We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, well priced...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel
Ranked #15 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We found this as a last minute deal, which can sometimes be a bit hit and miss. Were delighted with our stay - lovely, spacious room which was spotlessly clean and very quiet as set back from main road. Breakfast was delicious and had a good variety of choices. Hosts very welcoming. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiewestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for The White Horse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a great long weekend. The hotel is situated in a central place which gives easy access to all the interesting places, such as Torbay, Torquay, Brixham, Paigton etc
It is a really quaint hotel with lots of history. It sits behind the Weary Ploughman public house(worth a visit) in Churston and next to the steam railway(great little railway running daytime only).
It does on arrival look like faulty towers however that’s where the similarity ends! The hosts are really friendly and have turned this into a great little B & B.
Breakfast is tasty and varied to meet most tastes and requirements. The rooms are specials very clean and tidy. Overall I would recommend this Hotel and e will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but we had a corner room which overlooked the back garden and the steam railway a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful place. Right next to the steam railway which made day trips using steam and river transport easy. No parking probs!! Breakfast is excellent, owners friendly and rooms fantsstic. Has a bar too :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here for one night last weekend - extremely helpful owners who were able to take time out of their day to drop us off at a party we were going to nearby. The rooms are clean and functional with freeview and free wifi.

The Guest House is perfectly situated for visiting Greenways and Cole Fishacre as well as Brixham, Paignton, Kingswear and Dartmouth.

At this excellent value would stay again,

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre - This is more of a guest house than hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed for two night to go to my niece's wedding.
Quiet,clean and friendly hotel with excellent breakfast. Would definatly recommend to friend
Good position for exploring Brixham and Paignton

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Friendly and helpful service, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Bedroom well furnished; bed really comfortable bedrooms tidied daily, bathroom scrupiously clean, towels changed daily.
Excellent choices of food for breakfast, evening meal again excellent and very well presented.
A great location for the steam train, and for buses along the coast line.

Room Tip: If you are interest in steam trains this is a great location
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la2Athers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I stayed here for just one night whilst visiting some business contacts in the area. The guesthouse is located at Churston 'steam only' train station.

The bedroom was spotless, the bed was excellent, fixtures & fitting were all in perfect condition and was stocked with all the little extras i could ever have needed.

The breakfast was also first class.

I work for a large hotel company, this establishment would put many of the large 4* hotels that i normally deal with to shame.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BritDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
2.0 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
576 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Weary Ploughman Inn
The Weary Ploughman Inn
#1 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
94 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#17 of 26 in Brixham
27 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fair Winds Guest House
Fair Winds Guest House
#6 of 26 in Brixham
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel

Address: Dartmouth Road | Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: £64 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse hotel is a 4 Star family run guesthouse which is open all year round. All of our bedrooms are en-suite with tv's, DVD players, tea/coffee making faculities and many more personal touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing