We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Tithe Barn exceeded our expectations and was...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Large and bright open-plan lounge and dining areas Well-equipped kitchen with granite worktops.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Large and bright open-plan lounge and dining areas
Well-equipped kitchen with granite worktops.
Bedroom 1: Spacious and stylish. Super-king bed.
En-suite to Bedroom 1 has walk-in shower, bath, and separate WC
Bedroom 2: King-sized bed and views to garden and countryside
En-suite bathroom to Bedroom 2: shower over bath.
Ground floor Bedroom 3 suitable for wheelchair users. Views over patio and countryside.
Wet-room for Bedroom 3. Fully wheelchair accessible.
Well-equipped utility room with washing machine, tumble drier, and drying racks
Large patio with gas barbecue. views of countryside and pond
View of The Tithe Barn from the orchard and pond area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sootyspur...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Tithe Barn exceeded our expectations and was the perfect luxury holiday home.”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A truly stunning barn conversion, tastefully and lovingly restored to create a holiday home that was a pleasure to stay in. Every little detail had been thought through and the barn was really well equipped. We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen ( I even used the slow cooker ) and eating on the courtyard patio. All the bedrooms were comfortable, large and ensuite but the master bedroom ensuite was absolutely fabulous! Our hosts Stuart and Jane were friendly, welcoming and helpful giving us plenty of ideas about the locality. They shared home grown vegetables and picked blackcurrants which got baked into a pie!
It was great to take a short stroll into the lovely little town Ashburton, with an Artisan Bakery, an excellent deli as well as a fish deli. We tried out one of the circular walks from the house which we enjoyed as well as investigating a few Tors and interesting villages that were within a short car ride. We liked that there was so much to do without driving far and our week filled up very quickly.
An exceptionally lovely property which we would recommend without reservation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury, comfort and attention to detail.
Liked least: The week went too quickly!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thanks for your very positive feedback. Your enjoyment of the area, it's walks, and the wonderful town of Ashburton is shared by us...that is why we moved here sixteen years ago!
You kindly shared some of your blackcurrant pie and it was very delicious...do please come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nasim-Ers...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“An unforgettable holiday”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Both my husband and I were looking for an idyllic place to stay on the edge of Dartmoor, and we found it in buckets. I have been living in Dubai for 10 years and married my British husband a year ago, so wanted to see where he grew up as a child and to experience the best of the south west of England.

‘The Tithe Barn’ was a perfect place to spend our time and a great base from which to make the most of what the area has to offer. Ashburton town is literally five minutes’ walk away, and we were able to find all we needed to make the most of the barn’s wonderfully well equipped kitchen and dining space. Although the barn is quite close to the town you feel you are in the countryside as well. It is only short drive to some incredible moorland scenic walks.

Over our one week stay we had typical British mixed weather, so it gave us the opportunity to enjoy the well equipped games room during the rainy days. When we did brave the wet weather to walk on the moors, it was fantastic to come back home and have the laundry room to hang all our wet gear to dry; and the bedrooms with the wet rooms and the amazing rain-effect showers.

We would just like to thank our hosts -Jane and Stuart- for making our stay a wonderful experience. We won’t forget the fresh homemade scones we were offered on our arrival. We really felt like part of the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thanks for your review. It seems that you used your holiday here to explore some of the beautiful places and walks that are nearby. Also, you discovered the quality and range of shops in Ashburton, which is only a short walk away.
Do come again next time you are in the UK!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack O
1 review
“Incredible stay in this beautifully renovated barn by Dartmoor”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had an incredible stay at The Tithe barn in Ashburton. The barn has been beautifully renovated and is situated in beautiful grounds overlooking a large pond with carp and an apple orchard.

We could have easily spent our whole holiday in the barn because it so comfortable and luxurious. The kitchen had an large range cooker and was equipped with everything you need to cook for large groups. The games room with table tennis and pool, gives you loads of entertainment in the evenings or if it's raining.

Jane and Stewart were outstanding hosts, making us feel welcome from the start and helpful when we asked for any recommendations for walks or places to eat or drink! We'd recommend the Ruggleston Inn pub for food, great place to end after a long walk!

It was so easy to find and the directions from google took us straight there (a short drive from the A38).

We hope to return soon. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location / Barn / BBQ area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay at The Tithe Barn. We hope you will be able to come again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie2620...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in superb location”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stuart and Jane were the perfect hosts and live next door, so were always on hand to offer advice and answer queries. The cottage is beautiful. It has been finished to a very high standard and is so well kitted out. We enjoy cooking and the kitchen equipment was the best we have ever had. My father came with us on holiday. He has Parkinson's and has very reduced mobility. The downstairs bedroom and wet room was ideal for him. He appreciated the ramp to get into the property and was able to use his walker easily once inside.
The village of Ashburton is a delight - so many artisan shops and delis. We were able to buy all our food from there, which was withinn walking distance of the cottage (although down a hill, so you wouldn't want to carry to much back up the hill).
I would definitely recommend this property and can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your very positive review. We tried to provide the best possible access for assisted wheelchair users, and your experience confirms that the downstairs bedroom and en-suite are entirely suitable, despite its recent VisitEngland M1 rating.
We look forward to welcoming you all again in the near future.
Stuart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The games room
Liked least: Lack to big mirrors (I am very tall)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
We were pleased to see that you enjoyed the games room...it was only completed and equipped a few weeks before your visit. It will be a great facility for families to enjoy any time of the year. In the summer this big space is cool even on the hottest days... the thick stone walls and thatched roof see to that! In the winter it is a place to escape from wind and rain on those days when you just want to stay in and enjoy a game or two. There is also a good cross -trainer in there too, for those needing a bit of exercise.
We look forward to seeing you all again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thanks for your positive feedback. We would be delighted to host you again when you next need a relaxing break in the Devon countryside!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing