We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our perfect wedding day”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I and my husband got married here on the 8th May 2014 after a years planning. Everything went perfectly, and the whole day was magical! Carol and Keith made sure everything ran as planned, and went well out of their way to ensure the day was better than we could have ever imagined. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food is absolutely amazing. All of our family stayed here for 2 nights, and everyone made us feel completely at home. We are forever grateful to both Carol and Keith for their wonderful hospitality and making our day (as the guests have since said to us) the "best wedding they have ever been to". We would certainly recommend this wonderful hotel for a short stay or longer break, and highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a wedding that surpasses all of your expectations. Perfection, and we look forward to staying again as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Every room is different (décor and layout) but the Lavender Suite is so beautiful, and overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh-ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

my wife and i have just stayed at hotel for two nights the owners treat you like family they can not do enough for you nothing is to much trouble, what a chef his cooking and selection are better than many of these posh eateries, what good portions. will go back as soon as we can.it is what we would call THE DOGS BOL- -CKS 1ST CLASS THANKS.
pete & margaret hill

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Welcomed to the hotel by Carol the owner and shown to our room. nice light airy room with tea making facilities. Had a very pleasant evening meal on our first night and a drink in the lovely bar. Breakfast was really good a little too much for me!! Beautiful ground and gardens obviously great for Weddings which is their speciality. Would definitely like to go again sometime.

Room Tip: Have a variety of Double and two twin rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swmyoungson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This two night break surpassed all our expectations,Carol, Keith and all the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food was to an excellent standard with plenty of choice and although the groupon voucher clearly states only one evening meal is included in the price we chose to pay to eat the second night as well. Our room was comfortable and we could not fault anything about our stay.Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Another fantastic stay was had by my Wife and I in May. Faultless from start to finish, and the food is superb and plentiful. The quality, standards and value for money are beyond the highest recommendation. They happily worked around us and accommodated our every wish, really looking forward to sharing this wonderful and homely hotel with my parents soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

On arrival, the Lavender Suite with terrace and lovely views over the garden seemed idyllic and we were really pleased. Sadly , things went a bit downhill for the rest of our stay. We booked 2 nights half board with Andrew with an upgrade for the Lavender Suite at what we thought was a fair price. The whole place is very 'laid back' - fine so long everything is clear. Breakfast was very good - something for everyone and Keith tries hard to accommodate which is appreciated.
Dinner was very bland and stodgy. Not enjoyable at all.
Some confusion on the second evening when we were not expected for dinner. After waiting whilst Keith showed a potential wedding couple around , Carol said she would happily arrange dinner for us, but we had not mentioned it that morning.
On departure, Carol had added on the cost of this dinner and said we had only 1 dinner included. This was a bit embarrassing but she agreed to waiver the charge as there was some confusion. She was very obviously not happy. On our return, I found my original booking notes and the email I had sent (no reply) asking for a confirmation of our booking.
Also, sadly on a lovely evening on day 2 we found the gardens were closed due to work being carried out.
Fine for a cheap 2 night break in lovely setting with Groupon - but if booking direct do check the facts.

Room Tip: Recommend the Lavender Suite overlooking the rear garden and moor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UkYoungretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyeaarley, Owner at Lavender House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Your comments have been noted, our response is such:- to say you had no reply to your email on booking is an untruth, the hotel computer would not recognise your email address and I sent one via my personal email to which you replied that you were having more and more trouble with aol. Upon booking you asked for the same 'deal' as seen on Groupon, ie. the two nights B&B with dinner on one night, you considered the price 'reasonable' and therefore asked for the upgrade. On confirming your booking it was with the intent that it was the same 'deal' as the groupon offer but with upgrade therefore being one night dinner.
Yes there was confusion, we did not expect you for dinner on the second night, obviously, I'm surprised you did not comment then that you thought we should have. The reviews for our food have always been good, I am disappointed you found the food 'bland', I agree you did not find the menu to your personal taste and asked for alternatives as you are a very 'plain and light eater'. With your comments noted and considering your personal dis-satisfaction we will not be expecting you to return.
Your comment on the gardens not being open is baffling, all other residents at the time of your stay found their way into the gardens through the hotel exits and indeed were having drinks etc on the terrace. The notice on the carpark gates stating that the gardens are closed is for the general public, not residents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

we had a red carpet welcome, Carol and Keith Early gave us a lovely experience .Kate and I normally book minimum 4 star. Lavender house is as good as it sounds
Andrew the son cooks a great breakfast. their main business being weddings at weekends such a memorable location.
evening meals are good however we tend to eat lunchtimes bit of a weight problem. the hotel recommends an exceptional Indian restaurant some two miles into the country worth a visit or delivery

Room Tip: A self contained flat in the lovely grounds of the garden may suite people who wish to be on their o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
524 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,439 reviews
7.4 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Prince Hall Country House
Prince Hall Country House
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
327 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,165 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House Hotel

Address: Knowle Hill, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: £29 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartmoor Short Breaks & Wedding Venues in Devon. Set in three acres, the lavender House Hotel enjoys panoramic views of the picturesque Dartmoor National Park set in the heart of Devon, and is just one mile from the popular stannary town of Ashburton. Lavender House is licensed for Civil Ceremonies both in the Garden Gazebo or within the Hotel. Being set alone makes it an ideal venue for all kinds of parties and functions. Lavender House benefits from having ample parking facilities and its peaceful, yet accessible position. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender House Hotel Dartmoor National Park/Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing