We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would give it 6 if I could !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife booked a short break in Devon and chose this hotel out of many she could have. What a find! The hotel is set in the perfect setting if you are looking for a stress free reloading environment. The hotel owners were most friendly and welcoming, and we were helped with out luggage to our room, which is a rarity these days. The room was more than adequate with comfortable beds, tea making equipment , modern TV ( that worked! ) and a spacious ensuite with shower over the bath ( which also worked!) .there was free wifi , but we couldn't access it in the room, but was ok in the lounge so we weren't too bothered. We decided to give the restaurant a try and again the standard of the food is exceptionally high with generous helpings. The chicken and leek pie us to be thoroughly recommended . The standard of the waiting staff was very good, with attention to detail being of a very high standard. No plastic sauce bottles in sight, but served in a small dish with spoon.
We both agreed it would be difficult to find any fault whatsoever, I'm sure anyone who stays for a few days would also find the same . Simply wonderful, superb .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear Gary

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you had everything that you needed including a working TV! we pride ourselves in our staff and service and know that it really does make the difference. Chef's homemade pies are always a popular dish with many different flavors. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards


Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had dinner and an overnight stay only, but will definitely return. The owners of this family run hotel were very friendly and accommodating without being intrusive. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent and the hotel building and history fascinating. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zylopho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable and we also look forward to welcoming you back soon


Kind regards


Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay here as a stop over on the way to North Devon. We had a free upgrade and stayed in the honeymoon suite. Very traditional in decor, huge 4 poster bed and the bathroom was of a high standard.
Breakfast was good, Overall stay,good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear Ange

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We are pleased we were able to offer you a free upgrade and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we can welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have just returned home from taking a group of retired professionals on a South Devon tour stopping at Edgemoor Country House Hotel for five days. From the minute we arrived to the time we departed, Simon, Heather, Charles and ALL the staff couldn't do enough for us. The Hotel, staff, food and service were all fantastic. I would give Edgemoor Country House Hotel
20 out of 10 ! Their attention to detail, and care were incredible, even down to assisting with arranging for an additional coach when ours suffered a "malfunction". I wouldn't hesitate to return nor to recommend anybody to the Hotel. They say whenever anything looks too good to be true you shouldn't go there, how wrong that phase is in this instance. Thank you Edgemoor Country House Hotel for making our South Devon tour a huge success, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared excellent but do take care if you need a ground floor room. Despite what the webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear Caroline

Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your tour here with us. It was a delight to have your group with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future. We were pleased to be able to assist with a temporary coach for you.

Kind regards

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just enjoyed a lovely high tea here in the restaurant. Food excellent, scones, jam, cream, sandwiches, fruit cake, patisserie and Victoria sponge. Great experience up until the staff decided to start rearranging the room, moving tables and chairs quite noisily. It would have been nice to have been given the opportunity to move to the bar to finish our tea.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitsrik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your visit with us we are delighted that you enjoyed your tea and apologise that you were made to feel you were being rushed out.

Kind regards

Charles
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have given the hotel a 2 rating, 1 for the staff who are friendly and helpful and 1 for the food which arrived hot and well cooked. If I could give food half point i would due to the limited menu. We were told at the table what was not available on the menu which we accepted so after some thought i gave my order to be told that item was also not available, disappointing.

The room was the most disappointing of all especially as my wife booked the superior, room 14, for a special birthday surprise. On entry to the room the stains on the carpet are obvious and in the far left corner it has black mould. The velour headboard has thick dust on the top, the valance on the bed was dirty, the cushions and throw on the bed are faded and stained and the curtain pole has not been fitted level, In the en-suite, silicon is missing around the bath, the shower curtain rail is broken and hanging down and paint is peeling on the wall. In my opinion it looks like someone has been practising their diy but are not up to it. The whole room is in dire need of a professional makeover and does not warrant the name of superior.

I was wondering why there was very few photos of the room on the website, now i know. It is after seeing the room that you start to notice the rest of the hotel would benefit from some attention from a professional decorator.

The exterior of the hotel is obviously beautiful as is the location but this does not mirror on the inside. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MLancaster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hello Mr & Mrs Lancaster

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, and our food.

We are very proud of the team we have at The Edgemoor, and your positive comments will be shared with them.

Regarding the room, we put our hands up, and we apologise.

Maintaining a 17 bedroom Victorian building is a continual process, and the 3 items you rightly highlight were on our to do list.

With hindsight, we should have prioritised this sooner. The work will now be done within the week.

We do hope you will accept our invitation to make a return visit as our guests.

With very best regards

Simon, Heather & Charles & The Team at The Edgemoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Although this hotel was excellent on all counts except for the wedding breakfast, The food was quite bland and it is the one reason I never gave it 5 points, The staff were really good they never stopped running all day. We had a ground floor disabled room which was both comfortable and very roomy, it had a walk in shower room which was very beneficial to me. The grounds were really very good, we never got a chance to look around properly but what we saw was excellent. This hotel is a long way out of the town so make sure you have got transport and you will see some of the finest scenery in Britain

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffLeaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovey Tracey
5.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,427 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
6.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,149 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
532 reviews
21.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgemoor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgemoor Country House Hotel

Address: Haytor Road | Newton Abbot, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Price Range: £86 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgemoor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Edgemoor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgemoor Country Hotel
Edgemoor Country Hotel
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel Bovey Tracey, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing