We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non resident nonsense”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Non resident nonsense”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A far from warm welcome when we asked if we could have a coffee we were told 'no' as we weren't resident. Didn't bother to ask if we could speak to the manager to show us around as we were considering a large wedding reception the following summer- simply crossed them off our list and quickly left never to bother returning again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank weddingchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    98
    30
    12
    11
See reviews for
71
207
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband on a 'deal', which it appears most people were on. The room we had was comfortable and had all we needed. Food was enjoyed and could not fault the portions, especially at breakfast. Staff work hard and along with the owner are friendly, down to earth and always cheerful. Hotels caters for a lot of weddings and the grounds at the rear are lovely. Hotel is tired in places but we would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 days on a Mighty Deals voucher. I have to agree with previous reviewers that comment on the lack of cleanliness, particularly in the shower area. We had the downstairs twin room that looked on to the car park and the room was generally in need of a pick up. Perhaps the most disappointing thing was the meal that came as part of the deal. Quantity it had, but quality was missing. Very bland and no sign of any herbs or spices used in the savory dishes. Breakfast was OK but only tinned prunes and satsumas for fruit and no croissants or pastries. At the deal price it was fine, but I would never pay the full price here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelling30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights B & B, with evening meal - bought with a groupon. I have only good things to say about the hotel; it was lovely, very comfortable and Keith, Carol and Andrew and everyone else being very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner, and served very promptly. The setting is beautiful with fantastic views and there is plenty to do round and about; it's an easy drive to Paignton, Torquay, etc. with lots of sight-seeing opportunity and walking country. I will definitely be staying here again but will do a full week next time in order to be able to see and do a lot more.

Room Tip: I'm not sure what side my room was on but it had a fabulous view of the garden and beyond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We travelled on 20th of August, and stayed for 2 nights. Carol, Keith and Andrew are very courteous. We had three kids, twins of 2 yrs old, and the hosts were very accommodating and very supportive. A lovely lady Louise serves amazing breakfast and is always smiling and cheery. We stayed in the cottage and it was very comfy. It caters to all what you need. The gardens are lovely with kids play area. It was hot at night, so they had a fan for us. Its a great location, with 20 mins drive to Torquay and 40mins to Woolacombe beaches. We went to Porthucunro beach travelling for 2 hours but was totally worth it.

Would definitely come again and stay for longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HasanGilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed here on a KGB deal, the hotel on the outside looked pretty but very faded, tired and cracked on the inside. The receptionist was lovely and showed us to our room which overlooked the garden - which would have been great to sit in, but it was 'out of season' - in June?!

The room was very hot so I admit that I stripped off straight away (5 hour car journey in Summer? No thanks) and lay down on the soft bed...and then a member of staff barged in, luckily I had enough time to roll off the bed (very painfully). No apology. just walked back out again!

Breakfast was big but I only had toast so I can't say if it was nice or not - but I assume so!

The setting is out of the way, but lovely. A nice walk into town is a bit hard as there's no path to town, just a road - but for a basic weekend away, this is an alright base.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights B & B bought on a kgb voucher. As this only cost £59 for the two of us it was a real bargain. The hotel has beautiful gardens & the room was fine. When booking I had been told that as it was our 35th wedding anniversary we would be upgraded but I'm not sure from what as we had what appeared to be a normal room. The bed was huge & very comfy. The air con didn't work & it was one of the hottest weekends of the year so that was a bit of a downer. The owner didn't seem very keen on investigating why it wasn't working & in the end my husband told him not to bother. There was a good tv with an excellent picture. The bathroom was a decent size but the shower left a little to be desired in the cleanliness factor. there being some ingrained dirt in the grouting & surrounds. However, the hotel excelled in the breakfast stakes. Freshly cooked & far too much really. I had a full English the first day & struggled to finish it so had muffin with scrambled egg & smoked salmon the next day thinking this would be lighter. Not so! A huge plateful of delicious eggs - far too much & I've got a big appetite. We could have had a 3 course dinner for £30 for two & the menu looked lovely. In fact I wished we had taken up this offer as the meal we had a a local pub was mediocre & cost £20 for 1 course. All in all an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage in the grounds as it has its own terrace. As the hotel is in the countryside noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
17.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
4.5 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House Hotel

Property: Lavender House Hotel
Address: Knowle Hill, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartmoor Short Breaks & Wedding Venues in Devon. Set in three acres, the lavender House Hotel enjoys panoramic views of the picturesque Dartmoor National Park set in the heart of Devon, and is just one mile from the popular stannary town of Ashburton. Lavender House is licensed for Civil Ceremonies both in the Garden Gazebo or within the Hotel. Being set alone makes it an ideal venue for all kinds of parties and functions. Lavender House benefits from having ample parking facilities and its peaceful, yet accessible position. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender House Hotel Dartmoor National Park/Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing