We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding reception glory! ”

The Riverford Field Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Riverford's family-friendly Devon farm restaurant, with shared farmhouse-style tables & set seasonal menu. Advanced booking is essential for lunch or supper, but drop in for coffee & cake any time.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding reception glory! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

First time here as part of the wedding party on Saturday, and both me and my wife were blown away, it was simply amazing food in a great setting. Top marks!

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny_Thompson, Manager at The Riverford Field Kitchen, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
It was an absolute pleasure looking after this wedding. Thanks so much for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    77
    34
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently brilliant: fresh and delicious food in a beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is without doubt one of my favourite places to eat in the country. A welcoming barn set in an area of outstanding natural beauty with products sourced from the fields surrounding it. They have a three course set menu that updates with seasonal availability and there has been a couple of outstanding dishes every time we have been. This place is a must visit for veggie lovers although saying that it is highly advisable to save room for the excellent selection of puddings! The service is always excellent, super friendly and there is a good selection of soft and alcoholic drinks. Totally suitable for locals, visitors, small groups and large groups alike (including kids). Make sure you visit soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Van_Den_Elst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny_Thompson, Manager at The Riverford Field Kitchen, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Such a great review, the team will be thrilled! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favourite place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a second review but it's just so good that I felt excited to write about it all over again! We visited this time for Mothering Sunday Lunch. The food (roast rib of beef, roast potatoes, beet root gratin, carrots and leeks with herbs....and more) was fresh, interesting and delicious as always. I, without fail, come away buzzing with new ideas to try at home. This was the first time I've visited with my 11 month in tow and he was very happy in his high chair enjoying the food and then playing with toys provided in the sunshine outside. The atmosphere in general is very special as it feels like a real occasion but there is no fuddy duddy formality to it. The staff are wonderful - friendly, efficient and look like they actually enjoy being there! Beautiful little bunches of tulips were given out to the mums which was a lovely touch and a charming end to a super lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjbwdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny_Thompson, Manager at The Riverford Field Kitchen, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
So pleased you like the tulips as a Mother's Day gift. And yes, we really enjoy being here! Gorgeous farm location, fresh organic vegetables to cook with, wonderful customers - what's not to like?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Enjoyed a third wonderful dinner here last night. The food is top quality, perfectly cooked, and plentiful. Good wines. Salads and veg are the stars here; I wish I could make them taste like that! Cabbage to die for, which is saying something... Excellent, friendly, relaxed, knowledgeable service, and a good atmosphere. We've met some lovely and interesting people on the shared tables, but if you feel like a bit of privacy you simply ask for end seats and shuffle up a bit! Acoustics can be a bit tricky but things quieten down once everyone has their food! The best thing for me is the rare treat of eating out and knowing that everything is ethically sourced, in season and local wherever possible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westcountrywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny_Thompson, Manager at The Riverford Field Kitchen, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
The team will be delighted with this feedback. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh in season food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I visited Riverford for my sister's birthday, there were four of us dining and we shared a table with three other diners which really was no problem.

It is a very casual and informal experience and be prepared to be there for around 2.5 hours as nothing is rushed.

The setting is lovely (as you would expect on a farm) there is a very warm welcome from very friendly and accommodating staff. We were a little bit early so had a tea/coffee outside while we waited to go in. Once we went in we sat down and very quickly were offered drinks. We opted for a very nice bottle of house wine.

There is a set menu of seasonal food which comes out in a bowl/plate that you share around the table. The starter was a salad followed by a main of duck or for vegetarians a goats cheese and butternut squash pastry and side dishes - all lovely and fresh and well cooked.

You are invited up to the counter table by table to choose from around 8 deserts - make sure you leave some room as they are lovely!

Overall I think this is a great place to go for a special occasion or if you want a nice casual lunchtime dining experience. Note that you do need to book in advance.

I would definitely go there again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BauhausTwyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny_Thompson, Manager at The Riverford Field Kitchen, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Such an informative and useful review - thanks so much! And we love the photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverford Field Kitchen also viewed

Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Riverford Field Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing