We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be returning here for sure!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holne Chase Holiday Cottages
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I have spent two incredible weekends here - and will definitely be returning.

The hospitality of the owners made me feel very welcome - but they also left me to enjoy the peace of the cottage, and the surrounding countryside. The dogs kept coming to check on me though - delightful!

I would recommend walking by the river, and fishing if you enjoy it - though I hope there are no kayakers coming through when you are there. Luckily they passed by quickly and peace was restored.

Would definitely recommend this beautiful and peaceful spot to anyone wanting a relaxing get away.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We enjoyed a marvellous weekend in the beautiful traditional stone cottages. Upon arrival, driving up the long sweeping driveway, it was clear that we had arrived at a very special hidden retreat. Located in a mature wooded setting in Dartmoor, the extensive grounds had too much to explore on our visit - including several beautiful hidden caves that we discovered near the hotel's private section of the river Dart. Completely unspoiled, and well kept, this peaceful country setting is the perfect escape. With excellent staff that spoiled us from the moment we arrived, we only wish we had a longer stay and are planning to return this summer!

My tip: Don't forget your walking boots!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Architect_McAneary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visiting from Australia, and seeking the quiet out of the way locations, we found Fishermans Flat just perfect for us. Very homelike, spacious, comfortable and warm, with a very comfy bed! Our hosts Harriet and Richard made us feel very welcome and every part of this property is steeped in history, including the ivy and moss laden roof top of the hidden outbuilding dug into the hill behind the flat. The property, both inside and outside is unique, with carpets of blue bells in the Beech and Oak woodlands in our spring visit, and miles of river Dart to explore. We would come back again!
Kim and Jen

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harriet s, Owner at Holne Chase Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for such a nice review. We are so glad you had a lovely stay here. Come back soon; the dogs are missing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We made the mistake of believing the website’s claim that there were wonderful views from the Fisherman’s Flat. The only views are of the mouldy, ugly roof of an outbuilding just a few feet behind the big house. All rooms in the flat are gloomy, dark and completely unwelcoming. Being at Holne Chase absolutely ruined our holiday. Don't go here! We didn't even stay for the full week that we had booked. One more thing: the owner claims to make gourmet food and we ordered some prior to our arrival. It looked so dodgy that we decided not to risk eating it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Monjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Return visit whilst visiting family for Xmas. I stayed in Grooms Cottage on this occasion which offers a really comfortable living space, well appointed if a little careworn and in a very special setting. Good value for money, too. Didn't get the chance to try out the new catering option but will do that next time. Local area offers good choice of eating places and individual shops which makes a change from the usual high street chains. Great moorland walks on the doorstep and wonderful coastline a short drive away.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Fantastic relaxing part of Dartmoor. Near amenities but feel a million miles away! The carriage house, where we stayed was fab and so much room that we could lose each other. The dogs adored it just as much as we did and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portreathmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just spent a great weekend in this fantastic hotel with the most welcoming and helpful hosts ever. Definitely recommend it for a break in the countryside if you enjoy relaxing in a dream house, surrounded by a beautiful garden in the middle of the woods and while tasting some of the local specialities from the local pub.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nico_LND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
1.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
521 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,426 reviews
7.3 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
180 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
11.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holne Chase Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holne Chase Holiday Cottages

Address: Holne Chase Holne Chase, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: £195 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel closed permanently in 2009 and is now under different owners. Available for long or short term let, Holne Chase holiday cottages are nestled within the Dartmoor national park are ideal to take you away from the hustle and bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holne Chase Ashburton
Holne Chase Holiday Cottages Dartmoor National Park/Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing