We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant break!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant break!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our second visit to Lavender House within a 6 month period. Once again a very warm welcome, clean comfortable rooms, beautiful gardens, a friendly bar plus excellent food! Yes we will be returning for another mini break in the very near future!!!

Room Tip: The family room is well proportioned and overlooks the beautiful gardens and rural Devon beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    101
    30
    12
    11
See reviews for
71
210
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had a long weekend break with my partner here and it was just sublime.
Carol and Keith couldn't do enough to make us welcome and ensure we enjoyed our stay.
The food was top class and the setting just right.
Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miweb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I and my husband got married here on the 8th May 2014 after a years planning. Everything went perfectly, and the whole day was magical! Carol and Keith made sure everything ran as planned, and went well out of their way to ensure the day was better than we could have ever imagined. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food is absolutely amazing. All of our family stayed here for 2 nights, and everyone made us feel completely at home. We are forever grateful to both Carol and Keith for their wonderful hospitality and making our day (as the guests have since said to us) the "best wedding they have ever been to". We would certainly recommend this wonderful hotel for a short stay or longer break, and highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a wedding that surpasses all of your expectations. Perfection, and we look forward to staying again as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Every room is different (décor and layout) but the Lavender Suite is so beautiful, and overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh-ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calne wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

my wife and i have just stayed at hotel for two nights the owners treat you like family they can not do enough for you nothing is to much trouble, what a chef his cooking and selection are better than many of these posh eateries, what good portions. will go back as soon as we can.it is what we would call THE DOGS BOL- -CKS 1ST CLASS THANKS.
pete & margaret hill

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Welcomed to the hotel by Carol the owner and shown to our room. nice light airy room with tea making facilities. Had a very pleasant evening meal on our first night and a drink in the lovely bar. Breakfast was really good a little too much for me!! Beautiful ground and gardens obviously great for Weddings which is their speciality. Would definitely like to go again sometime.

Room Tip: Have a variety of Double and two twin rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swmyoungson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This two night break surpassed all our expectations,Carol, Keith and all the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food was to an excellent standard with plenty of choice and although the groupon voucher clearly states only one evening meal is included in the price we chose to pay to eat the second night as well. Our room was comfortable and we could not fault anything about our stay.Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Another fantastic stay was had by my Wife and I in May. Faultless from start to finish, and the food is superb and plentiful. The quality, standards and value for money are beyond the highest recommendation. They happily worked around us and accommodated our every wish, really looking forward to sharing this wonderful and homely hotel with my parents soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
9.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,235 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House Hotel

Property: Lavender House Hotel
Address: Knowle Hill, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartmoor Short Breaks & Wedding Venues in Devon. Set in three acres, the lavender House Hotel enjoys panoramic views of the picturesque Dartmoor National Park set in the heart of Devon, and is just one mile from the popular stannary town of Ashburton. Lavender House is licensed for Civil Ceremonies both in the Garden Gazebo or within the Hotel. Being set alone makes it an ideal venue for all kinds of parties and functions. Lavender House benefits from having ample parking facilities and its peaceful, yet accessible position. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender House Hotel Dartmoor National Park/Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing