We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find! Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find! Highly recommended”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Having looked at the reviews on this site prior to our stay I am baffled at one person who was highly critical of the coffee and other minor things.
There was not one thing about our stay that I would criticise and the gourmet dinner was excellent. We met up with friends and enjoyed the whole experience more because of that I'm sure. However Northcote Manor has a lovely tranquil feel and was the most relaxing and best place so far that we have tried - and we have been to many places.
Being on a TravelZoo 1 night Gourmet stay, it was also excellent value for money. The breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: We had a standard room (Kings Nympton) in the main house and our friends had the nearby Manor Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 120pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed our hospitality and hope to warmly welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    157
    49
    10
    3
See reviews for
29
491
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay but unfortunately the downside was it was for only one night. The food is excellent - dinner superb and great breakfast with lots of choice. The service at both dinner and breakfast was spot on.
Our bedroom suite was cosy and comfortable, with a lovely large bathroom.

A big thank you to the small team that run this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our third trip to Northcote Manor, the previous visits being excellent. A bit like viewing houses, you look a little closer the more you visit. I very much like the fact that if you tell them when you book that it is a special occasion they make a point of remembering it somewhere in your evening meal.
I paid a premium for a suite in the new block but didn't think it was any better than a standard room in the main house. We had previously had a suite on the first floor, this time we were on the ground floor. Nicely appointed but there was a big crack through 3 tiles in the bath and the bath taps needed to be pulled away from the wall to use them. The bin had not been emptied from the previous guests.
As for the gourmet meal, generally very nice but not as good as previous visits. Most noticeably, 2 observations. 1) the service wasn't quite there this time with us being served our port for our cheese course before we had our dessert and 2) the pre dessert and dessert both had sorbets which seems strange when there is so much to choose from. As for he main dessert, it wasn't caramelised pineapple and passion fruit sorbet as described but sliced pineapple with caramel sauce drizzled over and what appeared to be only sweet egg whites souffled, no suggestion of passion fruit. We mentioned it at the time but the waiter just smiled and cleared our plates.
A lovely setting with wifi now (that I don't recall being there before) but little else to do but relax and unwind (Not a criticism!).
In the round, a nice visit but it has lost a bit of its sparkle for us, sorry.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to return, as well as taking the time to share this review of your stay. We are concerned to hear the experience did not tally with the high expectations you have come to expect from Northcote. We can only offer our sincere apologies. We hope that you will give us a chance to restore the sparkle on your next special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went on a 1 night break, which included the Gourmet meal for dinner. The room was OK but no better than our friends@ room, who paid £50 less for the night.

The Gourmet meal was, sadly, disappointing. The canapés were rather bland, and the so called pre-starter ( described as King Prawns) only had 1 prawn, and not that big. Waste of a plate.

However the starter of duck parfait was excellent, and the main beef fillet was some of the finest beef I have ever tasted. Cheese should have been taken out of the fridge.

Service was generally OK but they did forget the starter completely at first.

Breakfast was excellent

Tip - If you go for a break, have the 3 course standard meal with a Classic room and save £90 a night

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theenglishcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay. We’re glad to hear you rated the breakfast as excellent and the fillet as some of the finest beef you had ever tasted. Thanks to the exceptional value of this break, we have received lots of positive feedback from guests who stayed at a similar time. We’re sorry to hear there were aspects of your stay which you were not so happy with. Let us take this opportunity to wish you all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at Northcote Manor back in November and we had such a lovely time we came back for a one night to re-charge our batteries. The staff are all very friendly and the we treated our selves to a back massage. We highly recommend the treatments and the food was amazing. A great place and we will no doubt be back again. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We came here for a night away, what a lovely place this is. Beautiful sights & in the middle if nowhere. We had delicious food & wine & one of the best nights sleep in ages. The team is very small, however they can't do enough for you. Would certainly return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mardge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of Northcote Manor. It is really good to read that you enjoyed 'delicious food and one of the best night's sleep in ages'. We hope to extend a genuinely warm welcome to you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Sadly, only had one night to relax in this lovely hotel but thoroughly enjoyed the amazing meal, very comfortable and cosy suite, and were impressed by the friendly and knowledgeable staff, they could not have been more attentive. Lovely location with great views from the extensive grounds. A wonderful bonus was that they were not afraid to accommodate our well-behaved dog (and respectful owners) in the luxurious bedroom and there were plentiful grounds in which to walk her. The special offer was amazing and meant that they were full when other hotels in their class were struggling.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view but was very quiet and private, the rooms at the front have garden and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review, the rest of the team will be delighted to read your feedback. We only hope you are able to stay for longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrington
2.2 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
574 reviews
19.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
22.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
22.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
391 reviews
19.3 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Address: Burrington EX37 9LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Burrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northcote Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 AA red starts, 2 AA Rosettes, AA notable wine list and 'Devon Venue' in the Westcountry Wedding Awards. Northcote manor is a cherished Country House Hotel set in the foothills of Exmoor National Park, Enjoy sweeping views over the Taw Valley, sundowners on the sun terrace and cream teas on the lawn or in front of crackling log fires. The perfect wedding venue or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Northcote Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Manor Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Hotel Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel Devon/Burrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing