We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super local Indian!”
Review of Spice Bazaar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spice Bazaar
Ranked #15 of 20 Restaurants in Bovey Tracey
Price range: US$31 - US$72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Has 'sister' restaurant in Dartmouth, Devon.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A super local Indian!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We live locally and often eat here as the food is beautifully cooked and the service always attentive and friendly. Great sized portions that we can never quite finish!

We have had takeaways from the Spice Bazaar but find that the ghee settles on the top by the time we get home so the food is always better eaten in the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moppet_of_the_manor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    43
    30
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Attentive Service and Beautiful Food”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My friend and I went here for dinner - she had eaten there once before, it was my first time.
The seating area is small but that does give it a personal feel. Everywhere seemed very clean. There was attention paid to details, such as the way the napkins were folded, the space between each item of cutlery etc.
The food was stunning - flavours were balanced, meat just fell apart etc. We didn't have to wait between courses but also weren't rushed from one to the next.
The staff were really attentive, balancing the amount of time spent talking to us and knowing when to leave us to our conversation!
I would certainly return to Spice Bazaar and highly recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichelleJ590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Greasy.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We ordered a take-away from here whilst on holiday in the area, after reading the reviews on here. We were so disspointed - the food was really greasy (like an inch of grease sat on the top of the main curries), and everytging else was just a bit bland. Im not sure how the prices can be higher than most other resteraunts of this type.
We certaily wouldnt order from here again, and didnt eat much of our meal.
The staff were neither friendly or rude upon collection, just nothing. A smile wouldnt hurt :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellasMummy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good quality Indian food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very small eating area, but on our visit they seemed to be doing a roaring trade in takeaways so I suspect that's their core business. We ate quite late (8:45pm...that's late round these parts!). It was fairly quiet by then. The service was fine and the food was good. Not much else to say really.
Prices a little high, especially for the drinks and it's not often I get charged for the pickles that accompany the poppadoms. Other than that I'd have no qualms with going again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, United Kingdom
1 review
“First and Last visit!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just returned from a meal at this restaurant for a friends birthday, initially the waiters were very attentive, first drinks came quickly,
We then waited 40 mins for our popadoms, by the time they came, we ordered more drinks and gave our main course order, this then took 1.5 hours to come!
In the time we were waiting another table of six walked out as it was taking too long.
When the main meals came there were orders missing, rice hadn't arrived, some rice was cold, in some cases the waiters hadn't made aware that certain dishes came with rice and naan. Therefore some people had a lot of food!
The food it's self was fine, we'll apart from the 2 black hairs the birthday girl found in her rice! . . . . . . Tasty!! (Of which when pointed out was no apology)
I won't be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomeOldGaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Bazaar also viewed

Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Spice Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing