We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Experience”
Review of The Dartmoor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dartmoor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at the Dartmoor Lodge over a week-end with a wine tasting experience on the Saturday evening. The staff at this hotel were very helpful and focussed on ensuring their customers have a great experience. There was a wide choice of excellent quality food on the menu both for breakfast and the evening meal. The rooms were clean and tidy, reflecting the general decor of the building. This hotel is ideally situated as a base to visit the stunning Dartmoor countryside and within easy reach of the coast. In summary this was a very enjoyable stay and we would recommend this hotel to others wanting to stay in this area.

Room Tip: The four-poster room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianjthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    108
    44
    19
    19
See reviews for
134
184
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

A friend and I took a 2 nigh stay at Dartmoor Lodge last week and we could have happily stayed longer, the staff were wonderful. They even retrieved an earring I dropped down the sink, which was kind of above and beyond the call of duty.

We ate breakfasts and lunches in the hotel, both of which were excellent, with the dinners very reasonably priced. Breakfast was self-serve with cooked items for a full English and a cereal and fruits bar. The Sunday Carvery was immense.

All the staff were extremely helpful in sorting out our moorland itinerary (reception staff, bar staff and one of the chefs chipped in) and they referred us to an excellent taxi service, where the driver, Pete, dropped and collected us at points around Dartmoor for brilliant hikes.

The rooms were very clean and well furbished. We would very happily go back there, though preferably with a car the next time for easier access to the key points of Dartmoor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed at the Dartmoor Lodge for two nights this week. We thorougly enjoyed our stay. The food (too much for my wife!!) was excellent and the staff were all very friendly and yet efficient. The bedroom was very good as was the bar with four real ales, three of which were from local breweries.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossBalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at the Dartmoor Lodge for two nights on a Groupon deal. We had a great time there. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and the location was very good. We had breakfast and dinner there for the two days. Breakfast was very good, with a choice of English Breakfast, cereal, yogurt and etc. and dinner was very good with good size portions and good service as well. Internet is available at the bar, which is very comfy and nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tati_Souza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We booked a Groupon deal for 2 nights B&B and the 1st evening meal.......so wish we had taken the offer of the 2nd meal too. Everybody was friendly professional and yet could reatian a sense of humour and we felt personally welcome here. It was our 1st stay away from home for our dog...he was made sooooooo welcome too. We were so glad to see an ex brewery run establishent being turned into a family venture where every customer mattered. Your refurb is definitly going the right way...keep on doing what you are doing so well already.
The hotel is very close to the main road and yet well situated to explore Dartmoor and its environs....The dog LOVED it!
Lots of beautiful walks, local pubs and a beautifully cooked meal of local produce in the evening...followed by a great nights sleep!
Our only concern was the size of the portions meant we could not face a 3rd course, and we like our food!
Breakfast....fantastic...what more can we say.
Rooms and decor made us feel comfortable, and staff/service made us feel welcome/special! Food made us feel very well fed.....but we deserved it after all the walking. Thanks so much for making our 1st trip away with our dog such a sucess. xxx

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertiesmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merthry tydfil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We spent an idyllic two nights at the Dartmoor Lodge. The staff were very helpful and we stayed in the four poster bedroom which was superbly comfortable.

Our bathroom facilities were spot on and the standard of cleanliness in our room was excellent.

We stayed on Dinner Bed and Breakfast basis and the food was truly scrumptious and very well presented in a pleasant dining room. We would certainly stay again and will add it to one of our favourites in that part of the country.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1943_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

PROS:
- Easy to find (by car)
- Our room was a good size (judging by the other reviews some people have had the opposite experience, but we had a good size room with a huge bed)
- Good breakfast buffet
- Plenty of car parking space
- Pleasant staff
- We were there on an offer, so it was reasonably priced for us.

CONS:
- Our room faced onto the hotel car park. I think this may be true for all rooms on the ground floor?
- We had dinner at the hotel and although the atmosphere was fine I'm afraid my main dish was one of the worst meals I've ever had in a restaurant. If you must eat at the restaurant, order something plain that they can't get too wrong!
- Faintly musty smell in our room, which annoyed me but my partner didn't notice

Overall, our stay was fine and unremarkable, for better or worse, with the main exception being the evening dinner. I think at full price you could find a better place for the money.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms that face the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
9.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,270 reviews
12.7 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
497 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,072 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
9.4 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dartmoor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dartmoor Lodge

Property: The Dartmoor Lodge
Address: Peartree Cross, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dartmoor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under private ownership, the Dartmoor Lodge, nestled between rolling hills on the edge of Dartmoor, yet deceptively close to the A38. Perfect base to explore the beautiful Devon countryside. Beamed restaurant, open fire, locally sourced produce. Friendly and efficient staff. 22 en-suite rooms, meeting/conference facilities, function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dartmoor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
The Dartmoor Lodge Dartmoor National Park/Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing