We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Agaric Restaurant with Rooms - CLOSED

Agaric Restaurant with Rooms
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Agaric Restaurant is almost entirely to blame for Ashburton���s recent transformation from quiet Devon town to foodie mecca. With local food champion Nick Coiley at the helm, this unassuming, quirky little place combines B B, restaurant and cookery school with simply stunning results. Yes, the d��cor is lovely but we can���t believe that you���ll be checking out wallpaper or judging tablecloths when the smells emanating from the kitchen hit you. With pretension and over-styling thrown out of the window Coiley prepares mouthwatering menus using incredible local produce, from wild mushrooms to live crabs, and he does it all from scratch every single day. The results are enough to have critics and fellow chefs calling this place food heaven and we���d be fools to disagree.
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Lovely food, quaint location, opened early so we could get our son to bed. Got a little noisy when a party of 3 women came in and started to giggle the tables are quite close together.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Enajyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Wonderful half century treat”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Close friends took us out to dinner to this great place. I have been meaning to go ever since it opened and am glad I finally made it.
Fish, meat and veggie dishes all beautifully prepared and presented. Our puddings and the final fudge with coffees were all superb.
The pacing of the meal was just right. No longeurs between courses but each interval was just right. Pleasant, attentive wait team, with again just the right amount of attentiveness with none of that annoying " are you alright there" every 5 minutes.
Pleasant atmosphere with no music just the pleasant hum of people chatting and enjoying themselves.
Thoroughly enjoyed my treat and would go again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwordMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a superb lunch! All of our party were delighted with the delicious starters and mains , coconut, almond and lime soufflé pudding with cardamon ice-cream the best dessert my wife had eaten.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank secret_agent_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
263 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Fish soup and scallops as starters. Followed by salmon encroute and shin of beef with start anise. Asked if my Mother could have small portions as she is overwhelmed by large plates. She ate the lot. Not bad at 79. Love the carafes of house wine which mean can have some red and white and not feel greedy. The olive oil with the truly yummy bread was a delight. Deep flavour with natural hint of lemon. Plump scallops, divine shin of beef and grist veggies too. Thank you for a great night. £95 for 2 inc service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cultureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Superb food and attentive service; thankfully, the waiting staff had not been instructed to say "enjoy". Everything about this restaurant is right: décor, service , atmosphere and food.
The menu covers a wide range of tastes and uses seasonal local ingredients. I have found
you can judge the quality of the wine list by the house wines, which were thoughtfully chosen.
A memorable evening was spent at this fine restaurant. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rodney f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agaric Restaurant with Rooms also viewed

Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing