We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for South Devon holidays”
other travellers have booked this property
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Large and bright open-plan lounge and dining areas Well-equipped kitchen with granite worktops.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Large and bright open-plan lounge and dining areas
Well-equipped kitchen with granite worktops.
Bedroom 1: Spacious and stylish. Super-king bed.
En-suite to Bedroom 1 has walk-in shower, bath, and separate WC
Bedroom 2: King-sized bed and views to garden and countryside
En-suite bathroom to Bedroom 2: shower over bath.
Ground floor Bedroom 3 suitable for wheelchair users. Views over patio and countryside.
Wet-room for Bedroom 3. Fully wheelchair accessible.
Well-equipped utility room with washing machine, tumble drier, and drying racks
Large patio with gas barbecue. views of countryside and pond
View of The Tithe Barn from the orchard and pond area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris F
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect base for South Devon holidays”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a tremendous holiday home, in every possible way. The property itself has been built and fitted out to a vry high standard, and is a real pleasure to live in, the quiet, green spaces all around are lovely, and the hosts are as welcoming as you could hope for.
Ashburton is a fabulous little town, packed with little shops and possibly the best bakery, making the best cakes fresh each morning, that I've tasted anywhere in the world. Really.
But what made this just right for us was the location, as everything is in easy reach, unlike when we've stayed right on the coast for past trips, stuck down winding roads so you end up staying at just one or two beaches. From here its still quick to the beach, but also the moors, parks, forests, towns, cities pubs and restaurants - everything is 20-30 mins drive away. But the house is so comfortable that on a sunny day you sometimes just don't feel like going anywhere.
We had been considering buying a holiday home in south Devon, as we like it so much, but now we won't bother as this looks like becoming a very regular spot for us in the coming years.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your very positive feedback...we agree that the location here is a great asset for any family holiday. Whilst the amazing open moor is only a few minutes drive away, guests can also quickly drive to several great beaches, and numerous destinations including steam trains, zoos, National Trust properties, etc.
You certainly made the best of your stay and we look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niahaines
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous week away”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful stay in the Tithe Barn. Enjoyed many different activities, beach, guided walk on the moors and the Dart Park - which was great for the kids (bring a wetsuit). The barn itself was amazing, very well equipped and the hosts were super helpful. Can't wait to come again to explore this area of Devon - there is so much to do and see.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
The guided walk you describe was organised by Moorland Guides. They provide a range of scheduled wildlife, flora and fauna walks on the moor, or ones customised to your needs. The guides know the more hidden and interesting areas, so this avoids just heading for well-known busy spots like Haytor.
The River Dart Country Park is great for kids and active adults...water and woodland based adventures that include a play lake, a pirate ship, and canopy walkways. Many families spend a wonderful full day here, and it is only about five minutes away by car.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your week here so much. Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julescros...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fabulous barn in the Dartmoor national park. Exceptional standard and lovely hosts. We'll be back ;-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Looking forward to your next visit! You seemed to have enjoyed many of the delights of the area; walks on the moor and by the River Dart, a trip to the beach at Bantham, serious table tennis games in the barn, and lots of meals in nearby pubs and restaurants. Come again soon!
Jane and Stuartm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
1 review
“Beautifully and thoughtfully renovated barn at the foot of Dartmoor”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a long family weekend in April for a wedding in Ashburton. The Tithe Barn was perfect for a family of 4-6 plus space for extra visitors for lunch or dinner. Lovely location, pond and garden. Walking distance to Ashburton restaurants and shops. Jane and Stuart (and dogs) more than kind and welcoming and we quickly felt at home. Will certainly try and return for a longer stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thanks for your review; we were very happy to see that you really enjoyed your short break here. Do try to come for a week or more next time...there is so much to see and do around this wonderful area of South East Dartmoor. Best wishes
Jane and Stuart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exsandhur...
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
“Beautiful accommodation for 3 couples!”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were a party of 6 seniors who spent two weeks at the Tithe Barn, Ashburton and had a wonderful time. The accommodation was quite incredible. 3 double bedrooms, all with their own bathrooms. Two of the bedrooms could be made into twin bedded rooms - ideal for us. The location is so tranquil being on the outskirts of Ashburton. There were plenty of local walks albeit rather hilly. We spent Easter here and found the kitchen to be so well equipped we were able to cook a full turkey dinner. We did have a problem with the tumble dryer but it was replaced with a new one within the hour! Underfloor heating was a comfort on those chilly nights, especially in the bathrooms. Ashburton was a nice little town with plenty of local shops and restaurants. The roads away from the A38 were very narrow and interesting to drive. This location is very close to Dartmoor, and we were able to visit plenty of National Trust sites. Stuart and Jane were very attentive hosts and very easy to deal with before, during and after our stay. We would certainly recommend this unique property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Many thanks for your detailed review; and we were pleased to see that you all so enjoyed your fortnight's spring holiday here. As you discovered, the kitchen is well equipped for quite demanding cooking, and several guests have produced some amazing meals for their families!
We do hope you will be able to return sometime, when we will show you some easier and less hilly walks around here by the beautiful River Dart.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad6266...
1 review
“Fantastic property in a beautiful part of Devon”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Tithe Barn in Ashburton is easily the best appointed property we have stayed in through the many we have booked through Premier Cottages. The specification is absolute top quality and the owners have put a great deal of thought into all aspects. We are a family of five with three children (10,8,8) and we had a brilliant time. The children played either on the swings or in the mown fields of the property (often with the owners dogs who were great companions) or made use of the games rooms with a pool table and table tennis. The property is just on the border of the national park and within a couple of minutes we could be on the moor walking. It is also conveniently located close to a number of other attractions in the area with the Beach 35 mins away to the South and the same time to places like the National Trust's Lydford Gorge or Castle Drogo. The owners were very friendly and helpful even drawing us maps of local walks away from the crowds that only locals knew!
Would definitely book and again and I would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
You certainly made the best of your week here, and we are glad that you enjoyed all the cottage facilities and its grounds. The great places that you visited are all only a short drive away, so you didn't waste valuable holiday time just sitting in the car!
We hope to see you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikecb201...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family get together”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Tithe Barn for a family get together with our adult children now living in different parts of England and abroad. The accommodation is an amazing beautifully finished restoration with oak and thatch and space and comfort and warmth. It is very well equipped throughout and more than met our requirements. We found it easy to access Dartmoor and could walk in to Ashburton. Even in January we could sit outside (well wrapped up) and enjoy the sunshine. Now of older age we were delighted with the layout and practicality of our bathroom and our wonderfully comfortable bed. Our children were equally thrilled with The Tithe Barn. Jane and Stuart were most helpful and thoughtful hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2017
Many thanks for taking time to review your stay. We are delighted that you found the house so comfortable for your mid-winter break, and do hope that we will see you here again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing