We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly fabulous holiday property and beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Clawton, Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

cornchape...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly fabulous holiday property and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We holiday in this beautiful part of the North Devon/ Cornish coastline annually and have used the Stone Barn many times for both small breaks to large family get togethers.
It is a fabulous property which caters for all of our needs and is consistently presented to a very high standard on all aspects and a Credit to the owners and hosts.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review. You will always be welcome at Stone Barn. We get great pleasure from making sure all our guests are happy and always try our best - thank you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashrafcai...
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage for a special celebration”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Booked Stone Barn for a 60th birthday celebration. Incredibly spacious, very well furnished and equipped. Great layout. Lovely welcome as well with biscuits and milk. Really peaceful area and a great enclosed garden for young children. Would highly recommend and if ever we are doing another family celebration in this area would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia M
Steyning, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply... Amazing!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Booked as a secret venue for a 60th Birthday.
A fabulous house with an excellent enclosed garden.
All the positive comments by previous reviewers are 100% accurate!
Could not fault it in any way - one of the best properties we have ever stayed in.
As a suggestion, perhaps one day a wooden open porch in keeping with the house might be useful for removal of muddy boots, cleaning the dog/s and smokers. Just a thought :)
Thank you so much for letting us share your little peace of heaven :)

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy O
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“9 Get Away From it All”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spent a long weekend at The Stone Barn - what a place. So clean, comfortable and welcoming. Very spacious and well laid out I would come back any time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
The homemade cake that greeted us was a really nice gesture - and very tasty too.
And the sun shone.

Date of stay: September 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything about it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downhill...
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well appointed with plenty of space inside and out. Nice games room. Very clean and comfortable . Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val M
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding!Perfectly presented and very well equipped.”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From the moment we unlocked the kitchen door we felt we were in a special place.
The kitchen is beautiful,warm,immaculately clean and homely.
Thank you Elaine and Dick for the yummy Victoria sponge you left there for us and the baskets full of logs.
The beds and bedding are of superb quality and so very comfy.
We had great fun playing table tennis and watching the bats at dusk.
All in all a wonderful property and very reasonably priced.
We were sad to leave.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic kitchen,lovely beds,table tennis room and nature trails.
Liked least: The bumpy track.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonPalfre...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful restored barn with every mod-con and with ecology in mind”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were lucky to find Stone Barn for our holiday for 10 plus dog. The accommodation was spacious yet homely and very well equipped with comfortable beds and furniture. Two ground floor bathrooms (one with bath, one with shower) suited our needs with my handicapped son. Upstairs were bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms which were ideal for use by the rest of the family. A large kitchen was great for family breakfast and meal times with excellent equipment for cooking. Nothing was too much trouble for Elaine & Dick the owners. We made them aware of our specific needs before booking and all our questions were answered sympathetically and honestly. There was a delicious home-made cake awaiting our arrival - thank you. On rainy days the detached wild-life and games room came into good use with table tennis and table football. We took our own bats as keen table-tennis players. There were bats there which had seen considerable use. Situated handily for visits to Woolacombe, Ilfracombe, Bude, Widemouth Bay and Padstow all within easy reach there is also the Steam Railway and Museum at Launceston nearby, and pubs/restaurants in Holsworthy and Ashwater for good evening meals out.

Be prepared for a rough ride up the track to Stone Barn from the main road. My son's MPV and my daughter's hatchback managed fine but my heavily laden estate car scraped along over the potholes and drainage channels.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stone Barn was spacious, comfortable and well placed.
Liked least: The track from the main road was a challenge.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
thanks Ron you were very welcome and lovely guests, and the track repair is at the top of the 'to do' list
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.