We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in the Hatherleigh suite and it had a nice view and was well appointed
The staff were very helpful however the best part of Northcote was the restaurant.
We booked a package that included breakfast and evening meal.
The food was excellent and they had a good wine selection. The terrine they served was as good as I have had anywhere and will be remembered for a long time.
Highly recommended if you want to explore the area and have a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    148
    47
    9
    3
See reviews for
28
469
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

For my birthday and our anniversary my husband booked a night at northcote manor. We arrived at about 4pm on a beautiful afternoon. The manor looked superb and the grounds were truly amazing very well maintained. We booked in with no trouble and our little dog was made very welcome. Our room was lovely and very near a fire escape which was good for the dog. We had booked the six course taster menu with wine which was superb .all in all a nice stay. The only criticism I would make is that maybe Northcote is too quiet with a lack of atmosphere in the dining areas.

Room Tip: If you're taking your dog ask for the room at the top of the stairs near the fire escape
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, we’re glad to hear you found the grounds very well maintained and our taster menu superb. We’re slightly surprised to hear of your feedback regarding the atmosphere. We aim to provide a haven of tranquillity and it is for this reason that many guests choose to return regularly. We’re glad you opted to spend your special occasion with us and will look forward to extending a warm welcome on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a 3 night stay in the Heron suite, it was lovely - the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent - the 6-course gourmet taster menu was superb!

We will definitely be back again to enjoy this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a night stopover with a gourmet dinner, wine included. It was altogether a relaxing evening with enjoyable food. The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful, the hotel was old, quirky and spotless with lots of sweet little touches such as homemade biscuits in our room and a bowl of apples. I loved the 'do not disturb' teddybear which you can use should you wish to. The grounds are wonderful with lovely walks and amazing views over Exmoor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inishrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing your experience. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us and liked our special little touches of homemade biscuits and the bowl of apples in your room. We will pass on your feedback to our team and hope to extend another warm welcome to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Another Travelzoo customer and what value for money this deal wwas. We were met by friendly,helpful staff who showed us around and then to our room (Chumleigh) . We knew it was going to be a small room but the bed was comfortable, nice linen and towels and a lovely view. We asked for a fan and fresh milk and this was brought really quickly. The evening meal was the best we have ever had, well balanced dishes with excellent wine pairings. The service was also top class with no one saying "there you go"! (our pet hate). We slept well and had a lovely breakfast in the conservatory. My only comment was that our bathroom had an unpleasant "drain" smell but it was only a minor comment on an otherwise first class stay..thank-you very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a Travelzoo discounted night away with a 7 course taster dinner. My wife and I had never before been to Northcote so didn't know what we were letting ourselves in for. We arrived after sunset, not a good way to get a first impression, after a long and narrow drive up the steep (almost) single track road to the house. After we parked in an out-of-the-way car park and managed the dark path to the front door we were met with a warm greeting by the reception staff and shown our room. It wasn't the largest we've stayed at but it was warm and comfortable, especially the bed. 40mins later we were having canapes and a welcoming glas of bubbly in the lounge before settling down to dinner. The food was excellent as was the accompanying choice of wines all included in the value for money price. We slept very soundly that night in total tranquility and were woken by the birds' morning chorus in time for a sumptuous breakfast. In all an excellent and good value-for-money night away. Afterwards we walked the grounds and were subjected to some wonderful views over the Taw valley in the morning sunshine. Northcote does not have a spa, or gym, or swimming pool; what it does have is tons of character and true quality in it's accommodation and food. Try it and see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clothesoptional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in the Dragonfly Suite which has it's own private terrace. A lovely room, very quiet and peaceful. The whole of the hotel was exceptionally clean and the evening dinners were fabulous.
The staff were truly very polite and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much for them.
The grounds are magnificent with many winding turns and pathways and the only sound ever heard was from the bird songs.
Only one slight problem, our bed was not so comfortable as I have a bad back, but the staff did try and remedy this for us by adding extra padding beneath.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and we hope to re-visit again very soon.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burrington
2.2 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
19.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
22.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
18.7 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Address: Burrington EX37 9LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Burrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northcote Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 AA red starts, 2 AA Rosettes, AA notable wine list and 'Devon Venue' in the Westcountry Wedding Awards. Northcote manor is a cherished Country House Hotel set in the foothills of Exmoor National Park, Enjoy sweeping views over the Taw Valley, sundowners on the sun terrace and cream teas on the lawn or in front of crackling log fires. The perfect wedding venue or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northcote Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Manor Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Hotel Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel Devon/Burrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing