We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I found a fantastic deal for this hotel and thought it must be too good to be true but how wrong was I ? It was fantastic. Clean welcoming and we were so well looked after, the breakfast was lovely and the evening meal was wonderful I would recomend this hotel to anyone we had a lovely room with a view. My husband and I were the only guests there on our last night we had the whole diningroom to ourselves and the owners lit candles all around the returaunt for us how romantic. We then sat in front of a wonderful open log fire for our after dinner drinks what more could you ask for !

Room Tip: We had a wonderful room but did not see the others I can only say they are probably all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank princesswoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We celebrated our son and daughter-in-laws wedding at the Lavender House. I could not tell you how wonderful the entire weekend was. Keith went out of his way for months prior to the wedding to make sure, the bride and groom got everything they wanted.
The rooms were extremely comfortable and cleanliness was impeccable.
The food was amazing especially the wedding 'breakfast' Every single guest commented on the quality and amount of food we were served.
It was very reasonably priced which had me worrying for a while before the wedding, as I thought the food and service would be reflected in the price. How wrong I was.......

Room Tip: We booked the whole hotel out. All the rooms we lovely, cosy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A warm welcome on a cold wet night on Dartmoor. Clean comfortable room and once again warm. Later we were wafted into a beautiful dining room and served an excellent meal. It was so romantic we thought time had stood still but then realised the grandfather clock had stopped!! A fantastic 2day break with such wonderful hosts and local knowledge. We can't wait to go again which is a definate plan as still so much to see and do.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizziemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Lavender House, especially the roaring fire kept going by mine host. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and although the wardrobe's knobs hadn't been fitted, this didn't cause any problem at all. Our evening meal was good and breakfast substantial. The owners go out of their way to welcome guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for two nights at the hotel and wish it had been for longer!
It was an ideal location for exploring the area and a great base to come back to.
We started our stay with a brilliant three course meal and the food was excellant with a good variety to choose from. Breakfast set us up for the day and was very tasty.
The hotel had a lovely atmosphere and the toy bears and cats made it very homely!
A fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room 3?was a lovely size and was very comfortable. The only thing we noticed was some of the wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Everything perfect ,great value for money ,friendly accommodating hosts,comfy homely feel ,food fantastic large choice on menu cooked to perfection,lovely quiet location but close to drive to Torquay etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_15560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here on a 2 night break last week and iI would thorougly recommend this place. Firstly its an ideal location for touring around Devon. Secondly the owners are so friendly and accomodating. We had breakfast on both mornings and I can honestly say its one of the best breakfasts i have EVER had in any hotel. the cooked breakfast was how it should be- freshly cooked and not greasy. It really set us up well for the day. We had an evening meal on the first night and again the food was really good.
The lounge has a beautiful log fire and it is so welcoming.
I would have NO hesitation in recommending this hotel1

Room Tip: Ideal location for touring Devon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
511 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
9.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,386 reviews
20.5 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House Hotel

Address: Knowle Hill, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: £29 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartmoor Short Breaks & Wedding Venues in Devon. Set in three acres, the lavender House Hotel enjoys panoramic views of the picturesque Dartmoor National Park set in the heart of Devon, and is just one mile from the popular stannary town of Ashburton. Lavender House is licensed for Civil Ceremonies both in the Garden Gazebo or within the Hotel. Being set alone makes it an ideal venue for all kinds of parties and functions. Lavender House benefits from having ample parking facilities and its peaceful, yet accessible position. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender House Hotel Dartmoor National Park/Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing