We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing setting and excellent service.”
Review of Northcote Manor

Northcote Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Burrington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 3 AA red starts, 2 AA Rosettes, AA notable wine list and 'Devon Venue'in the Westcountry Wedding Awards.> Northcote manor is a cherished Country House Hotel set in the foothills of Exmoor National Park, Enjoy sweeping views over the Taw Valley, sundowners on the sun terrace and cream teas on the lawn or in front of crackling log fires. The perfect wedding venue or conference centre.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing setting and excellent service.”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

The Manor is off the beaten track - so not for everyone - but the setting is ideal if you want some peace and quiet in a beautiful setting. The staff are very attentive. The food is good but not out of this world - the bread rolls could have been fresher and the cheese and biscuits was served without and chutney. I would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lufcchelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon. England
Level Contributor
242 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent Easter Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Once again an excellent Sunday lunch at Northcote. Nothing fell short of expectations, but having become a bit of a connoisseur of sticky toffee pudding I have to say that today's was the best I've ever had. Wonderful end to an excellent meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PGBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We stay at the sister hotel in Wales regularly and thought it would be a change to travel down to Devon. We were not disappointed, a warm welcome awaited us and our dog, he had a basket, water and treats in our suite. The food, we had the tasting menu, was excellent and the staff without exception attentive and helpful. We did find the hotel quite isolated and due to the terrible weather would have welcomed a leisure centre and spa.

Helpful?
Thank wildswimmer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Fantastic house and location in lovely Devon countryside. Staff were all friendly but the house was cold! Dining room lacked atmospere, and was a walkway into the additional hotel bedrooms. This backs onto the conservatory which was not heated at all! Just a curtain separated the extreme cold of the conservatory with the dining room, hence it was too cold for comfort. Nothing to do with the 1 hr electricity power cut - was cold all the while.There was a megre real fire in the lounge. Food on the whole was good. Dining chairs were stained. Has potential to be outstanding but not quite there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fooddays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for an elegant meal.”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

I booked a meal here for a 'special treat' as part of our 'mini moon'. We were staying in a cottage near by. I was not let down.
My wife and I had a lovely time.
From the start we were made to feel welcome and the service was attentive throughout. We were served canapes with our pre dinner drinks. We went for the 3 course meal. The food was fresh, local and a pleasure to eat. We both had the pork as the main course - so melt in your mouth. Loved the cheese selection. We were served coffee in the lounge whilst we we waiting for our taxi.
We came away feeling well looked after and special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smudge182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northcote Manor also viewed

 

Been to Northcote Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing