We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stop off on A38.”
Review of The Dartmoor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dartmoor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Driving down the A38 heading for Cornwall (Having avoided the Motorway Services ) we were looking for a late,light lunch,we saw the Pear Tree Cross turn off for Ashburton,after a false start, going past the filling station; we came back and turned in front of it, not far past the filling station is the Dartmoor Lodge:-A hotel with a restaurant and bar, we had a first class lunch, not as "light" as we thought when ordering, a ham ploughmans for my wife,superb and more than she could eat; A Bacon, Brie and Tomato baguette for me with a veritable salad of a garnish all at a very reasonable price with excellent happy service.So very glad we avoided the normal services.Next time we go that way we will try to work it for dinner.So watch this space.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayitlikeitis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

Just spent a weekend at Dartmoor Lodge. Every single member of staff we dealt with was friendly and helpful. We left feeling very happy and having been made very welcome.
The food was nice, though nothing very gourmet, and portions were huge. There was loads of choice for breakfast, and as it was a buffet there's no limit on how much you can eat!
The room we had was quite basic, but very clean, and quiet, especially considering that the hotel is quite near to a dual carriageway.
We went with a Groupon deal, and I probably wouldn't have wanted to pay much more than £75 a night, but for what we paid it was great value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayleyln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This was recommended to us by a friend whose wedding we were attending. All I can say is that the only reason it would be recommended is by someone who has never stayed there.

The rooms are tired and seriously in need of renovation. OK there are always a few bits and pieces that will need maintenance and I won't complain about that but when there are so many then they really shouldn't be letting the rooms. Tired paint work and the occasional broken bulb, fine I won't complain about that, but that has been slapped on so carelessly that it runs over the doors, broken bulbs, splintered furniture, loose door fittings, loose doors themselves, cracked basins in the bathrooms, ill fitting shower doors and so on really are unacceptable. What however makes it astoundingly unforgiveable is that we had a family room. It seems that their idea of a family room is something that is on the ground floor next to the night entrance ('oh' hello there goes another sozzled smoker) and the disco. Yes they put family rooms right next to their function room.

If I hadn't needed to stay in order to attend a wedding I would have been straight back in the car and going home. As it was we raised our complaints and were promised something would be done. Nothing was, so we only conclude that all their rooms are equally bad. We also at that point found that the manager was always unavailable and not only then but even now when we phone them about this there is always noone available to talk to us.

This hotel has a relatively good location that a good manager or oweber could make use but everything about this hotel says that the owners don't care and are only interested in what the bar takes. Avoid!

Room Tip: Pick a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for your review. Highly uncalled for and unfair I feel!!!
These rooms were booked by the bride and groom, with myself the owner of the hotel. When booking I advised that we only had a limited number of rooms available as we had functions of our own on this particular weekend...being December in the height of Christmas party season!! I showed the couple around who were more than happy with the standard of our rooms, which incidently receive fantastic reviews, please refer to the many many reviews posted prior to your own, and which have recently been inspected and received 3 star scoring. With regard to not being able to speak to a member of management, it was me that you spoke to on the Saturday night at about 8.30p.m, when you complained about the music and location of the family room being next to a function room, I explained that we had advised, prior to booking, about the functions, and pointed out that although the rooms are located next to a function room, there are only a limited number of music functions being held there during the year, so although some family rooms are close to the function room, it is also located next to an entrance that allows you to park only a short distance away and push pushchairs etc directly into the room without the need to negotiate stairs. I was surprised to see you at the desk at this time, as we had been advised that wedding guests would be attending a reception until late and as such would not have a problem with the music taking place in our hotel, however, I apologised and offered to move you to another room, an offer that you declined stating that your son was asleep and you did not want to disturb him. The next morning upon check out you complained again to my assistant ( another member of management!!) and asked for a refund, you were advised that we would contact you directly. We did try to contact you but you were unavailable until the following day. We offered a good will geture in the form of a £25 refund. You refused this offer and stated that you wanted half the amount refunded to you. I explained that you had already received a £50 discount for the room and so this was my final offer, again you refused. To now come onto trip advisor and slate the hotel for all its worth in an obvious attemp to damage our reputation is appalling, and suggests that a little media power can be dangerous in the wrong hands!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Have just spent 2 nights at this hotel and cannot rate it high enough. The room, food and staff were excellent. We were attending a wedding nearby and took a chance and booked after searching the internet. Would definitely return if we are down this way again and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, friendly place to stay.(The wonderfull log fire makes it so warm and cosy)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Many thanks for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Dartmoor Lodge. The groupon deal was a great deal wasn't it.
We hope that now you have found us you will return again.
Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My friend and I stopped here for a Sunday carvery en route home. It was absolutely delicious and a real effort had been made to make the food was that little bit extra special...honey roasted parsnips, creamy spiced leeks and several meats to choose from. A wonderful selection and all freshly cooked and all for a mere £8!

The service was also second to none...the staff communicated brilliantly with one another and we really felt the personal touch. Considering we'd just walked in from the A38 they really did go that extra mile. The manager was no where in sight when we placed our order but he suddenly appeared to check we were happy..."It was two carvery's? And two orange juices? Everything to your liking? Go up for your meal as soon as you're ready". Fantastic service and lovely atmosphere!

Many thanks for breaking up our long journey home with your delicious food and prompt friendly service!

Room Tip: Book in advance for the carvery...it's very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch, Sundays are very busy for us, but our staff (who we are extremely proud of) always keep a smile on their faces!
We hope that you will call in again when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

2 Stars? Ridiculous! This hotel merits at least 4 stars.

The rooms are large and comfortable and above all. clean. The restaurant is brilliant, the service very much above average.

In addition, an attractive location.

Had breakfast and a group dinner there. Dinner was hot, tasty and imaginative. Good, honest food, charmingly served.

Breakfast was a joy - everything was hot and the service was refreshingly efficient and above all, friendly.

I would definitely stay there again! Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoorlodge, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Many thanks,
we have recently been inspected by Visit Britain, and we were scored as 3 stars in all areas, but sadly our style of dining was not as required to attain 3 stars. We prefer to offer an informal, but efficient service that everybody can relax in, but to get 3 starts we would be required to offer a more formal dining experience. The fact that we have 2 stars is not relective of the high level of service that we offer, and we are grateful that clients such as yourself recognise this, so thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were booked into the Dartmoor Lodge by my husband's work for their Christmas do and didn't know what to expect but were absolutely delighted with every aspect of our stay. The the hotel was welcoming, the owners and staff were really accommodating and helpful and our room was comfortable and very clean. We were not expecting a great meal - usually large groups booked for a Christmas party doesn't get the best food or service - but we couldn't be more wrong. The food was absolutely excellent, served quickly and piping hot, the staff were attentive and very polite and friendly. My husband asked for some slight changes to the main course to suit his dietary needs and this was dealt with efficiently without any fuss. We started the evening in a lovely and cozy bar area before going to the dining area. The next morning we were greeted by cheerful, friendly staff and treated to a really good cooked breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay at the Dartmoor Lodge and would definitely both stay there again and recommend it to any one else who is looking for a lovely hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMA18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
9.4 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,136 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
9.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
359 reviews
12.7 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dartmoor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dartmoor Lodge

Address: Peartree Cross, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: £62 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dartmoor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under private ownership, the Dartmoor Lodge, nestled between rolling hills on the edge of Dartmoor, yet deceptively close to the A38. Perfect base to explore the beautiful Devon countryside. Beamed restaurant, open fire, locally sourced produce. Friendly and efficient staff. 22 en-suite rooms, meeting/conference facilities, function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dartmoor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
The Dartmoor Lodge Dartmoor National Park/Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing