We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B on the edge of Dartmoor.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilbury Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilbury Manor
Ranked #2 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B on the edge of Dartmoor.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent two days in Kilbury Manor at the beginning of May. We enjoyed our stay very much especially as the location was perfect for exploring the south part of Dartmoor. Our room was large and comfortable with an up-to-date bathroom. Julia was an excellent host and not only prepared a super breakfast but also gave us some good tips for restaurants for our evening meal.
We would be more than happy to return to this lovely house.
Brian and Jenny.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FamSimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaBlundell2013, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us - it is much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and also enjoyed the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
178
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Myself and my boyfriend had gone away to celebrate an anniversary and the whole weekend was simply fantastic, thanks in part to Kilbury Manor and Julia's hosting. The house itself is lovely. Our room was elegantly decorated, warm (despite being away from the main house), with a view of the beautiful garden. Being dog-lovers, we also really appreciated her two lovely old boys who are incredibly friendly.

Julia's breakfasts were delicious, with a wide range of options and a continental buffet (which doesn't do justice to the quality of the ingredients) to start. Between us we had the french toast, the mushroom omlette and a vegetarian and regular traditional breakfasts over the course of our stay. All cooked food was delicious and the continental starter meant we were full og enough energy to walk the moors!

Julia was also very helpful in offering advice about where is best to visit and to eat. Any questions, just ask :)

On the second day of our visit it was raining when we woke up. We opened the door to dash to the house for breakfast and we saw that Julia had placed an umbrella by our door for us. She thinks of everything!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Friendly, helpful hosts Julia & Martin have put everything into making a stay at Kilbury Manor special. It's a beautiful spot, the house is gorgeous, the food was wonderful, the bed so comfortable, furnishings lovely, and everything was spotless. The garden is pretty, and wildlife friendly. Some extra touches included finding the hot water bottle, the delicious marmalade being homemade, the note offering to provide fresh milk, and the use of the fridge if needed .... if you made a list of what you wanted in a B&B, I'm sure this would include it all. And if it didn't, I've no doubt Julia & Martin would find it for you!

Room Tip: If unsure, just ask - not all bedrooms have an en suite & ours had a low ceiling, but that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Witless2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 relaxing days. Julia's hosting was superb helping us with finding places to visit and setting us up with delicious breakfasts. Room was very tastefully decorated and comfortable with a view across the beautifully tended gardens. A ride into the lovely town of Totnes on the steam train is a must and the station is within walking distance of Kilbury. Dartmoor is on the doorstep with its stunning countryside and quaint pubs. All in all, Kilbury is a real gem and we will hasten back there when we next visit Devon - it has everything you could possibly need. Bravo Julia and Martin!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Have just had a great two-night stay in the Loft Room. Huge comfy bed and spacious bathroom with fab shower ... sound of steam trains passing by too! Fantastic breakfasts incl. locally-sourced, tasty ingredients. Friendly, welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkNBW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely two night stay at Kilbury Manor. The loft room was extremely comfortable, a huge bed, comfy snuggle chair, fluffy towels and lovely power shower with separate bath.

Absolutely spotlessly clean.

Tea (lots of choices of type), hot choc, coffee and water replenished daily, with fresh milk available.

We've stayed at a lot of hotels and guest houses and this was definitely one of our favourite stays.

The guest house is in a good spot between Exeter and Plymouth which was perfect for us. It made a great base. There isn't a whole lot in Buckfastleigh but it's very close to the South Devon steam railway.

Breakfast at Kilbury Manor was varied and cooked fresh to order. All the choices we had were delicious.

Really we could not complain about anything whatsoever at Kilbury Manor. We found the owners and their dogs adorable and very welcoming.

Follow the directions on the website to avoid the route there with the bridge, it saves a little stress.

We hope to be going back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linz040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have just come back from our second stay at Kilbury Manor. We were so impressed when we stayed last year that we decided to return with my parents to celebrate my dad's birthday. It's a great place to relax and unwind - in a peaceful location but still with lots to see and do close by. The rooms are beautifully decorated, with plenty of little luxuries. The breakfasts are amazing - especially the brioche french toast! Julia and Martin are excellent hosts and I am sure we will be seeing them again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttercup21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaBlundell2013, Owner at Kilbury Manor, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay with us and that your Dad enjoyed his birthday. Thank you for your kind comments - we really appreciate you taking the time to review us. Hopefully we will see you again and you may even get to stay in the Loft room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
2.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mitchelcroft B&B
Mitchelcroft B&B
#1 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dartbridge Inn
Dartbridge Inn
#7 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
14.3 mi away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
5.4 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 7 in South Brent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbury Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbury Manor

Property: Kilbury Manor
Address: Colston Road, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilbury Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 17th century Grade II listed Devon long house offering four beautifully appointed rooms,stylish and individually decorated. Situated in the beautiful Dart valley on the outskirts of Buckfastleigh, mid-way between Exeter and Plymouth. We are an ideal base from which to explore both the Dartmoor National Park and the South Hams area of Devon.* AA 4 Star Highly Commended rating* WiFi * Off-street parking * Gardens * Quality bed linens* Excellent choice of breakfast using local produce ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilbury Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbury Manor Hotel Buckfastleigh
Kilbury Manor Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing