We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highbullen Hotel(Chittlehamholt)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George(South Molton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Hotel(Barnstaple)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
414
170
50
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
414
170
50
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet dinneraccompanying winestasting menutravelzoo dealpre startersecret escapeswooded driveextensive groundslovely suiteamuse boucheon arrivalwine flightspecial offersuperior roomhomemade biscuitsnorth devonone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Northcote Manor. It was a perfect location to relax and unwind. The level of service was good and the staff, particularly the young waitresses, were polite, professional and appeared to be well-trained. Our room was nicely furnished, clean and very comfortable. A well-stocked hospitality tray was provided and the only surprise was that the kettle was on the floor next to a convenient socket ...hmmmm!!! The bathroom was clean and sparkling with a large bath and hand-held shower. Towels were huge and fluffy and bathrobes were provided.
The gourmet six-course dinner was very good overall and the accompanying wines were well chosen. The chicken liver and duck parfait was very good. The pork tenderloin was good but the glazed pork belly was meltingly delicious. We also enjoyed the vanilla panna cotta. The only disappointment was the cheese board. The few thin slivers were insufficient to be enjoyed by two people.
The breakfast menu offered a good range of choices. The scrambled eggs were delicious and properly cooked - not steamed or micro-waved. Disappointingly only one small rasher of bacon was served with the eggs - oh well!

Overall, a good stay, especially as quality hotels with good food and professional service seem to be relatively scarce in the south west.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was my wife and I's second visit to Northcote Manor. I've heard it said that things are never as good second time around, don't believe a word of it. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble. The staff are friendly, attentive and very efficient. The rooms are excellent and the food is top notch. We hope to return again, very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulCSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review. The team here will be delighted to read your feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. I'm not sure what people say about the third time round, but I can assure you we’ll be providing the same level of friendly, attentive service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We took my parents for Friday night to celebrate their 50th anniversary and had the 6 course tasting menu paired with wines and port and stayed in the Heron suite. They had the Wisteria suite opposite. The rooms where fantastic! Spacious, clean, lovely outlook and beautifully furnished. Little details like fresh shortbread and apples in the rooms all added to the attention to detail these guys clearly put into everything they did.
The meal was simply exquisite, cooked with care and quality fresh produce was clearly behind each plate! They also know their wines and each course was superbly complimented as a result!
A lovely old manor well worth a visit for foodies who want to hide away from the world for a weekend or so.
Nearly forgot to mention the breakfast... Not disappointed here either! What more can we say!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webweswroteit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Booked a one night stay with a Travelzoo offer and upgraded to a suite. From the moment I first contacted the hotel with some special requests for my partners birthday, and then when we arrived and throughout our stay, all the staff were great. They all made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. I ordered a celebration cake as an added extra which was lovely - fresh cream and strawberries, decorated with home made chocolate truffles- the thoughtful staff asked if I would like "Happy Birthday" on the cake which was another nice touch.

Our room was lovely, clean, bright and spacious - exactly what I was hoping for with lovely views over the countryside and hotel grounds. A couple of bits let the room down, like a couple of old stains and an old LED alarm clock which was out of keeping, but generally the room was lovely.

We enjoyed the Gourmet meal with wines and the great breakfast. The hotel uses good local ingredients and produce which makes all the difference.

We have stayed in many places and can honestly say that the staff at Northcote are the most friendly and hard working we have encountered recently in this country, nothing was too much trouble - well done to all of you. Would definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMgdjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at this beautifully located ,although remote, hotel for an anniversary treat. We booked with Travel Zoo and had considered upgrading when booking but, in our opinion, the consensus of Trip Advisor reviews was that it wasn't necessary.
We had a good welcome when we arrived at around 3 pm and were shown to a comfortable room at the rear of the property with a large bouquet of flowers that I had pre ordered.
We explored the extensive grounds for a while and realised that we may be the only guests in residence, so we called at the Portsmouth Arms Real Ale Inn opposite the hotel entrance and had a wonderful reception.
There were only 6 people in for the evening gourmet meal which was excellent for the price we paid, but I would have expected more sophistication for the menu price of £90 per person.
Our experience was suddenly spoiled when we retired and had a noisy pump right outside our room which cut in and out on a regular basis well into the night. We decided not to make an issue of this and spoil our break so I called into Boots in Bideford and bought some good ear plugs which solved the problem the second night.
In the restaurant on the second night, we requested a beef main course at a supplement instead of the pork main and it was absolutely delicious.
In spite of some of our negative comments, we really enjoyed this break, but please be sure to avoid any rooms at the rear, the people in the new extension at the front had a much more positive experience than us..

Room Tip: Absolutely do not have a room at the rear if you are a light sleeper like me
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed a warm welcome and our gourmet menu. We are surprised to hear about the noise experienced from the pump. Let us assure you, that had we been aware of the issue we would’ve done whatever we could to improve the experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews