We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruby Wedding Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Certificate of Excellence
Port Isaac, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ruby Wedding Celebration”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Celebrated our Ruby Wedding here on the 2nd October 2011. Peace and tranquillity was the key factor here. We had a four poster bedroom on suite. The room was tastefully decorated. This particular weekend the weather was fabulous. We had drinks on the lawn and felt we were the only people in the world. The meal in the restaurant was fine dining at its best, food was perfectly cooked and service was good, never intrusive and always so pleasant. A weekend we will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    147
    46
    9
    3
See reviews for
27
461
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here midweek as a treat on my birthday. Staff were very welcoming on arrival, and charming & helpful throughout our stay. We'd booked a TravelZoo deal which gave us dinner, bed & breakfast at half the usual price. Our suite was lovely - spacious, clean and warm. No tea making facilities but we later found out that we could have asked for a complimentary tray of 'makings'. Five course dinner was wonderful (although strangely lacking in vegetables) and the cooked-to-order breakfast (which we could have had served in our room) set us up for the day. We will be looking out for another deal as we would love to stay here again but rack rate is definitely beyond our budget! NB dogs welcome (£10 per night).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleAcorn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in one of our luxury Suites. Northcote Manor creates a perfectly romantic setting - as such it's really popular for 'Valentines' - and other special occasions. In fact, we're hosting a Pre-Valentines Gourmet Break in 2012 - full details on our webpages - offering amazing value for a romantic break away. Do come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

A truly lovely hotel where quality service comes as standard. If you are looking to be pampered and enjoy good food, then this is the hotel to choose. An absolute must is Dinner, where I can honestly say I have never tasted such good food (and i have stayed in some of the most famous hotels in the world) the chef here really is very talented! The grounds are kept well and there are some nice local walks to be had as well! The rooms are all well appointed and equipped with all that you would expect from a hotel.

My only gripe is that on my first evening, there was a party of shooters in (this hotel is a popular choice for shooting groups) and after their dinner they were allowed to smoke in the hotel. This smoke actually came under my room door and disturbed my enjoyment, peace and my right to be in a non smoking environment! The next day the stale smoke could easily be detected in the bar and lobby of the hotel! I did voice my concern to the GM the next morning!

Room Tip: Dinner is an absolute delight and a MUST DO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeyrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments and feedback about your recent stay with us. It’s absolutely true. Our location in rural Devon is simply beautiful. We are as equally concerned about this single incident where our no-smoking policy was broken. Smoking is not permitted in any part of the hotel and with no exceptions. Please be assured that we addressed the matter appropriately with those guests concerned. May we offer you our sincere apologies if this detracted from your otherwise enjoyable stay with us. We do hope to warmly welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgwater
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here 23rd September for 1 night , what can I say ....Probably best service ever in an Hotel . Every member of staff we came across were so accomadating and polite , a real credit to the hotel . From Check-in to check-out faultless. Fantastic afternoon tea , amazing 5 coarse dinner and a cooked to order breakfast ...wow...
Rooms and the little touches excellent ...forgot service like this still existed .
Could wax lyrical about this place for hours ...but best to just go and sample it yourself EXCELLENT !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank executivesuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We're so proud of our hotel team and will pass your comments directly on. Do come and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We recently stayed here for one night. It is very quiet and peaceful, set within the rolling hills of North Devon with splendid views across the valley from near the tennis courts. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and our room was delightful, a few squeaky floorboards as you would expect in such an old property but this just adds to the charm. We decided to dine in the restuarant and although the food was good, it is I think somewhat overpriced for what you get, the somewhat smallish portions were adequate for me but perhaps not for the average gentleman.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Last week we visited Northcote Manor for the first time. Unlike so many upmarket hotels that do not live up to their name or price, this was a treat from start to finish. The peace and quiet is superb with amazing view across much of Devon from the lawn. A small team of the same staff, all the time,(which really makes a difference) were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was the best in years with complementary canapes and pre-starter, all fresh local produce. Afternoon tea on the lawn was lovely and more than asked for, with great scones (surprising how few places can do a lovely cream tea, even in Devon!) It was also the cleanest hotel I have stayed in for years. A beautiful manor house, it is the perfect place for that special 'get away from it all'. It is also very dog friendly and welcomed our two labradors. We will certainly be back next year.

Room Tip: Northcote Suite was ideal for us and our two labradors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Wonderful for the whole team to receive such lovely feedback. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Couldn't praise this hotel enough. We wanted a break away from a hectic working life and we certainly got it. We were met on the steps of the hotel as we drove up and when we returned from parking the car we were shown around and up to our room and our cases were waiting for us. We were in a suite with its own seprate lounge. The room was clean and tidy and we slept well on the comfortable bed. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and there when you wanted or needed them - you only had to ask for something and it was there. Food was terrific, so congratulations to the Chef, and it was lovely to be served breakfast cooked specially for you, rather than having to serve yourself from a hot counter. If you want the hustle and bustle of a big hotel this is not for you but if you want a relaxing stay in an olde worlde manor with service as it should be, you can't do better than Northcote Manor. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are having some additional garden-facing rooms built at the moment and should be completed for Christmas time, so next time you visit us there will be even more of the Manor to explore. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrington
2.2 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
542 reviews
19.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,025 reviews
22.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,163 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
18.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Address: Burrington EX37 9LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Burrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northcote Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 AA red starts, 2 AA Rosettes, AA notable wine list and 'Devon Venue' in the Westcountry Wedding Awards. Northcote manor is a cherished Country House Hotel set in the foothills of Exmoor National Park, Enjoy sweeping views over the Taw Valley, sundowners on the sun terrace and cream teas on the lawn or in front of crackling log fires. The perfect wedding venue or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Northcote Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Manor Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Hotel Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel Devon/Burrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing