over looking the harbour, with parking a short walk away. On the downside, my single booking- £66 b&b- meant a small single bed and the room was pretty tight. However it was reasonably comfortable, with spacious bathroom, flat tv, tea & coffe, etc.. It seemed like the place to enjoy a great breakfast, alas, it was only average. Good food in friendly bar the night before had got my hopes up a bit too high maybe!

But, overall, it was a pleasant place, with friendly staff. And if you were staying on leisure and get a sea-view room, i bet it'd make for a great break!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank king_of_muffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Fantastic hotel to stay in and brilliant views of the harbour, right in the centre of Brixham.
Breakfast and Dinner in the hotel is very good with quality ingredients used. Every sunday night there is a live band in the hotel, Can't really see why people complain about this as they finish about 11pm.So if you want a peaceful night don't book above the bar.
If you want to go somewhere nice for fish dishes try Beamers just along the harbour side again with stunning views fantastic service and staff, the food is very very good and highly recommended.
We ventured into a balti curry house which believe me is very basic. On the starters course everything seemed fine until I noticed that the condiments that they gave to you with the poppudoms where taken away after you had finished. These where then topped up with some more sauces etc... for the next people to use!!!!!!!!!! Now I was shocked by this but is this normally what happens???However the main course come out and I must say after much uummm and arggghhh I deceiced to try it and it was gorgeous...

The torquay ferry runs from the pier every 45minutes for a cost of £7.00 per adult return,but you can barter.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouJay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

From 16-21 Aug, myself,my wife and 3 children,7,5 & 1 stayed at the Quayside in the family room and we all enjoyed the hotel.
The lister bar was good and the food was excellent,the local beer 'otter' was top notch!
I had the full English breakfast every morning and it was excellent.
Even though the hotel was full,it was very quiet,i dont think i crossed paths with anyone in the corridors all week!!
The staff were a credit to the hotel,and were the best that i have experienced in a long time!
Even though the parking is not on site it is only a short pleasant walk and the car park is safe.
Go on..treat yourselves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
John

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIPPAX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

A lovely hotel. situated in a fantastic location to explore the delights of Brixham and the surrounding area,, staff were very friendly and helpful.. Would suggest you book a superior room with a smalll balcony, its worth the extra cost.. All in all a wonderful weekend break.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigfella57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
15.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside Hotel

Property: Quayside Hotel
Address: 49 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quayside overlooks Lyme Bay and is a short walk to Brixham town centre, the Marina and beautiful coastal paths. Public areas include a comfortable lounge, an intimate and award winning restaurant, a cosy resident's bar and a traditional public bar with great bar food. Full of character and charm, the hotel has been expertly developed from 6 period fisherman's cottages. Enjoy the atmosphere, but don't get lost in the quirky corridors and winding stairs that make our friendly Hotel so distinctive. Wi Fi Internet access is available throughout the Hotel and we have a free private car park approx 350 yards from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quayside Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing