We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'A dream'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tor Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tor Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Chillaton B&B and Inns
North Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“'A dream'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in the beautiful Laughing Water for six nights at the end of July. What a dream, this is what heaven must be like. We have never known such peace and tranquility and definitely came away refreshed and better for the experience. From the moment we drove up the secluded track we knew this was going to be different and it was, in the best way possible. A place is very special if it gives you the benefits of modern day living yet also gives you that back to nature feeling. This is what Tor Cottage does and has been made possible because of the vision and care and attention that has gone into everything. We were wanting for nothing. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special. Maureen the owner has very high standards. Food is superb with the little treats much, much appreciated. And the pool - a dream! We are unsure that want too many people to now about this little gem. Could it just stay ours?

Room Tip: Laughing Water just a dream for its seclusion and own private little walks. Managed to see a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller18710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at Tor Cottage for 4 nights in mid July in the heat wave. At the end of a long track deep in it's own 28 acres with woodland it was a real find and a great place to unwind at the start of our 10 day trip to the West Country. We stayed in 'Laughing Waters' as previously described and were delighted to find that it was cool overnight despite 28c temperatures during the day. Maureen was the most wonderful host and a mine of information about where to go in the area and where to eat in the evening if you didn't want to use the cooking facilities in your property. The heated swimming pool (28C) was lovely and if you were there during the afternoon Maureen would invariably arrive with home made scones and jam or wine - and tea/coffee making facilities with fridge and toilet were also poolside. Breakfast was a feast - freshly cooked by Maureen and served with great enthusiasm by Ann or Janet. We were lucky that we had breakfast outside on each of our 4 mornings on a shaded terrace. Because there are only a few properties there was a friendly, relaxed atmosphere with guests chatting over breakfast and by the pool.Tor Cottage is ideally place for Dartmoor and lots of National Trust properties and we will definitely return if we are going that way again for a break.

Room Tip: Laughing Waters is a really quirky, lovely chalet apart from the rest of the properties and has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I visited Tor Cottage with my boyfriend for 2 nights, all I can say is "wow" what an experience.
We were greeted by Maureen and were made to feel well at home, she straight away recommended a restaurant to eat at and booked us in which I thought was a lovely touch considering we didnt know the area. We were staying in the Craftsman Garden cottage, this had its own private terrace and was decorated to a very high standard. Both myself and my boyfriend lead very busy jobs and we were looking for a little slice of paradise in which we could un wind together and this is really the place to come to. With no phone signal this really is the place to get away from the busy and hectic worlds of our work lives which was perfect for the both of us to spend time together.
We were made to feel so special and waking up to a gorgeous breakfast was also the high light of our little trip away. This was an absolute find and we will be returning again as we thought it was perfect our own little heaven.
With every cottage being different we are looking forward to staying in the next one and seeing Maureen and her team again. Thank you Tor Cottage for making our experience so special we really didn't want to leave. Jade and Oliver x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed five nights for our nineteenth visit to Tor Cottage. We stayed in Laughing Waters, a beautifully appointed room in a frontier style complete with a stream gurgling past the windows, a private barbecue area and a secluded glade.
Hammock swings located next to the cabin are set in dappled light and excellent for lazy afternoon reading.
An open air heated pool beckons from spring to autumn and is extremely well maintained, supplied by Tor Cottage's own fresh water spring.
The appeal of Tor Cottage goes beyond the extravagant and generous breakfast offered ( a sideboard of cereals and fruit followed by a cooked breakfast to quench the largest of appetites). It is the peace, tranquility and lack of phone or Internet interference. The ability to just relax and "be".
The staff are wonderful, helpful and happy to offer advice on local attractions and dining.
If you want to get a bead on the true meaning of switching off then this is YOUR place. At between 148 and 155 pounds per couple per night, it is affordable and essential for those who work hard and know the benefit of a "do nothing" break.

See you there

Steve and Michaela Oscroft

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

This was our first visit to the delightful and a little quirky haven that is Tor Cottage.
Every room is very different but all are well equipped and lovely.
Maureen and her helpers Anne and Janet are truly wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble for them with helpful advice on where to visit and where to eat.
We stayed in the Garden Room. It was excellent and the log fire was lovely to sit by in the evenings.
This is a real away-from-it-all country paradise hidden at the end of a long track with it's own babbling brook.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

A few days at Tor Cottage never fails to amaze me. Each visit seems better than the one before, and every type of diet is skillfully and easily catered for. As vegans we usually have to forego a lot of treats offered to other guests, but at Tor Cottage this is never the case. Maureen always over delivers on hospitality and we feel thoroughly pampered. Her amazing staff are one big happy family and it is always a joy to return and see them again. The location is peaceful and pretty and the individual cottages are spacious and immaculate. A visit to Tor Cottage will always score top marks.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav58Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

What a gorgeous place to stay. If you want somewhere where you feel treated like family friends, then this is for you. Maureen couldn't be more welcoming and friendly and her breakfasts in the delightful little conservatory are as good as it gets.
Bedrooms are luxurious, both in the main house and in the refurbished outbuildings, with everything you could possibly need - including a welcome basket of bubbly, fudge and fruit. And the setting is a beautiful relaxed garden bursting with blooming flowers and bushes.

Room Tip: Each bedroom has its own style and unique qualities. Go on the website and look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chillaton
2.5 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
18.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
5.3 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 23 in Launceston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Cottage

Property: Tor Cottage
Address: Chillaton, Chillaton PL16 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chillaton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chillaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tor Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tor Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor Cottage Chillaton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing