We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Brixham B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampford Guest House
Ranked #3 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Brixham B&B”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Snug B&B overlooking the harbour with easy access to all that Brixham has to offer. We were staying as three couples for a family celebration and couldn't have chosen better in terms of B&B - it was our fourth stay in Brixham and this was the best yet. We were fortunate to have three rooms with harbour views and really couldn't fault a thing. Tastefully decorated rooms with everything we needed or accessible. Thank you Matthew and Rosie for locating some emergency hair straighteners! Beautifully appointed, the best breakfast ever and great but discreet service, give this place a try.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 4 and 5 have the view over the harbour, room 4 is described as cosy, it's a little smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coralisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
410
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

At the last minute, managed to secure a twin room on the harbour. Directed to a nearby parking space, which is so valuable in Brixham and we deposited our bags in the room at the rear. A surprisingly large ensuite and what a great night's sleep in the comfortable beds. What a treat at breakfast - anyone who followed the Paddy Burt reviews will permit me to mention the fresh, sweet grapefruit, the butter in proper pots; hot toast at the right time and herbal teas and vegetarian options catered for..Well done Matthew and Rosie who also have a few self catering options with great views as well…lovely..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanGallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for one night with a friend last week. Super location overlooking the harbour. Friendly greeting, very comfortable beds - Room 2), just all good really, would definitely stay again. Couldn't fault a thing.Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in the fishermans cottage for 4 nights b&b,mathew & rosemary were excellent hosts as usual,full english breakie was spot-on and to cap it of we caught some fish.Would highly recommend a stay there,the veiw over the harbour is wonderful,we ate in a different place every time,food was spot-on, c u brixham again soon,makerelman

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I and our cocker spaniel have just returned from an impromptu 2 night stay at the Sampford Guest House.

We were greeted by Matthew and Rose on arrival and assisted with our bags to our room. We stayed in room 6 which was at the rear of the house, nicely decorated and had everything we needed.
The breakfast was faultless with plenty on offer. We particularly liked the homemade yogurt, very nice touch. The cooked breakfast was of a high standard with good quality produce.
The location of Sampford is minutes walk to the town and over looking the harbour, just perfect to explore the local area. We were provided with car parking on the harbour.
Our cocker spaniel is part of our lives and Brixham has been one of the most welcoming places for dogs and their owners. We will return to both the area and Sampford.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Kip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Having stayed at Sampford House last year my wife and i decided to come back again this year to celebrate my 50th birthday,as Rosie and Matthew are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much for them.They always make you feel very welcome. Breakfast is wonderful and sets you up for the day ahead.The room was lovely,bed very comfortable and had a great view over harbour and town.We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Myself and Wife had a long weekend break 19-21 July. Matthew and Rosie are marvellous hosts and the accommodation is excellent. We had an excellent weekend. and we used the cottage location attached to the main bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.0 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Melville Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 26 in Brixham
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#5 of 26 in Brixham
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampford Guest House

Property: Sampford Guest House
Address: 57-59 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sampford House has wonderful views across the harbour of the historic town of Brixham. The guest has been registered 'Excellent' by Tripadvisor from 2011 to 2016. The guest house has 5 lovely rooms including a separate cottage attached with a separate lounge and king size bed. We also have a lovely suite with Harbour views. There are plenty of beautiful walks and the fishing is good!!!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sampford Guest House Brixham, English Riviera, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing