We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting with a good resturant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed one night on a deal through Travelzoo which was for one nights B&B and the 6 course gourmet dinner with accompanying wines. The Hotel itself could do with a little TLC but the bedroom we stayed in was clean apart from the bin which had not been emptyed which was a bit off putting. The grounds to the hotel are nice and the lounge and resturant have a homly feel to them. They seem to run the hotel with a small but close nit tem of staff whowere all the friendly and helpful. The dinner in the resturant was very good althogh not worth the £90 per head that they normally charge even with the 3 glasses of wine and glass of port.We had booked as a package and on that basis it was good value for money. Nothing wrong with the place but nothing exceptional about the place either.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked in for a gourmet dinner to round off a short break in the west country and had a great time. The hotel is set in the middle of the countryside with lovely views and walks. The 7 course dinner exceeded expectations and four of the courses were accompanied by a drink. The red with the main course was so good we bought an extra large glass.
The room was pleasant and the bed very comfortable. Full english breakfast was a perfect start to the day and was delicious.
There was no reception desk but if you hovered in the hallway then someone appeared to look after you.

Room Tip: Check the gourmet menu before dining just in case you don't fancy any of the courses. Ask for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went to the Northcote last Friday to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. It was as good as we remembered! The staff had put Happy Anniversary glitter on our dinner table which was such a sweet touch. We had the gourmet menu which they readily adapted to my vegetarian diet and every course was delicious and the wines were carefully selected to match the dishes. Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well presented and the hotel is situated in a calm and beautiful setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Whilst it was a "busman's" holiday for myself and my partner, both working in the industry, we really enjoyed our last minute grabbed night away at Northcote. The hotel was lovely; we were greeted on arrival and shown around, then taken to our room. For me, it was quite nice that there weren't lots of staff around, but they were easy to locate if you needed something and were more than happy to oblige.
Our dog enjoyed herself too, especially wandering around the grounds.
The views are stunning and it really is a peaceful, quiet location.
Dinner was good, although second lot of bread was cold (we were hungry!), service discreet, dining room was relaxing.
Would definitely go back, if we ever get a rare couple of days together.
Well done all and thank you!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amez1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous relaxing break at Northcote Manor in Devon where we celebrated our parents 50th wedding anniversary.
What a find - from the moment we drove up the secluded drive this place felt magical - away from all the pressures of normal life! Upon arrival at the entrance the staff helped us with our bags and gave us a tour of the hotel - which offers a variety of comfortable public areas and offers a range of daily newspapers for guests. Our rooms were a lovely size - we had two comfortable easy chairs with a flat screen television - we had a double bathtub in our room and a separate modern bathroom with a spacious walk-in shower area with fluffy white bath towels and a range of toiletries. Lovely touches in the room were homemade shortbread and fresh juicy apples with tea and coffee making facilities.
We ate dinner in the beautiful restaurant both nights eating once from the al-a-carte mhenu and once from the six course tasting menu with accompanying wines - both superb meals served by the charming young staff team who were attentive without being intrusive. The hotel had kindly made a cream and fresh strawberry and red berry cake and piped a 'Happy Anniversary' message in chocolate - a lovely touch!
Breakfast is a generous selection of cereals, croissants with various preserves and a very extensive hot menu coked to order including various freshly cooked omelettes all served on hot plates
This hotel is a wonderful place to escape from normal busy life - sitting in around 20 acres of beautiful park-like grounds there are plenty of trails to take a hike and just emerge yourself in peace and tranquility if desired. Every member of staff is absolutely charming and it feels like they really try to make your stay the very best it can be and we would definitely recommend and will return.
Well done to all the friendly team at Northcote - you made our visit really special!

Room Tip: The Azalea room is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie180261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A lovely hotel with fantastic staff that were proactive rather than reactive. On arrival, when shown around and given the gourmet (6 course) menu that we had booked for that evening to read I happened to comment on the main course being pork = coals to new castle in that we breed rare breed pigs - said nothing further. On coming down to dine we were offered an alternative main course with no prompting. The wines to accompany each course were spot on, the staff attentive without being intrusive. Breakfast was wonderful - I enjoyed my smoked haddock (no died stuff here) and Simon polished off his full English in quick time. Our superior room was clean, tidy and bright - the bed soft and the bath oh so deep! Although the hotel is dog friendly I have to say they went above and beyond yet again as even our Great Dane was made welcome and loved his time in the bar and all the attention he received and seeing him loping over the grounds was wonderful. Would we visit again? Without doubt - hope to be back in September and celebrate out 23rd wedding anniversary there. My only regret is that i forgot my camera!

Room Tip: The Monkleigh superior room is good for dogs - right near the fire escape (if your dog can cope with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiddenValleyPigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely looking hotel in a stunning location. Everything looked a little tired and i thought it smelt a little musty in the lounge area. Very friendly and help full staff but no one at reception was a bit strange.
The major let down was the evening meal it could have been amazing but unfortunately the chef had failed to season the food leaving it bland and disapointing,
I would imagine this was once a very good hotel all the awards are in the breakfast room but its not 2005 any more probably time to take these down and try and improve what you have there now.
On a positive note the sausage at breakfast was very good

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wurzel133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your comments, we’re sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Despite this, we feel your review is a little unfair. In the past two years we have received many awards including; Devon Wedding Venue of the Year, Taste of the West gold award, Devon Hotel of the Year bronze award and most recently a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2014. The latter is awarded to establishments “that consistently achieve outstanding traveller reviews on TripAdvisor” and places us amongst the top 10% of all hotels on the site. As such, we will continue to listen carefully to our customers and take action on their feedback where necessary. Let us take this opportunity to wish you all the best for the remainder of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrington
2.2 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
629 reviews
22.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,481 reviews
19.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
10.7 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,405 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Manor Country House Hotel

Address: Burrington EX37 9LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Burrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Price Range: £106 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northcote Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 AA red starts, 2 AA Rosettes, AA notable wine list and 'Devon Venue' in the Westcountry Wedding Awards. Northcote manor is a cherished Country House Hotel set in the foothills of Exmoor National Park, Enjoy sweeping views over the Taw Valley, sundowners on the sun terrace and cream teas on the lawn or in front of crackling log fires. The perfect wedding venue or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northcote Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Manor Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Hotel Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel Devon/Burrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing