We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, well equiped cottage”
Review of Week Farm

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Week Farm
Ranked #2 of 4 Bridestow B&B and Inns
Chessington, Surrey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely, well equiped cottage”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A very out of the way location, but near enough to the village of Bridestowe (5 mins) away and with Okehampton 15 and Tavistock 20 mins away it is very well located.

The cottages was very well equipped and you could not wish for anything else to be provide, including the cream tea on arrival (very welcome).

There are three fishing lakes on site, which are free to use if you are staying and they have spare rods that can be used.

There is a swimming pool, but it is very small with no chairs etc. and the surrounding could possibly be made more inviting.

The hosts Margaret and John, were incredibly welcoming and nothing was an problem.

The bedrooms in the cottages are level with the road outside, so you may notice some noise from the odd passing car/tractor, it is minimal giving the farm location.

Personally I would like to have seen a lighter interior to the dark wood, but this is purely personal and did in no way detract from the lovely time we had.

For us the location was perfect and sitting out the front of the cottage having wine and tea on a summers evening was a delight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localpint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port isaac
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Having recently retired and touring from Tasmania, Week Farm was a great find. Felt at home, comfy bed, en-suite, A-1 breakfast. Margaret and John were excellent hosts and the grounds were lovely to walk around. TherewereseerL fisherman enjoying the ponds. Tis must have been good as we decided to stay an extra night!
Sally & John Banks
Kingston Beach
Tasmania

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We rented two cottages for various family members over a weekend in September 2012, when we attended a family wedding. Also some friends and family stayed in the house on a B&B basis for one night.

The owners are lovely, friendly and welcoming, and it was so sweet to have the cream tea laid out for us on the kitchen table for our arrival. The situation is good, close to Dartmoor, and also, I'm sorry to say that you can hear the A30, so if you looking for a quiet country get away in the Summer, despite there being a pool, this may not be the place for you. I have read the comments below re the beds, however I have to say I slept really well and found mine comfy. On the other hand if you are a couple the zero presence of double beds isn't brilliant (I was with my husband); of course you can shift around the furniture however it's a bit of a faff. The décor is a little twee however the cottages both have a cosy and comfortable atmosphere and we enjoyed feeling that we could relax and not worry about about every crumb that hit the floor, in particular as other family members brought small children. The cottage nearest the house does whiff a little of heating oil; that can happen sometimes in old houses heated in that way although if that sort of thing bothers you you might want to book the other cottage if you can. Having said that this cottage has an en-suite shower room in the main bedroom (albeit with a slight damp whiff - it is an old house after all, that can happen). None of the bedrooms are enormous however if you are here off season that is probably a good thing as there is less space to heat!

Our family staying in the main house had the bedroom on the ground floor nearest the barn-side. I'm sorry to say that they told me the next day that their room smelt of mould and when they showed me the double glazing it was very steamed up. They said that they didn't sleep well due to the whiff, and got up to sprinkle around lavender oil to do their best to improve things. I think the other room/s in the house may be fine, however if you are staying here in the near future (perhaps the problem will be rectified before too long?) then I recommend that you ask not to be in this room.

Why do I keep apologizing? The hosts are such kind and hospitable people, I really don't want to report any of the down sides at all, and also having benefited so much in the past myself from helpful pointers on TripAdvisor, I feel bound to at least give indications of those things as they stand to date.

We did not use the pool as we were busy with the wedding, I think at this time of year it is out of service in any event, which is fair enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey-Sparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

After a long drive from Lands End, we contacted Treveler's Information in Truro and were happy to get booked at Week Farm on the north edge of Dartmoor National Park. The host and hostess were both extremely charming and the accomodations comfortable. Not much going on around, but this is a nice place for a quiet getaway and the free WiFi, welcoming Devonshire cream tea and hearty Englsh breakfast were much appreciated additions.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

For the Aug Bank Holiday weekend(2009) while visiting Devon, we decided to choose the Week Farm Country cottages. It was absolutely brilliant. The cottage was very clean, and the bedding very fresh. The bathrooms were well kept and provided a relaxed feel!
Mrs. Hockridge is a very nice hostess, and provided all that we needed for our holidays.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravikanth_somayaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Me my fiance our 14 week old baby boy my mother and sister stayed here for 2 nights my sis stayed in the b&b and rest of us were giving a self catering apt for same price as the b&b as not too busy and more suited to our needs having younger baby .. beds very hard and uncomfortable and floors very creaky decor is dated but you would not expect anything else as is a farm location and old buildings.. breakfast was brill and very picturesque surroundings.. location is good but there is nothing near in walking distance.. owners very lovely sociable people..

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicngav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Stayed at Week Farm for 3 nights. Excellent spot for access to the moors. The accommodation was comfortable and clean and the owner was very welcoming.

Breakfast was excellent.

The heated pool was great after a day on the moors.

Have booked again for a longer stay in 2008.

  • Liked — Breakfast and the pool
  • Disliked — Distance to other restaurants
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sammylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Week Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Week Farm

Property: Week Farm
Address: Bridestow, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bridestow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bridestow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Week Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Week Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Week Farm Bridestow, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing