We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in the Dragonfly Suite which has it's own private terrace. A lovely room, very quiet and peaceful. The whole of the hotel was exceptionally clean and the evening dinners were fabulous.
The staff were truly very polite and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much for them.
The grounds are magnificent with many winding turns and pathways and the only sound ever heard was from the bird songs.
Only one slight problem, our bed was not so comfortable as I have a bad back, but the staff did try and remedy this for us by adding extra padding beneath.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and we hope to re-visit again very soon.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went to Northcote using a Travelzoo voucher. We stayed in the room called Chumleigh nice room but had a drain smell in the Bathroom in the Evening so kept the door shut. Dined in the Evening and enjoyed the 7 course Gourmet menu with wines which was a nice experience. The grounds are very pretty and views beautiful. The staff Where very helpful and gave a very good service. Bathroom smell apart enjoy our time thier.and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed one night on a deal through Travelzoo which was for one nights B&B and the 6 course gourmet dinner with accompanying wines. The Hotel itself could do with a little TLC but the bedroom we stayed in was clean apart from the bin which had not been emptyed which was a bit off putting. The grounds to the hotel are nice and the lounge and resturant have a homly feel to them. They seem to run the hotel with a small but close nit tem of staff whowere all the friendly and helpful. The dinner in the resturant was very good althogh not worth the £90 per head that they normally charge even with the 3 glasses of wine and glass of port.We had booked as a package and on that basis it was good value for money. Nothing wrong with the place but nothing exceptional about the place either.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked in for a gourmet dinner to round off a short break in the west country and had a great time. The hotel is set in the middle of the countryside with lovely views and walks. The 7 course dinner exceeded expectations and four of the courses were accompanied by a drink. The red with the main course was so good we bought an extra large glass.
The room was pleasant and the bed very comfortable. Full english breakfast was a perfect start to the day and was delicious.
There was no reception desk but if you hovered in the hallway then someone appeared to look after you.

Room Tip: Check the gourmet menu before dining just in case you don't fancy any of the courses. Ask for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went to the Northcote last Friday to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. It was as good as we remembered! The staff had put Happy Anniversary glitter on our dinner table which was such a sweet touch. We had the gourmet menu which they readily adapted to my vegetarian diet and every course was delicious and the wines were carefully selected to match the dishes. Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well presented and the hotel is situated in a calm and beautiful setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Whilst it was a "busman's" holiday for myself and my partner, both working in the industry, we really enjoyed our last minute grabbed night away at Northcote. The hotel was lovely; we were greeted on arrival and shown around, then taken to our room. For me, it was quite nice that there weren't lots of staff around, but they were easy to locate if you needed something and were more than happy to oblige.
Our dog enjoyed herself too, especially wandering around the grounds.
The views are stunning and it really is a peaceful, quiet location.
Dinner was good, although second lot of bread was cold (we were hungry!), service discreet, dining room was relaxing.
Would definitely go back, if we ever get a rare couple of days together.
Well done all and thank you!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amez1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous relaxing break at Northcote Manor in Devon where we celebrated our parents 50th wedding anniversary.
What a find - from the moment we drove up the secluded drive this place felt magical - away from all the pressures of normal life! Upon arrival at the entrance the staff helped us with our bags and gave us a tour of the hotel - which offers a variety of comfortable public areas and offers a range of daily newspapers for guests. Our rooms were a lovely size - we had two comfortable easy chairs with a flat screen television - we had a double bathtub in our room and a separate modern bathroom with a spacious walk-in shower area with fluffy white bath towels and a range of toiletries. Lovely touches in the room were homemade shortbread and fresh juicy apples with tea and coffee making facilities.
We ate dinner in the beautiful restaurant both nights eating once from the al-a-carte mhenu and once from the six course tasting menu with accompanying wines - both superb meals served by the charming young staff team who were attentive without being intrusive. The hotel had kindly made a cream and fresh strawberry and red berry cake and piped a 'Happy Anniversary' message in chocolate - a lovely touch!
Breakfast is a generous selection of cereals, croissants with various preserves and a very extensive hot menu coked to order including various freshly cooked omelettes all served on hot plates
This hotel is a wonderful place to escape from normal busy life - sitting in around 20 acres of beautiful park-like grounds there are plenty of trails to take a hike and just emerge yourself in peace and tranquility if desired. Every member of staff is absolutely charming and it feels like they really try to make your stay the very best it can be and we would definitely recommend and will return.
Well done to all the friendly team at Northcote - you made our visit really special!

Room Tip: The Azalea room is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie180261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrington
2.2 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
613 reviews
19.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,163 reviews
22.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
22.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
409 reviews
19 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Manor Country House Hotel

Address: Burrington EX37 9LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Burrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Price Range: £108 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northcote Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 AA red starts, 2 AA Rosettes, AA notable wine list and 'Devon Venue' in the Westcountry Wedding Awards. Northcote manor is a cherished Country House Hotel set in the foothills of Exmoor National Park, Enjoy sweeping views over the Taw Valley, sundowners on the sun terrace and cream teas on the lawn or in front of crackling log fires. The perfect wedding venue or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northcote Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Manor Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Hotel Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel Devon/Burrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing