We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hugely disappointing tasting menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northcote Manor Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hugely disappointing tasting menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

There is no doubt this country hotel is in a stunning and peaceful setting. The rooms are a little old fashioned but they are clean and spacious (the only gripe is they don't supply tea or coffee making facilities in the room). We were treated to a one night stay with a five course tasting menu which was raved about in reviews we read prior to our stay. I can only surmise that they ate food cooked by someone else or have their restaurant's confused. The soup was watery and tasteless (something we overheard another couple commenting on during dinner). Thinking this was just a blip we carried on eating only to be faced with worsening courses as the evening wore on – fried salmon balls, curried lentils as the vegetarian main and slightly overcooked chicken. For a meal which costs £70 per head it was hugely disappointing. The wine accompanying the meal was very poor quality too. We had a tasting menu at the Purple Carrot near Okehampton just a week earlier and it was far superior – every course was imaginative, delicious and beautifully presented. In my opinion, The Northcote Manor Country House Hotel needs to raise it's game massively.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonjourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments about the setting of Northcote Manor and the size of the rooms. We are equally concerned about this incident and have looked into and resolved the issues resulting in your food not meeting our typically high standards. May we offer you our sincere apologies from your otherwise enjoyable stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    146
    46
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
455
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed for one night as a treat for my good lady. The service was outstanding - a word I do not use lightly - and all the staff were very friendly. An excellent Devonshire cream tea was served in the lounge area in front of a warming woodburner, followed in the evening by a superb meal in a delightful room. The chairs were particularly comfortable. Our room, a suite, was excellent, very clean and everything that you could have needed was there. Breakfast in the delightful area overlooking the garden was top notch and set us up for the rest of the day. Overall, the hotel was quiet, secluded and tastfully decorated. We will return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Delighted to hear that your stay with us was ‘outstanding’. Our staff work tirelessly to ensure guests enjoy their time at the Manor. Also, very good news to hear that your room was excellent and your stay was a delight from start to finish. We are hosting a Pre-Valentines Gourmet Break this year, full details are on our website. We look forward to welcoming you again for another special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

The staff were brilliant from the first steps through the door. Smooth and effortless checking in, and a lovely tour of the hotel.

We went for a walk for a few miles around the lovely surrounding countryside, which was great.

We then had a lovely 5 course dinner with accompanying wines with each course.

A lovely hotel, with lovely staff. Most definitely worth a visit to de-stress.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JStrudwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Isaac, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Celebrated our Ruby Wedding here on the 2nd October 2011. Peace and tranquillity was the key factor here. We had a four poster bedroom on suite. The room was tastefully decorated. This particular weekend the weather was fabulous. We had drinks on the lawn and felt we were the only people in the world. The meal in the restaurant was fine dining at its best, food was perfectly cooked and service was good, never intrusive and always so pleasant. A weekend we will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here midweek as a treat on my birthday. Staff were very welcoming on arrival, and charming & helpful throughout our stay. We'd booked a TravelZoo deal which gave us dinner, bed & breakfast at half the usual price. Our suite was lovely - spacious, clean and warm. No tea making facilities but we later found out that we could have asked for a complimentary tray of 'makings'. Five course dinner was wonderful (although strangely lacking in vegetables) and the cooked-to-order breakfast (which we could have had served in our room) set us up for the day. We will be looking out for another deal as we would love to stay here again but rack rate is definitely beyond our budget! NB dogs welcome (£10 per night).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleAcorn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in one of our luxury Suites. Northcote Manor creates a perfectly romantic setting - as such it's really popular for 'Valentines' - and other special occasions. In fact, we're hosting a Pre-Valentines Gourmet Break in 2012 - full details on our webpages - offering amazing value for a romantic break away. Do come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

A truly lovely hotel where quality service comes as standard. If you are looking to be pampered and enjoy good food, then this is the hotel to choose. An absolute must is Dinner, where I can honestly say I have never tasted such good food (and i have stayed in some of the most famous hotels in the world) the chef here really is very talented! The grounds are kept well and there are some nice local walks to be had as well! The rooms are all well appointed and equipped with all that you would expect from a hotel.

My only gripe is that on my first evening, there was a party of shooters in (this hotel is a popular choice for shooting groups) and after their dinner they were allowed to smoke in the hotel. This smoke actually came under my room door and disturbed my enjoyment, peace and my right to be in a non smoking environment! The next day the stale smoke could easily be detected in the bar and lobby of the hotel! I did voice my concern to the GM the next morning!

Room Tip: Dinner is an absolute delight and a MUST DO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeyrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments and feedback about your recent stay with us. It’s absolutely true. Our location in rural Devon is simply beautiful. We are as equally concerned about this single incident where our no-smoking policy was broken. Smoking is not permitted in any part of the hotel and with no exceptions. Please be assured that we addressed the matter appropriately with those guests concerned. May we offer you our sincere apologies if this detracted from your otherwise enjoyable stay with us. We do hope to warmly welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgwater
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here 23rd September for 1 night , what can I say ....Probably best service ever in an Hotel . Every member of staff we came across were so accomadating and polite , a real credit to the hotel . From Check-in to check-out faultless. Fantastic afternoon tea , amazing 5 coarse dinner and a cooked to order breakfast ...wow...
Rooms and the little touches excellent ...forgot service like this still existed .
Could wax lyrical about this place for hours ...but best to just go and sample it yourself EXCELLENT !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank executivesuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We're so proud of our hotel team and will pass your comments directly on. Do come and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrington
2.1 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
19.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
22.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
18.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Address: Burrington EX37 9LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Burrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northcote Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 AA red starts, 2 AA Rosettes, AA notable wine list and 'Devon Venue' in the Westcountry Wedding Awards. Northcote manor is a cherished Country House Hotel set in the foothills of Exmoor National Park, Enjoy sweeping views over the Taw Valley, sundowners on the sun terrace and cream teas on the lawn or in front of crackling log fires. The perfect wedding venue or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Northcote Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Manor Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Hotel Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel Devon/Burrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing