We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treasure”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Delabole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Real Treasure”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights - 30 June/01 July - on a Groupon deal. From the moment Carol booked us in, we were made to feel very relaxed and welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and she took time to tell us about the hotel's history, which we found very interesting.

Our room was adequate in size for our stay - plenty of storage made up for some lack of floor area (for bags etc) - and was pleasantly decorated. Yes, there are things which could be made better (a wonky toilet brush holder, a toilet seat which wouldn't stay up, some corners which could do with redecorating), but in no way do these things detract from the warmth and comfort of the hotel as a whole. A good sized en-suite and a beautifully powerful shower added to the comfort.

The gardens are beautifully kept and we were able to sit outside and enjoy the peaceful surroundings.

The meal we had on the first night (part of the deal) was excellent - very generous proportions well cooked and presented with choices to suit most tastes. We enjoyed it so much that we also had a meal on the second evening - considering the quality and quantity it was very reasonably priced. Likewise the breakfast was everything you could want.

All in all, a very well run hotel which we would have no hesitation in recommending, run extremely well by the lovely Carol & Keith who made our stay very special. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Room 11 is on a slight slant - part of its 'rustic charm' but a little disconcerting to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    101
    30
    12
    11
See reviews for
71
210
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saltash
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were given a gift of a Groupon voucher for a two night stay - It was OK but it could do with a bit of TLC to make it really nice. Nicely decorated bedroom, clean with a comfortable bed. Lovely views of the countryside. I thought the tarriff was a bit pricey but as we weren't paying ........ No bath and the shower was like a submariners escape device - a bit of a squeeze even for a slim jim! Most of their business is weekend weddings and I think that is where they make the biggest effort.

Room Tip: ask if the room has a bath or a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredandchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were treated to a 2 night B&B stay here with a groupon voucher, Carol & Keith are very welcoming the hotel is very comfortable and the food good, we stayed for an evening meal and enjoyed very generous size meals, there is a good selection for breakfast again of good quality.
Our room was one of the smaller ones but still with a comfy bed and good large towels in the bathroom which was quite compact, hooks on the back of the bathroom door would have been good as nowhere big enough to hang two towels.
I agree with other reviews that maybe a spruce up would be good but don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: room 9 on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed at Lavender House for two nights with a Groupon voucher what a lovely place to stay, we stayed in the little cottage at the end of the garden and wow what a garden. This would be an excellent place for a wedding where every little detail is catered for, the owners keith and carol are really lovely people as the many letters of thanks in reception show. The food is amazing such good value for money and loads to choose from and the breakfast was something else, yes the rooms could do with a little makeover but were comfortable and well equipped, we would definitely go back all in all excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moomag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed two nights using the GroupOn deal. Excellent choice. Quiet location with views across the hills to the moors. Very friendly hosts. Excellent food - both for evening meal and breakfast. Rooms clean and functional and bed soft (maybe a bit too soft). Good garden to sit in if it's sunny. Free guest WiFi worked well, which isn't something that always happens in more expensive hotels. Ashburton - an honest working Devon town - a stiff walk away around a hill or a short drive. Main A38 close by giving good access to much of Devon, and the National Park is only 5 mins drive away to the north. Good value and worth a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Stilwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We enjoyed our brief stay here in November last year. The rooms were of a good size, and we found it to be very comfortable. The restaurant served good honest food. We did note that the rooms did need a slight lick of paint to improve, but besides that we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed for 2 nights bed & breakfast with Groupon deal. Had to rearrange dates as I was unwell. Carol informed me no rooms available in the hotel but the small cottage in the garden grounds was available. It was lovely to be separate, felt like a little holiday home. Very clean, staff really friendly. The breakfast was of an exceptional standard. We had the full English & didn't have to eat till 5pm that evening. Carol & Keith was great at giving local information. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurabcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
9.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,241 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House Hotel

Property: Lavender House Hotel
Address: Knowle Hill, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartmoor Short Breaks & Wedding Venues in Devon. Set in three acres, the lavender House Hotel enjoys panoramic views of the picturesque Dartmoor National Park set in the heart of Devon, and is just one mile from the popular stannary town of Ashburton. Lavender House is licensed for Civil Ceremonies both in the Garden Gazebo or within the Hotel. Being set alone makes it an ideal venue for all kinds of parties and functions. Lavender House benefits from having ample parking facilities and its peaceful, yet accessible position. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender House Hotel Dartmoor National Park/Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing