We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous F&C!”
Review of Bovey Fish Bar

Bovey Fish Bar
Ranked #20 of 20 Restaurants in Bovey Tracey
Cuisines: British
Description: http://www.thomsonlocal.com/Bovey+Fish+Bar/0025674111606485400/companyinfo.html
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.thomsonlocal.com/Bovey+Fish+Bar/0025674111606485400/companyinfo.html
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous F&C!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have used this establishment for take aways on a number of occasions throughout 2013 and the food is always very good. In fact I would go as far to say that the fish and chips are amongst the best I have ever had from a fish and chip take away.

I've had the plaice, cod and haddock, all very good and I will definitely be using again in 2014.

Maybe a little on the pricey side but the quality of the food along with homemade tartar sauce means I consider it worth paying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank From-Bovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    8
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A fair price to pay for small portion meal.when got home the box it was served in was soaked in fat and meal was saturated in fat/grease .total waste as went straight in bin

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hgv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“...a painful decision...”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It pains me to write this review after my glowing report of March 2012, but I have fallen out of love with the Bovey Fish Bar. We visit Bovey 6 to 8 times a year and always look forward to our weekly fish and chips. What a disappointment this time. Whilst the quality was well up to standard and the service excellent, the portion size left a lot to be desired. I ordered a 2x "large haddock" - there was only one size available so why describe it as large - and a small portion of chips. A year ago the fish almost filled the cardboard box, so much so that the chips were served in a separate container and the cost was around 11 pounds, which was good value. This time the fish was so small that the chips, divided between the two cartons were scattered around it and the cost....... a whopping £14.60! Certainly the most expensive fish and chips we have ever bought. We were were in Brixham a day or two later and fish and chips there (straight off the boat?) averaged under £6. Why so expensive in Bovey? We would still love to support this local busines as it has seen such an improvement since being taken over by the new owners and the quality and service is more than very good, but at these prices for the quantity we would have to think twice in future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yardbird8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome Pizza and fantastic Service from Mandy”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just what was needed after a long working week and a treat for my Husband. We both had pizzas which were very authentic and tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“expensive and measly portions”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

the food although to an ok standard was far too expensive especially for the little amount that you recieve a small portion of chips was not worth the price and the curry sauce tasted gone off however the service was very good with the young girl that works there being extremely polite even though the shop had a lot of customers and the older women worker looked to just be talking to the customers and wasnt even behind the counter attempting to helping the poor girl rushed off her feet with the busy shop, how unprofessional! i will not be going there again as you have to take out a bank loan just to feed the family at this place there are definately better places for your money in bovey if i was to return it would only be down to the lovely young staff they had working and not the over priced food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank howcurious20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bovey Fish Bar also viewed

Newton Abbot, Devon
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Bovey Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing