We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY B&B”
Review of Ashburton Court

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashburton Court
Ranked #11 of 13 Ashburton B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“LOVELY B&B”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here while on a cookery course at Ashburton Cookery School. It was difficult to find, and parking is a challenge; there is an arrangement with the local doctor's surgery which you discover on arrival. But the building was lovely, old and quaint, so home from home for me. I had a huge bathroom and a lovely walk in shower which was a great surprise.

My only comment would be that Ashburton is a busy town and as my room overlooked the high street I found it noisy and difficult to sleep. But I am fortunate to live in a very quiet area, so perhaps it was me.

Breakfast was gorgeous (as you'd expect it to be when you're amongst cooks!) and the staff were all brilliant.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while at a cookery course at Ashburton Cookery School. Nice rooms, fairly quirky bathroom arrangements. Great that there is a mini bus to and from, but its only a 10 minute walk. Parking is an issue, the staff do what they can to direct you, but its challenging. The lady who met us, and settled us in, was very friendly, very knowledgable. Would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Quaint and unique accommodation in the picturesque town of Ashburton. 2 individual 19th century houses form the accommodation for the Outstanding Ashburton Cookery School. Do not expect modern 5* luxury because what you get is one off rooms with character and individuality. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is excellent. Parking is tricky but well worth the effort.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeeTee1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Excellent friendly and welcoming reception.
Great to meet everyone on the ashburton cookery courses and these are 5/5. There is also a bus from the court to the school. This is also a nice walk when dry.
The car park is at the Doctors surgery up the road, loading unloading bags / cases difficult outside the court as there are double yellow lines.
Breakfast very good and again staff excellent.
Room was standard, could be cleaner in the bathroom, and the milk was out of date!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MW2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Great clean rooms and a delicious breakfast. A quick 2 minute walk from the school and great way to socialise with those who you're doing the course with. Couldn't ask for more! If you're doing a course at the school, I would recommend this quaint little B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is the accommodation used by the Ashburton Cookery School. It comprises two properties about 5 minutes walk from the centre of the village.

You need to arrive between 4pm and 6pm. The welcome from Jackie was very friendly – she remembered me from a previous visit.

My room was clean and comfortable – the bed was nicely firm, however the furniture is rather dated and windows are a bit draughty; it had a TV and hairdryer. The bathroom is fine with nice fluffy towels although the toiletries are rather basic.

Continental breakfast is good with a selection of pastries, cereal, fruit etc. There is no full English available but they will cook toast and eggs on demand.

Room Tip: At the back if possible, further from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashburton hotels
0.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gages Mill
Gages Mill
#2 of 13 in Ashburton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#3 of 13 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No 44 Bed and Breakfast
No 44 Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.5 mi away
ANRAN @Tidwell Farm
ANRAN @Tidwell Farm
#1 of 13 in Ashburton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton Court

Property: Ashburton Court
Address: 79 East Street, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ashburton
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Ashburton Court Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing