We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
A short drive away from Lurcombe are the exquisite Tors of Dartmoor...
Dartmoor Stone Circles - only a short drive from the Granary barn...
Situated only a few miles away from Dartmoors iconic Tors, this is the perfect spot for Moor & Coast
Haytor -  a natural beauty spot - only 3 miles from Lurcombe...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Natasha B
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We really enjoyed staying at The Granary. Wonderful people and wonderful dogs. My husband is not a dog lover but he was really drawn to the dogs. There is a very warm and friendly atmosphere and we highly recommend this place. There are some very nice places to visit nearby, including Haytor, Bovey Tracey, Ashburton and Torquay. Only one small critique is the mattress - slightly too firm - however, that is just our personal preference. The decor and layout of the accommodation is at a very high standard and is well looked after. It's an extremely relaxing place to come back to after a day out. Overall, we would definitely visit this place again. Thank you to Nick, Sarah and the rest of the family for making us feel at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil areas around the accommodation
Liked least: The mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Hi, thanks for the review, sorry we are only just replying...
it's funny the review after yours talks about the bed in The Mill being the comfiest they can remember...if you get a chance to stay again, please try The Mill as it may suit your preference.
Have a great autumn and please don't hesitate to get in touch if we can lend you the dogs in the future :) Sarah & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and tranquility
Liked least: firm mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thanks for the lovely comments, the A-MA-ZING was a great e-mail to wake up too!

Really pleased you enjoyed the fishing too, it's idyllic down at the pond especially from spring to autumn.

All the best and we hope to see you again, if you do get a chance have a look at The Mill which has a Super King Bed whcih is simply enormous...all the best, Nick & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thankyou for staying with us and for the great comments, we're improving all the time and it is lovely to hear your views, hope to see you soon, Sarah & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Polly1Ann...
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely retreat in a great location”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After the hustle and bustle of London and Paris we were looking for a change of pace: a quiet retreat in the country where we could recharge our batteries, as well as a place from which we could explore Dartmoor and the south coast of Devon. The Granary fit the bill perfectly.

We were travelling with our adult daughter (a student), and, although the Granary is intended for couples, the owners kindly arranged an extra roll-out bed in the living area for her (at an additional cost). This worked really well, providing more space and privacy than the triple rooms we had shared on other parts of our trip.

The apartment is beautifully situated and has lovely views over the farm. We found it quiet, bright, immaculately clean, spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. We enjoyed being taken for walks around the property by the three resident dogs and playing tennis in the evening. The owner Nick was very welcoming and helpful.

The location is great. Close to Dartmoor and within easy access of the coast.

We enjoyed our stay at the Granary very much and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, amenities
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thanks for those comments, we're so pleased the pull out bed worked so well and that you had the chance to switch off and relax for a few days. Have a great journey back home and thankyou once again, all the best, Nick & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgielod...
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just (begrudgingly) returned from an amazing week at the granary and our first family holiday with our 7 month old.

The cottage is hidden away providing stunning views of rolling hills, grazing sheep and a tranquil atmosphere.

The place is absolutely spotless with care and attention to detail has obviously gone into the design, maintenance and overall guest experience.

The welcome gifts of fresh eggs and wine is a lovely touch and the kitchen is well stocked with all the utensils you could require and even spices and oil is provided.

The bathroom is luxurious with a wonderful step down shower with lovely hot water!

The family (including the beautiful dogs) are friendly and helpful but not intrusive (the perfect hosts).

The location is great for visiting the coast, the moors and an array of national trust properties. Parke is close by and we strongly recommended a visit to the farm cafe for tea and cake!

Can't recommend this place enough book it now!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thankyou for spending your first family holiday here with us, so pleased it was a success!
We're looking at ways to improve and expand what we offer here so please stay in touch and we hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future...Best Regards, Sarah & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thanks for the lovely comments, the moor is so beautiful it speak s for itself, we just add the comfort!
Great the tyre was fixed so easily and so good you got to have a pre-wimbledon warm up!
Hope to see you again int he future, all the best, Sarah & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
Yes, the weather was a bit 'mixed' last week! Thanks very much for staying and your comments about The Granary, i'll pass that on to Sarah & Housekeeping, hope to see you in the future,Best Regards, Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing