We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and wine”
Review of Rock Inn

Rock Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Bovey Tracey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$187
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
L etang la ville
1 review
“Nice food and wine”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner, the chef is talented, fish is fresh. Ambiance is nice also.
Only problem : the bill.
Two mistakes that could (should ?) have been avoided.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Romain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    35
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here on route to a wedding.lovely food, homemade desserts and beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended and will definitely return if in the area again.thankyou

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charliebond07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expensive and no longer really a pub”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We've been here a handful of times over the course of 20 years or so, and stayed the night a few years ago. It continues to evolve away from being a pub.
We had Sunday lunch here outside on the lawn. £13.95 for a small plate. Very tender beef, and a reasonable portion of that, but it lacked real flavour, and the rest of the meal was dull and uninteresting. It's rare we feel hungry after a Sunday lunch but it happened here. I don't mind paying for quality, but this wasn't good enough to justify the price.
The bar is exclusively laid out for eating - I'd hate to have this as my local watering hole - it seems designed to discourage the drinker and there are no other pubs in Haytor Vale.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hand2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your review and I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your Sunday luncheon. We feel that the locally sourced Sirloin of Beef is excellent quality and an adequate portion for the price but if you felt otherwise our chef’s would have been more than happy to give you additional beef and extra vegetables. With regards to the ‘pub’ aspect of our Inn – we never actively discourage drinkers here and have a great range of drinks at the bar and many comfortable areas where they can be enjoyed. With that said we cannot deny that the food is the main draw for guests to our Inn. Unfortunately the small hamlet of Haytor Vale would not be sufficient to support our operation and the staff we employ as a mainly drinking pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautifully steadfast”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A truly wonderful Sunday lunch on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, in a place you would never find unless you were told it was there. Their strap line is "steadfastly traditional" and they provide exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tekels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuerteventura
Level Contributor
842 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“Not very good value – small portions for the price but nice place with nice beer garden”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stopped for a snack after walking on Dartmoor. The weather was great and we were able to sit out in the nice beer garden. The real ale, the Jail Ale and the Dartmoor IPA, was well kept and good. The atmosphere inside hinted at a reasonably expensive restaurant. The service was very good, however we had ordered first courses as snacks and the food and the portion sizes were a bit disappointing. The crab bisque was not outstanding – it seemed to lack something important. The portion of smoked salmon was very meagre, as was the salad garnish that accompanied was very meagre. The bread that accompanied the crab bisque and the smoked salmon was OK but gain it was a bit meagre.

My advice would be to have a drink in the nice garden but if you just want a substantial snack eat somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Inn also viewed

Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing