We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lavender House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Rising Sun(Ashburton)
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa(Ilsington)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gages Mill(Ashburton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
240
109
31
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
109
31
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealshort breaksummer housebed was very comfortablecream teaboth morningsnight breakexcellent value for moneyopen fireevening mealwedding venuecomplimentary toiletriesbar areastayed here for nightsa wonderful stayexcellent hostsquiet location
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for two nights at the hotel and wish it had been for longer!
It was an ideal location for exploring the area and a great base to come back to.
We started our stay with a brilliant three course meal and the food was excellant with a good variety to choose from. Breakfast set us up for the day and was very tasty.
The hotel had a lovely atmosphere and the toy bears and cats made it very homely!
A fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room 3?was a lovely size and was very comfortable. The only thing we noticed was some of the wallpaper was peeling off and the furniture was a little worn but that did not distract us from a lovely break and we intend to book again!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Everything perfect ,great value for money ,friendly accommodating hosts,comfy homely feel ,food fantastic large choice on menu cooked to perfection,lovely quiet location but close to drive to Torquay etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_15560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here on a 2 night break last week and iI would thorougly recommend this place. Firstly its an ideal location for touring around Devon. Secondly the owners are so friendly and accomodating. We had breakfast on both mornings and I can honestly say its one of the best breakfasts i have EVER had in any hotel. the cooked breakfast was how it should be- freshly cooked and not greasy. It really set us up well for the day. We had an evening meal on the first night and again the food was really good.
The lounge has a beautiful log fire and it is so welcoming.
I would have NO hesitation in recommending this hotel1

Room Tip: Ideal location for touring Devon
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Well this place is just lovely. Having read all the other reviews before going, it did seem too good to be true, but the Hospitality of Keith and his family is just excellent, they do make you feel so at home and relaxed. Our room,(No.11) was just right. a really powerful shower, and tea and coffee making facilities.also they have the power point for us Ladies that use a hairdryer, right by the mirror, and not 100yds away, so you do not have to quess that you,re styling it right.!! We ate in their restaurant as this was part of our deal, wow, what service and what good food. and the ambience of the restaurant is just lovely. We cannot praise this Hotel enough, it ticks all the boxes that We require when staying for short break. ie. Good Food. A warm friendly Welcome,and a Comfy bed.! Oh as some=one else mentioned, to sit in the lovely leather sofa,s by the fire with a cup of coffee, makes you not want to go up.to your bed.!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaWaterlooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at Lavender House recently on a two night special offer,and from the moment you walk in and get greeted you feel at home.The owner Keith and son Andrew are the perfect hosts.The lovely open fire place with logs burning and the lovely comfy leather sofa's make you feel like to don't want to get out.Rooms are comfy and clean with Egyptian cotton towels.The food is very good and the Breakfast in particular.Situated in a beautiful part of the Devonshire countryside,well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews