We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
358
143
57
20
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
143
57
20
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday carvery pork excellent carvery four poster buffet breakfast generous portions plenty of parking staff were lovely steak and ale pie function room potatoes food was amazing wedding venue lovely atmosphere excellent quality couldn't do enough well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Just spent a weekend at Dartmoor Lodge. Every single member of staff we dealt with was friendly and helpful. We left feeling very happy and having been made very welcome.
The food was nice, though nothing very gourmet, and portions were huge. There was loads of choice for breakfast, and as it was a buffet there's no limit on how much you can eat!
The room we had was quite basic, but very clean, and quiet, especially considering that the hotel is quite near to a dual carriageway.
We went with a Groupon deal, and I probably wouldn't have wanted to pay much more than £75 a night, but for what we paid it was great value.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayleyln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This was recommended to us by a friend whose wedding we were attending. All I can say is that the only reason it would be recommended is by someone who has never stayed there.

The rooms are tired and seriously in need of renovation. OK there are always a few bits and pieces that will need maintenance and I won't complain about that but when there are so many then they really shouldn't be letting the rooms. Tired paint work and the occasional broken bulb, fine I won't complain about that, but that has been slapped on so carelessly that it runs over the doors, broken bulbs, splintered furniture, loose door fittings, loose doors themselves, cracked basins in the bathrooms, ill fitting shower doors and so on really are unacceptable. What however makes it astoundingly unforgiveable is that we had a family room. It seems that their idea of a family room is something that is on the ground floor next to the night entrance ('oh' hello there goes another sozzled smoker) and the disco. Yes they put family rooms right next to their function room.

If I hadn't needed to stay in order to attend a wedding I would have been straight back in the car and going home. As it was we raised our complaints and were promised something would be done. Nothing was, so we only conclude that all their rooms are equally bad. We also at that point found that the manager was always unavailable and not only then but even now when we phone them about this there is always noone available to talk to us.

This hotel has a relatively good location that a good manager or oweber could make use but everything about this hotel says that the owners don't care and are only interested in what the bar takes. Avoid!

Room tip: Pick a room in a different hotel!
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for your review. Highly uncalled for and unfair I feel!!!
These rooms were booked by the bride and groom, with myself the owner of the hotel. When booking I advised that we only had a limited number of rooms available as we had functions of our own on this particular weekend...being December in the height of Christmas party season!! I showed the couple around who were more than happy with the standard of our rooms, which incidently receive fantastic reviews, please refer to the many many reviews posted prior to your own, and which have recently been inspected and received 3 star scoring. With regard to not being able to speak to a member of management, it was me that you spoke to on the Saturday night at about 8.30p.m, when you complained about the music and location of the family room being next to a function room, I explained that we had advised, prior to booking, about the functions, and pointed out that although the rooms are located next to a function room, there are only a limited number of music functions being held there during the year, so although some family rooms are close to the function room, it is also located next to an entrance that allows you to park only a short distance away and push pushchairs etc directly into the room without the need to negotiate stairs. I was surprised to see you at the desk at this time, as we had been advised that wedding guests would be attending a reception until late and as such would not have a problem with the music taking place in our hotel, however, I apologised and offered to move you to another room, an offer that you declined stating that your son was asleep and you did not want to disturb him. The next morning upon check out you complained again to my assistant ( another member of management!!) and asked for a refund, you were advised that we would contact you directly. We did try to contact you but you were unavailable until the following day. We offered a good will geture in the form of a £25 refund. You refused this offer and stated that you wanted half the amount refunded to you. I explained that you had already received a £50 discount for the room and so this was my final offer, again you refused. To now come onto trip advisor and slate the hotel for all its worth in an obvious attemp to damage our reputation is appalling, and suggests that a little media power can be dangerous in the wrong hands!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Have just spent 2 nights at this hotel and cannot rate it high enough. The room, food and staff were excellent. We were attending a wedding nearby and took a chance and booked after searching the internet. Would definitely return if we are down this way again and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, friendly place to stay.(The wonderfull log fire makes it so warm and cosy)

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Many thanks for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Dartmoor Lodge. The groupon deal was a great deal wasn't it.
We hope that now you have found us you will return again.
Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My friend and I stopped here for a Sunday carvery en route home. It was absolutely delicious and a real effort had been made to make the food was that little bit extra special...honey roasted parsnips, creamy spiced leeks and several meats to choose from. A wonderful selection and all freshly cooked and all for a mere £8!

The service was also second to none...the staff communicated brilliantly with one another and we really felt the personal touch. Considering we'd just walked in from the A38 they really did go that extra mile. The manager was no where in sight when we placed our order but he suddenly appeared to check we were happy..."It was two carvery's? And two orange juices? Everything to your liking? Go up for your meal as soon as you're ready". Fantastic service and lovely atmosphere!

Many thanks for breaking up our long journey home with your delicious food and prompt friendly service!

Room tip: Book in advance for the carvery...it's very popular.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch, Sundays are very busy for us, but our staff (who we are extremely proud of) always keep a smile on their faces!
We hope that you will call in again when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

2 Stars? Ridiculous! This hotel merits at least 4 stars.

The rooms are large and comfortable and above all. clean. The restaurant is brilliant, the service very much above average.

In addition, an attractive location.

Had breakfast and a group dinner there. Dinner was hot, tasty and imaginative. Good, honest food, charmingly served.

Breakfast was a joy - everything was hot and the service was refreshingly efficient and above all, friendly.

I would definitely stay there again! Excellent value for money!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmad742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Many thanks,
we have recently been inspected by Visit Britain, and we were scored as 3 stars in all areas, but sadly our style of dining was not as required to attain 3 stars. We prefer to offer an informal, but efficient service that everybody can relax in, but to get 3 starts we would be required to offer a more formal dining experience. The fact that we have 2 stars is not relective of the high level of service that we offer, and we are grateful that clients such as yourself recognise this, so thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews