We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorish

Moorish
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chilled atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Great service, great food a bit cold room temp in the winter but really like going there for a meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haribed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    59
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a special and relaxed experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have been visiting Moorish over the last 10 years and have never failed to find it anything other than a relaxed and enjoyable experience whilst the food is reliably good. What is particularly good is that you can be sure of the menu being authentic Spanish tapas (with Morrocan flavours) and not like restaurants who serve up a not so authentic version, for instance, Dartington 'White Hart' who are now offering British tapas in a corporate way and in a corporate environment!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loversofgoodfood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Excellent café/restaurant in Ashburton. Have visited this place twice now and enjoyed good food on both occasions. Good North African type cuisine, well cooked. The service whilst I was there was excellent. Tables are not too close together so you're not listening to other people's conversations. Price not too bad. I'd go again when I visit the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gringo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Coffee at Moorish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Nice atmosphere to meet up for a chat or even mini-meeting. Good quick service, but by no means the best coffee in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gehdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok but won't return in a hurry! :0(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We decided to pop down to Moorish for dinner as we have been meaning to for some time. The young staff were very friendly and welcoming, the atmosphere was ambient and the place noticeably clean and well cared for. Being vegetarian I found the menu limited but went for the pancakes. They came pretty quickly which was great as I was really hungry. Unfortunately my meal was really small in contrast to the cost and the fact that it was a main! It was well cooked though and had a lovely warmth due to the spices - I asked for a wedge of lemon to bring the flavour right up but it was good - there just wasn't enough of it and I felt only half full afterwards. Despite being local we will continue our search elsewhere to find a great restaurant we can return to again and again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moorish also viewed

Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Moorish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing