We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best camping in years!”

River Dart Country Park
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the Dartmoor National Park the River Dart Country Park has an award winning campsite and is open daily from Easter to the end of September for fun and adventurous holidays and days out for families.Set in 90 acres, with lakes, parkland and woods with the majestic River Dart flowing through the Park it is the ideal place to stay or visit. Children can run and play on our Pirate Ship lake and Adventure Playgrounds and our on-site facilities cater for everyone. The Old Sawmill cafe offers a great range of food so mum can also have a break and our onsite shop stocks items for your BBQ! B&B accommodation is also available throughout the year and don't forget all guests have free access to the extensive adventure playgrounds for the duration of their stay. For those seeking more adrenalin fuelled fun there I sour Dare Devil activities including water zorbs, high ropes course, canoeing and kayaking - instructor lead activities - extra cost. Theres an adventure around every corner!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 day camping trip to the River Dart Country Park, and already excited to return.

Highlights included the Adventure Playground, Pirate Ship, Low Ropes and super fast slides. So many free activities for the whole family included with the price. Decided to pay for 2 extra activities, both canoeing and High Ropes course. Both were excellent value for money, and the instructors were fabulous.

The site itself was immaculate, with hot showers and excellently kept grounds.
Staff went above and beyond their duties and many stopped to ask if all was ok, or if you needed any assistance!

Two members of staff in particular were particularly helpful and friendly. Mark the Warden was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable, and Howard was friendly and really welcoming. Can't wait to return!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank VicARay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Public Relations Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Good afternoon,

What a fantastic review! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you when you return!

Best wishes,

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pirate ship"
in 87 reviews
"high ropes"
in 72 reviews
"zip wire"
in 52 reviews
"on site"
in 50 reviews
"river dart"
in 57 reviews
"all ages"
in 45 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 26 reviews
"camping trip"
in 24 reviews
"wet suits"
in 22 reviews
"next year"
in 30 reviews
"assault course"
in 15 reviews
"great fun"
in 33 reviews
"value for money"
in 21 reviews
"climbing wall"
in 13 reviews
"free activities"
in 11 reviews
"play area"
in 15 reviews
"on arrival"
in 11 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Fantastic day of family fun, my 5 year old love it! The water activities are brilliant wetsuit and water shoes needed. climbing, slides, zip wires, assault courses in the woods and fort all excellent!! Great value for money!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Esmeb5673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Public Relations Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Good morning,

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are all about non-stop family fun at River Dart Country Park! It's great to hear from you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

What a great place! Visited twice in August - camping and using the adventure playgrounds, the pirate river, the rivers with our dinghy and the high-ropes.

Excellent value for money on the food and activities too. The site is really clean, showers and toilets are cleaned regularly and really enjoyed the stay.

Make sure you bring:

- a bike
- a wet suit
- tennis racquets
- outdoor stuff

The guys on the activities were really accomodating with you get kids and one of the wardens, Mark, was particularly helpful and hospitable.

Great site. Great week. Thanks. :)

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Sanjesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Public Relations Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for such an excellent review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed both of your visits to us this month and hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Great time had at the Park. We camped for 4 nights. Facilities on the park were great there’s a small shop that sold everything! The old sawmill served great food. The activities on site were great & there is plenty to do, some of the activities like high ropes, kayaking, zorbing are all extra cost, but there’s lots of free activities like the parks, the pools, the low ropes. Park is clean & tidy & staff were very helpful & friendly. There are plenty of toilets on site too. Lots of other activities on site weekly too; like birds of prey & laser clay pigeon shooting, silent disco (all at an extra cost) One downer was the shower & sinks block at times - people’s hair everywhere & toilet paper thrown (not down to staff just users of the site). We would definitely return.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Splatt15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Public Relations Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Good afternoon,

Many thanks for taking time out to review the park. I'm extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of the activities on site!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes,

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

We spent a Sunday here and chose the carvery option. It is the most expensive country park we have been to but we found plenty to do. You should bring a wetsuit and wet shoes so that you can get involved with the water based activities. We didn’t and missed out. My kids loved the low ropes and play areas. We didn’t do any of the paid for activities. We would consider returning and maybe camping.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank sosamdahelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Public Relations Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your recent review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We recommend taking advantage of our free day return visit within 7 days. This gives visitors another opportunity to enjoy the park all over again and at no extra cost. Thats twice the amount of fun to be had!

We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Dart Country Park also viewed

Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to River Dart Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing