We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had business in the area and decided to stay at an independent hotel. I had the pleasure of the company of my Aunt and Uncle who were visiting an old friend in Bovey.
From the minute we arrived to the departure we were given a 5 * experience, the hotel was spotless. my room 14 was lovely with a view of the gardens, my Aunties room was also perfect all individual boutique style, plenty of tea coffee Horlicks biscuits and a choice of teas. We had dinner in the restaurant which again was excellent.
I had a cooked breakfast all local produce very tasty. All in all perfect, cant wait to return. Thanks to all, thanks Stuart for showing me around the rooms for when I bring my dogs to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehousekeeper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello

Thank you for your kind words following your stay here with your Aunt. We pride ourselves in our rooms individual characters and I am pleased they were to your liking. I have passed your thanks on to Stuart and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the future with your dogs

Kind Regards


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    84
    30
    16
    8
See reviews for
101
177
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of using The Edgemoor Hotel again in May sadly only for one night but even so everyone made us really welcome, we always feel like we're going home. Everything is always perfect food, staff, rooms & location thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanuke_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Garry

Lovely to see you again and always a pleasure to have you stay here with us. Hope to see you and Ange soon

Best Wishes


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the Edgemoor for a wedding yesterday. The setting was absolutely beautiful, the food was yummy and the staff were absolutely fantastic. We've visited a few good and bad hotels in the past but none have had such professional staff as the Edgemoor. The staff were polite, helpful and very attentive and what was even more lovely to see is that they respected each other. (We've all been to hotels where you see the staff being rude to each other which is a definite turn off!)

We had a lovely time and will definitely visit in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello

Thank you for your kind review following your stay here with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words towards our staff. We are very proud of our team and constantly have lovely comments on them. As always our reviews are placed on our staff notice board.

Kind regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business, though as a keen cyclist I was sure to take my bike with me as the surrounding area is a cyclists dream (the hotel sits along site a climb from the cyclists bible "100 greatest cycling climbs")
My room was lovely as was the rest of the hotel. The restaurant was also beautiful and my meal was exceptional. I'll be staying again next time work takes me that way!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DenimGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you were able to experience our surrounding areas with your bike and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a cyclists dream around here and we are looking forward to welcoming back the Tour of Britain later this year. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We wanted somewhere Relaxing, Peaceful, & Friendly, and thats exactly what we got.To celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. We were greeted by Heather on arrival, and shown to our room no,3 it was lovely with a sofa, huge four poster bed, and looked over front gardens, we were so lucky with the weather.We made the most of it and sat outside with our drinks which Heather had kindly brought for us.We then sat in the bar for pre dinner drinks, so relaxing with candles and an open fire, dogs are allowed with guests, all well behaved. Bernard came to take our order and showed us the wine list. We sat in the resturant our meal was lovely, and Bernard looked after us. After our meal we sat back in the bar, where we met a lovely couple who were also celebrating their Wedding Anniversary it turns out they were married the same year as us but a week earlier.Heather joined us all and opened a bottle of Champagne to help us to celebrate she had also got married the same year. We all talked about happy memories and had a laugh. After a good nights sleep we had full English breakfast, it was lovely. We didnt want to leave we felt so relaxed we will definately be going back. We only travelled from Torquay so it wasnt far to go and so close to Haytor.You dont need an excuse to go, you wont be disapointed.

Room Tip: Dogs are allowed in Bar Area, and in Hotel grounds just inform them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rita158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello

Thank you for your review following your stay here for your Anniversary. I am pleased that you like your room we have recently refurbished the bedroom. Heather was pleased she could treat you to a glass of bubbles for your special occasion. We hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights, wish we could have stayed longer!!
We took our dog with us.. It is extremely dog friendly. The hotel Is so relaxing, the staff are excellent, warm & friendly. We will definitely be going back.
The location is excellent for touring dartmoor etc.. Then when you return from a long day make the most of the bar & restaurant.
For anyone travelling with dogs: you can take your dog into the bar, you can also dine there, you will be given both menus.. Bar food & the al la carte menu from the restaurant. The also have a varied wine list.
Take if from us it's a great place to visit & totally relax!!

Room Tip: When you make your booking make sure you mention you are travelling with your pet. You will get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us. We are delighted that your enjoyed your time here with us. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future and the dog too!

Kind Regards


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in Bovey Tracey last week for a funeral, and decided to stay overnight before driving back to Falmouth.

And what a gem we found! We have stayed at a few hotels on Dartmoor, but this will now be our future base. The old Grammar School has a warm and friendly atmosphere, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant, and had the home made steak and ale pie. If we had stayed on for a week, I think I would have had that every night!

Faultless!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind comments on here. We are very glad that you found us and enjoyed your stay.

We do hope you get chance to visit us again

Kind regards

Jody Miller
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
5.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,293 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
8.7 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
487 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
12.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgemoor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgemoor Country House Hotel

Property: The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Address: Haytor Road | Newton Abbot, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgemoor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Edgemoor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgemoor Country Hotel
Edgemoor Country Hotel
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing