We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull short break at Tor cottage”
Review of Tor Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tor Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Chillaton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have just spent 2 wonderfull days at Tor Cottage. Maureen the owner and Ann her helper could not do enough to make our stay one to remember. The standard of accomodation was top class and the breakfast fantastic. Tor Cottage is at the end of a long private track and it is like going into a hidden valley were the world stands still. Maureen was very helpfull in advising places to vistit and booking our evening meals.

Room Tip: We looked in all the rooms and really could not decide which was the best, they are all very differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

With my family of 5 from Rome we spent a few nights at Tor Cottage in July 2012. We found it fascinating, comfortable, enjoyable. It epitomises english country life. Maureen recommended things to see, places to go, where to eat, and was always available to make our stay unforgettable, despite the horrible weather! We highly recommend Tor Cottage to all. Thank you Maureen! Filippo Massimo Lancellotti

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fip45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had a fantastic weekend.... words can not describe how wonderful Tor Cottage is. The Breakfast is amazing! The rooms are all beautiful and all very different, we stayed in "laughing waters" a lovely cabin with its own garden. Location is also very good, although peacefully secluded you are only a 5 minutes drive to Tavistock, 5 minutes from the edge of Dartmoor and most importantly only 5 minutes from a handfull of excellent eateries!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

It was very expensive but we stayed here for a special occasion. We found it over rated. The setting is lovely but a long way from anywhere down a very lOng single track road. What really upset us though was the terrible service. As a special treat we asked for breakfast in our room. After an hours wait we gave up and went in search of it. Were promised it was coming. Waited another 30 mins by which time we had dressed packed and putting our bags in the car. When it did arrive it wasn't worth waiting for. There was no apology or explanation beyond a comment that they were busy. Shame I wanted to like it here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Wow! Where do I start?! After hours spent trawling the internet for the perfect place to spend our wedding anniversary I came across the wonderful Tor Cottage. I contacted Tor Cottage and spoke to the lovely owner Maureen who went out of her way to accommodate my one night only booking (we had to return for a Wedding party the next day) even though the minimum booking should be for two nights. I can't thank Maureen enough. Aside from the genuine warmth that Maureen has toward her guests, her staff are also warm and welcoming. The customer service was second to none. Our room, the Craftmans Garden was beautiful, immaculately clean and comfortable and the hospitality kitchen area was a 'godsend' as we were able to prepare an evening meal which we enjoyed with the complimentary 'trug' of bubbly, fruit and fudge! The romance of the private garden and stream lended to a perfect retreat experience. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool but hopefully next time! Breakfast was perfection, such a selection and it just kept coming! The ginger marmalade was delightful. The only downside was that we only had one night at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexterH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We returned to Tor Cottage to find the same "secret garden" atmosphere and impeccable service that we had experienced before. The Garden Room was perfect for us and the weather allowed us to light the log fire. The day out to the Roseland peninsula provided charming coastal scenery. Don't miss the churchyard at St. Just's - also on the peninsula. Maureen knows all the best routes to make your travel days easy, yet special, and she can always recommend the right spot for a night out as well. Her breakfasts will amaze you, and her staff is bound to demonstrate why her hidden valley accommodation continues to win awards.

Room Tip: For a woodland retreat, try the Laughing Waters cabin. You can hear the babbling brook from all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

It was our first visit to Tor Cottage, but it will definately not be our last. On arrival we were met by Maureen's lovely doughter Amanda, who showed us around and welcomed us with great coffee and the most wonderful home made chocolat cake. After being settled in, Maureen arrived (with Vince, her beautiful retriever and help) and flooded us with her warmth and heartiness. We were presented with maps of information on restaurants and highlights of Devon and Maureen gave great advice. The dairy-free diet of my wife stood never in the way of a lovely breackfast with lots of fruit, home-made muessly and bread. Maureen made sure that the restaurants she recommended and where she made the reservations for us, were informed about the diet and so there were no difficult explanations necessary to enjoy the splendid dinners.
No effort is too big for Maureen and her staff to make your stay unforgettable.
The rooms are spacy and decorated with great detail. The beds are awesome and, combined with only the sounds of birds and the little stream that runs through the lovely garden, you sleep like a log. Add the spring water that makes your hair and skin soft like a baby's and the pool where it is great to have drinks, sun and a swimm, and you know that heaven does exist. It is right there in Chillaton.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, so take whatever is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvanbreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tor Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Cottage

Address: Chillaton, Chillaton PL16 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chillaton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chillaton
Price Range: £106 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tor Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Tor Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Cottage Chillaton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing