We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Farm Cafe

Home Farm Cafe
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Bovey Tracey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: French, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Excellent down to earth Cafe / Restaurant, created by Stella West-Harling MBE, founder of Ashburton Cookery School and celebrity chef...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We returned here after a break and found that they had changed the menu, it is no longer a fixed price 2 or 3 course menu and no more white table cloths, it is now A La Carte. However, the prices are very reasonable, with Sea Bass being the most expensive option at £13.95. We had soup and Chicken Liver Parfait to start, both excellent, followed by Pork Belly and Sea Bass, again both excellent, then I had the Chocolate torte - it was delicious. Very good attentive service, total price bill for one 2 course meal one 3 course meal and drinks £50.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    69
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Proper Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a really lovely walk here today with our dog, and then stopped for some lunch. I had the Vegetarian Risotto which was delicious, my partner had the burger with wedges and salad - equally delicious. Staff were really friendly and chatty. Will definitely return!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

En route to our holiday accommodation in Dartmoor we stopped off at Home Farm Cafe for a fabulous lunch. The pasties with local beef were amazing and the vegetarian options were delicious too. Highly recommended and reasonably priced too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_Redst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch visit on 13/08/2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had booked a table for lunch but it was not on record when we arrived. The staff did arrange a table for us after a short wait but did not make us feel feel very welcome.
Two of my friends ordered the risotto which they both sent back as it was tasteless. They were offered a replacement but decided to change to jacket potatoes which were Ok. These were delivered to the table without any apology.
My goats’ cheese salad had only a little goats’ cheese, the salad was a selection of limp leaves, but the walnuts, beetroot and dressing were nice.
My other friends had the stuffed Aubergine and a Tangine which they said was nice.
Not the experience I had expected following some good reviews.
I do not think I will bother to visit this cafe again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVON
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Well worth the trip to Parke to find this hidden gem. Wonderful locally sourced food, prepared to perfection with efficient and attentive service. Ideal for lunch of a quiet evening meal. We had banked potato and the Greek Salad. The apple juice is really great as well. Highly recommended. Very reasonably priced with outside seating and also a great looking BBQ.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallyjodevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Home Farm Cafe also viewed

Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ilsington, Dartmoor National Park
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Home Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing