We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Horse Hotel
Ranked #19 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable two night break at the White Horse. The owners are very friendly and helpful with information on the area. The room was spacious with views over the adjoining playing fields and also the rear garden. Our substantial breakfast of fresh fruit and full English set us up for the day.
One day we walked to Greenway, home of Agatha Christie, along lanes and then through a woodland area, taking about an hour. We then returned via the coastal path. The next day we parked in Kingswear for a trip on the steam railway ( a footplate experience as a present) and also visited Dartmouth by ferry. For dinner we went to the adjacent Weary Ploughman which is excellent (see separate report) on both evenings but you must book for Saturday night.
There are many other places to explore nearby such as Brixham as well as lovely coastal paths and The White Horse is excellent for a short break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is a family run very nice B & B adjacent to the steam railway station(trains stop about
6pm) the rooms were very nice with comfortable beds, the breakfast was great, an all round good
two days particularly liked by our visiting American friends, if I was to be a little picky we had in
our bathrooms what we as ex scuba divers call "submarine showers" drop your soap and you had no chance of bending down to retrieve it!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the largest shower (if they are not all the same?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My Daughtet booked a weekend at the hotel as a gift for me and my husband .
It is right next to the steam railway and I wasn't sure how noisy it would be but it was fine. I was disappointed to not actually see one of the trains during our stay.on arrival the owner was very welcoming and friendly. The room was very nice and it overlooked a sports field with trees beyond which was lovely.The room was very clean. The owner suggested we visit an old inn in Churston. I'm glad he did as my husband and I love buildings with character. It was stunning and only a few minutes in the car from the Hotel. It is literally five minutes from Brixham harbour, a lovely town. You can get a ferry over to Torquay.
The breakfast the next morning was lovely and we felt very relaxed.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggiewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The White Horse Hotel is the best B&B you could wish to stay at .Rob and Sandra are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome just like home from home . The rooms are very clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, cereals, fresh fruits etc and Rob's full English was perfect. Right next to the Steam Railway which is a great way to see the sights(would recommend the round Robin) and the last train is 5pm so it does not cause any disturbance. We would highly recommend the White Horse and will definitely be back .

Many Thanks Gary & Kim Carlton

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarySuttonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel provided great value and excellent service. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Comfortable room and very good breakfast. I would certainly recommend it. The hotel is a little set back from the road so you have to keep your eyes open.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

we were recommended by friends, who live near Brixham, to stay at the White Horse and we were not disappointed. we decided to use a private hotel as last year when we came down to south devon we travelled with national travel and they used the very large Bay Trecarn hotel whitch was a disaster. The rooms and breakfast at the white Horse are excellent and the hosts very obligeing. We will definitely use the white horse again . many thanks once again.reg buckle

Room Tip: your sat nav may confuse you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The White Horse is set just off the main road from Paignton to Brixham, near one of the stations for the Dartmouth Steam Railway. The hotel has a small car park just the right size for the amount of rooms. Although the hotel is next to the railway, it doesn't normally run at night so has no effect on sleep. The rooms are small, but after all you only need them to sleep in. The breakfast is good, using local sourced goods.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
2.0 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Weary Ploughman Inn
The Weary Ploughman Inn
#1 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
99 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#18 of 26 in Brixham
28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fair Winds Guest House
Fair Winds Guest House
#6 of 26 in Brixham
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel

Address: Dartmouth Road | Churston Ferrers, Brixham TQ5 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: £66 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse hotel is a 4 Star family run guesthouse which is open all year round. All of our bedrooms are en-suite with tv's, DVD players, tea/coffee making faculities and many more personal touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing