We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flavourless food at a high price”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock Inn

Rock Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Bovey Tracey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$187
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Herts
Level Contributor
311 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Flavourless food at a high price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

In two visits, I have yet to have interesting and tasty food. Today the chicken risotto had very little flavour, salads lacked dressings and the service order wasn't followed as requested. The best thing was the chips - but that's not a good thing considering the price. The place does well based on its location and intimacy, but the food lacks the interest and flavour of a genuine restaurant. Extremely poor value overall.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for review and feedback and for visiting us recently on two occasions. We are disappointed by your comments but feel that we should stress that in our opinion, whilst we do have an excellent location and a property maintained to a very high standard, it is not that alone that has kept us in business here for over 30 years. Our food draws guests in from far and wide and we are confident that the price is correct for the quality of the food we produce. We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy dining with us and we would have been more than willing to discuss this with you had you drawn our attention to it on either or both of your visits to the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    35
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
L etang la ville
1 review
“Nice food and wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner, the chef is talented, fish is fresh. Ambiance is nice also.
Only problem : the bill.
Two mistakes that could (should ?) have been avoided.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Romain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here on route to a wedding.lovely food, homemade desserts and beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended and will definitely return if in the area again.thankyou

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charliebond07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expensive and no longer really a pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We've been here a handful of times over the course of 20 years or so, and stayed the night a few years ago. It continues to evolve away from being a pub.
We had Sunday lunch here outside on the lawn. £13.95 for a small plate. Very tender beef, and a reasonable portion of that, but it lacked real flavour, and the rest of the meal was dull and uninteresting. It's rare we feel hungry after a Sunday lunch but it happened here. I don't mind paying for quality, but this wasn't good enough to justify the price.
The bar is exclusively laid out for eating - I'd hate to have this as my local watering hole - it seems designed to discourage the drinker and there are no other pubs in Haytor Vale.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hand2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockInn, Manager at Rock Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your review and I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your Sunday luncheon. We feel that the locally sourced Sirloin of Beef is excellent quality and an adequate portion for the price but if you felt otherwise our chef’s would have been more than happy to give you additional beef and extra vegetables. With regards to the ‘pub’ aspect of our Inn – we never actively discourage drinkers here and have a great range of drinks at the bar and many comfortable areas where they can be enjoyed. With that said we cannot deny that the food is the main draw for guests to our Inn. Unfortunately the small hamlet of Haytor Vale would not be sufficient to support our operation and the staff we employ as a mainly drinking pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautifully steadfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

A truly wonderful Sunday lunch on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, in a place you would never find unless you were told it was there. Their strap line is "steadfastly traditional" and they provide exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tekels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Inn also viewed

Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing