We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bread ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ella Artisan Baker

Ella Artisan Baker
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best bread ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Not much more to say except if there's a queue outside a bakers in this day and age then GO AND INVESTIGATE! There is obviously something special going on and after tasting their wares I can confirm this is certainly the case here. Go early though or you'll miss out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AGE120D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I could have spent much more money here. Delicious and worth a visit.We regularly drove from campsite to get our bread and cakes from here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really tasty proper bread.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

It was great to find this bakers - up to date, but old fashioned tastes - great varieties of superb tasting loaves. Ideally get there early, as they can sell out of certain items. Wish we lived nearer to take full weekly proper bread of old. Very much to be applauded!.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Fantastic bread baked freshly on the premises every day. Highly recommended. Do not miss this treat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strete
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best in the South West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

For the last ten years I have been tasting different bread in Dorset, and Devon where I live. I hate supermarket wrapped sliced bread so I have tried all the independent small bakeries. I have now found the best in Ashburton in this small artisan bakery, it will be a long journey for me twice a week to buy the bread but well worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ella Artisan Baker also viewed

Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Ella Artisan Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing