We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit to Brixham”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brixham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sampford Guest House
Ranked #3 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent visit to Brixham”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just spent a wonderful break in Brixham, two nights in Sampford Guest House and one night in the adjoining Fisherman's Cottage. We would highly recommend a stay and owners Matthew and Rosie were the perfect hosts who offered lots of local information. Brixham is steeped in history and after an excellently cooked breakfast there was plenty of interesting trips to go on, our favourite being a visit to Agatha Christies House in the old 1940's Agatha Christie bus. We are already planning our next trip safe in the knowledge that we will receive excellent service in a beautiful guest house.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms offer a fantastic view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattPaisleyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
417
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just returned from a short break , we stayed in the fisher mans cottage,myself husband and Dougie my dog, We were made very welcome by Rosie and Matthew, the cottage was amazing , it was well furnished with a very comfortable living room lovely bedroom, king size bed and the most fantastic views over the harbour..
Breakfast was everything you could want, hot ,large and kept you going all day.
Very good value for money with parking close by.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: The fishermans cottage was lovely as you had somewhere to spend a hour relaxing, and the views amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have stayed here before and would recommend it to anyone as the hosts Matthew and Rosie are very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The rooms are outstanding especially if you can get one with a harbour view. The breakfast you are offered is one of the best i have tasted whilst staying in bed and breakfasts !!
We cannot wait to come stay again as Brixham is one of favourite locations and hopefully we will be able to stay in the cottage as it is supposed to be stunning !!

Room Tip: Rooms with a harbour view are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelwolf6357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you hav'nt experienced Sampford House in Brixham yet, may I suggest that you put it on your list of things too do. Matthew and Rosie are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. Sampford house itself is a real taste of Brixham, but with plenty of bling attached. Over the years my wife and I have probably frequented every room in the house and they are all first class as are the en-suites. Rosie's breakfasts are spot-on and certainly set you up for the day, and any local information you might need, Matthew is always on hand to help. No wonder then, that we keep going back, and once you visit , you'll keep going back too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It's very difficult to be original in rating such a property as the Sampford Harbour View Guest House as others have said it all before!

It is a delightful 18th Century Fisherman's Cottage sensitively adapted for 21st century needs, whilst retaining all the quirks of low ceilings etc. The view from our room [Room 5] was directly over the inner harbour - pictures attached - and that was truly delightful.

A very clean house with a very large range of breakfast options - all beautifully cooked and presented.

We received a very warm - genuine - welcome from our hosts and were made to feel very much at home and that nothing was too much trouble. When telephoning the day before to confirm our booking in time we were offered to arrive at 10.30am - to leave our luggage and Noon to move in - a great help to us and something which other establishments don't usually offer.

So it does live up to everything you will see on the website and more.

Thank you Rosy and Matthew for a great start to our holiday

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are the highest in the building and will offer the best view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireBearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked a room as a surprise for our son and daughter-in-law. As usual Matthew was very helpful with the booking, even providing a Gift Certificate. We are pleased to say they were more than happy with the room and service provided and we will have no hesitation in booking either here or one of the other properties again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We arrived for our honeymoon to be greeted by Matthew and Rosie ,Rosie very kindly took our bags up to room four while Matthew ran down to the harbour to sort our parking space we got to our room to find it spotless if a bit small with lovely views ,the breakfast was very very good and Matthew and Rosie couldn't do enough for us ,will definitely stay in one of there property's again .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrenandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.0 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
560 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#9 of 26 in Brixham
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#5 of 26 in Brixham
298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampford Guest House

Property: Sampford Guest House
Address: 57-59 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sampford House has wonderful views across the harbour of the historic town of Brixham. The guest has been registered 'Excellent' by Tripadvisor from 2011 to 2016. The guest house has 5 lovely rooms including a separate cottage attached with a separate lounge and king size bed. We also have a lovely suite with Harbour views. There are plenty of beautiful walks and the fishing is good!!!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sampford Guest House Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing