We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Thurlestone Hotel(Thurlestone)
Book now, pay at stay
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose & Crown(Yealmpton)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Smithaleigh(Plympton)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
925
149
58
31
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
925
149
58
31
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decoblack tiepilchard innsea tractoragatha christiewedding anniversarybeach housespecial occasiongreat funcar parkbefore dinnerworth every pennymurder mysterysaturday nightafternoon tearange roververy special place
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was an indulgence. It did not disappoint. Everything was as we hoped, the location, the service, the ambience the whole experience, even the weather. Staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble.

Negatives? Well the building is a little tired externally and might benefit from a little TLC, but that is in hand and did not detract from our stay. We had a great time and would certainly go again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J5991HTamandak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghIslandHotel, General Manager at Burgh Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay in Burgh Island Hotel. We are happy to hear that even the weather contributed towards your wonderful holiday:) The hotel will soon undergo a refurbishment following its new ownership, so all the tired parts will fixed. See you soon again, you are always welcome in Burgh Island Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very enjoyable stay as to be expected. This was our 6th visit . We enjoy the venue, the hotel style that never changes, and charm of the many different rooms, the food and the attentiveness and engagement of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susanbryn2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghIslandHotel, General Manager at Burgh Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind review! Amazing to hear that this was your 6th time in Burgh Island Hotel. Thank you for being so loyal, we will always do our best to meet your expectations. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For a special occasion Burgh Island is a must. We have been at least 5 times over the last 20 years and have always enjoyed our stay in these unique Art Deco surroundings. It is a very special place - a time capsule of amazing décor and service.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank duncanlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghIslandHotel, General Manager at Burgh Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for choosing Burgh Island Hotel throughout all those years, it truly means a lot to us. We always strive to preserve the unique atmosphere here at the hotel and the excellent service. We hope to see you for the 6th time very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From your first view of the hotel nestling on the island you will know you are somewhere special. You will not fell like a hotel guest but a guest of friends who live in a unique house. Art Deco abounds and you need to dress the part to appreciate the full thrill of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghIslandHotel, General Manager at Burgh Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Martin, thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at Burgh Island Hotel. We value each customer and try to make the stay as best as possible. Probably this is the reason for having so many loyal guests and we appreciate it so much. We hope to see you soon in Burgh Island Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 11th trip to Burgh Island, this time to celebrate our wedding anniversary on the island 20 years ago. As always, a fabulous trip with excellent food and fantastic service in one of the most beautiful hotels in the UK.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Broxborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurghIslandHotel, General Manager at Burgh Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so happy to hear that you are choosing Burgh Island Hotel for so many special events in your life! This is one of the main goals - for guests to be willing to come over and over, and especially for their special occasions! We will always do our best in achieving the excellent level of service and creating the unique atmosphere, so that our guests feel special and happy. We hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews