We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in the dartmoor”
Review of Kilbury Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilbury Manor
Ranked #2 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

such a brilliant farmhouse with lovely decorated guestrooms. very friendly and goodcooking landlords!! thank you julie & martin for the nice stay in your kilbury manor farm...the travelmous9 felt so happy in here!! thank you...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmouse9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaBlundell2013, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

When you stay in a B&B in England you expect a nice home, gentle hosts and a good breakfast. But if you come to Kilbury Manor, all your expectations will be exceeded. You feel home from the moment on Martin says "Hello, I am Martin". The rooms are tastefully equipped and decorated as if they were just designed for a magazine. You may enjoy your stay in the large garden as well. And I promise you will never forget the breakfast.
By the way: It is a good base to explore the Dartmoore National Park.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Moore" room. Your private bathroom is outside, but the room is nice, quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaBlundell2013, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Firstly, my apologies for the delay in responding to you - a combination of being busy and problems loggging on.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kilbury Manor. Thank you for your kind comments of the Moors room - it is lovely when guests appreciate our taste in internal decoration. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the gardens - we have been so lucky this year with the weather and it has been great to see our guests enjoy and relax in the gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I had read all of the previous reviews so I had high expectations before I arrived and I was certainly not disappointed. Everything everyone else has said is spot on. Beautiful garden; room very tastefully decorated with many little extra touches. Have you ever been offered bathrobes before in a B&B? Well you get them here. We stayed two nights and the breakfast each morning was also excellent with such a good choice; again, not something you would necessarily expect in a very reasonably priced B&B. I would have no hesitation in staying again.

Room Tip: If you are exceptionally tall (like my husband, 6ft 9ins) then book the stable room. Sorry, I press...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19072755juliev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We really do appreciate your comprehensive review and kind comments. We are delighted that your stay fulfilled your expectations. We have simply tried to offer the facilities (e.g. the bathrobes and quality toiletries) that we appreciate when staying in a hotel or B&B. We hope you decide to stay with us on future visits to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

For many years i have always wanted to visit the River Dart and chose Kilbury Manor as my base. I was not disappointed. Julia and Martin were the perfect hosts and made my stay even more enjoyable. My Room was spotless and the bed so comfortable to sleep in. I am very fussy with B&B/Hotel breakfast standards, and i could not fault this one. It was so nice to have the choice of 1 or 2 eggs. I look forward to staying again at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are both delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Meadow room and also managed to explore the river Dart. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Absolutely beautiful setting - the photos on the website don't do it justice. Very friendly welcome, and Julia & Martin make exceptionally helpful hosts. The room was clean and nicely decorated, and the bed comfortable with high quality linen. The breakfast exceeded expectations. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiger_by_the_tail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the accommodation we provided exceeded your expectations. We very much hope to see you again the next time you visit this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Thank you Julia & Martin for giving my parents such a pleasurable stay while they were with you. They both said they would come back again, which believe you me is no mean feat so this in itself speaks volumes about the very high standard of your absolutely lovely B&B. The hosts are welcoming, the decor is outstanding, the bathrooms are fabulous, the beds are superbly comfortable, and the food provided (including an impromptu tea party in the garden on our arrival) is worthy of special mention, making this a really excellent value place to stay.

Room Tip: The 'garden room' in particular is suitable for people with mobility problems, with no stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdeer755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your generous review and for organising the accommodation for your family. We thoroughly enjoyed having you all stay as our guests. It was so nice to be able to provide tea in the garden for you with the weather being so good. We very much hope that we see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed over a weekend for a family party. On arrival, Julia kindly offered us tea and coffee and Martin put out a garden table and chairs for us in the sunshine. This level of friendly welcome set the tone for the rest of our stay. The rooms were beautifully decorated with interesting furniture and lovely use of fabrics and wallpapers. The bathrooms were modern and both stylish and practical, just as shown on their website. I had the Moorland room that looks out over the garden/yard on one side and trees on the other so it was bright and light. Breakfast was excellent with well-cooked local produce, homemade marmalade and a nice choice of dishes. Set as it is in narrow Devon lanes, a good map or GPS is needed to find it, even with clear instructions!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMB101, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we really appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay together with your parents. Thank you for commenting on the wallpaper and decor - it's good to receive positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
2.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
532 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mitchelcroft B&B
Mitchelcroft B&B
#1 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
199 reviews
14.3 mi away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 9 in Yelverton
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dartbridge Inn
Dartbridge Inn
#6 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#7 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Furzeleigh Mill
Furzeleigh Mill
#8 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbury Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbury Manor

Address: Kilbury Manor Colston Road, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range: £78 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilbury Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 17th century Grade II listed Devon long house with four beautifully appointed rooms offering a high degree of privacy. Two of the rooms are in the converted barn and are spacious and very private with their own entrances. In the house, the two rooms are located on a separate landing, and are more cosy and traditional in style. All rooms are stylish and individually decorated, with high end bed linens and furnishings. Quietly loacted in the beautiful Dart valley on the outskirts of Buckfastleigh, mid-way between Exeter and Plymouth. We are an ideal base from which to explore both the Dartmoor National Park and the South Hams area of Devon. * AA 4 Star Highly Commended rating* WiFi * Off-street parking * Gardens * Excellent choice of breakfast using local produce - AA award winning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilbury Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbury Manor Hotel Buckfastleigh
Kilbury Manor Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing