We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cross your fingers and hope!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Abbey Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cross your fingers and hope!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

This place is in a lovely setting right beside the river Dart & close to the beautiful South Devon railway & with Dartmoor on the doorstep. Tables outside for eating or just drinking & watching the river flow by. Nice food & pretty much idyllic if you're taking a bit of time out.
BUT! Don't do what we did & be beguiled into thinking that a weekend stay here would be equally wonderful. The whole place is pretty tacky inside & needs more than just a good, thorough cleaning... it needs to have one room at a time closed and totally refurbished, unless you like maroon and mustard yellow as a colour combination. Its also advisable to phone at least twice to make sure that these numpties have actually made your reservation as per your instructions.... we booked for a weekend & despite having our e-mail to confirm, they'd booked us in for Saturday & Sunday nights, so it was a bit tricky when we turned up after work on Friday!!!!!!!!!!! Nice people did their best to sort it out, but its not what you need after a 3 hour drive.

Room Tip: Ask for the Dart & check that they've got you booked in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyinn_11, Owner at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Good morning Carol, Firstly i am absolutely amazed that after nearly a year (may 2012), you have took to posting a comment on trip-advisor. I recall the weekend very well as this was your 3rd booking and 2nd cancellation of dates as your husband had to work. We accepted responcibilty of the confusion and gave you the room we only keep vacant for family and friends. The day after, myself and housekeeper moved your luggage into our honeymoon suite, and gave you the whole of your stay for free. I dont take kindly to being called Numbties !!!!! when clearly the only Numptie doesnt live here. I have been in touch with trip-advisor and reported your comment to them. I also recall you complaining on the day of check-out that the phone ringing was "incessant" to your ears. I was dealing with you as customers and didnt want to appear rude and answewr the phone until i had finished. I trust you wont be staying here again and that pleases me no end. I can only hope that any potential customers that reads your comments and my reply will see past what you have typed and look at the further excellant comments we have recieved from other people who have stayed us and have enjoyed their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    46
    16
    13
    2
See reviews for
25
78
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We love this pub, we have stayed twice now. The food is very good, the rooms are comfy and the staff make you feel very welcome. If you eat at the Abbey Inn, i would go for the fish. It was cooked beautifully. We will definitely be back- Clare & Tom

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thehungrypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

My friends and I decided to stop at the Abbey Inn for lunch after taking our dogs for a very long walk. We were very pleasantly surprised to find that the Abbey Inn had quite a selection of gluten-free food available for lunch. Being a coeliac I find that the usual stock answer to the question "do you have anything gluten-free?" is - Baked potatoes! However, the chef came out to go through the menu of specials available and I was delighted to be able to choose the turkey and ham risotto with gluten free roll and salad. Unfortunately I couldn't finish it all as it was such a huge portion - really delicious and would satisfy any appetite. He also had gf sausages, bread and pastry available and could make up almost any dish. This lunch really made my day and I will certainly be returning with my friends for lunch and dinner. Very friendly people who make you feel really welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csarahv1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch yesterday. The food was good and plentiful and served by the friendly manager. We even got help up the steep slope with the wheelchair - thanks. We'll be back more often - a fabulous base to explore the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlimJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

when we arrived the place was not busy, we were left waiting a very long time at the bar for a table even though there were some already laid. The barman didn't make any effort to serve us a drink even though we were waiting for about 10 minutes, until one of the locals suggested it to him. When we did sit down the service was terrible the waitress didn't know what specials were still available and when asked if my son could have chips instead of potatoes with his fish she returned saying the chef wouldn't allow this as they would not go with the dish! We had to order chips separately. when the food did eventually turn up it was not really worth the wait. I would never go to this pub/restaurant again. You would think that pubs would be trying to attract customers not deter them from returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyinn_11, Owner at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and regret that you have felt the need to write a bad review.
at the bar you should have been offered drinks straight away, although you didn't wait 10 minutes it was still unacceptable.
When you arrived the dining room still hadn't been set up as it was slightly before we opened for food and certain tables were all ready reserved.
we have spoken with the kitchen and the only reason we would not have changed potatoes for chips would be when they were an integral part of the dish and chips would not have been suitable.
thanks again for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry that your visit didn't live up to your expectations, you have said you will never visit us again but we would love the opportunity to put things right with you, please contact us via e-mail and you will not be disappointed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We spent two nights at the Abbey Inn after booking 'The Otter Experience' at the nearby Dartmoor Otter and Butterfly Sanctuary. We found the inn to be comfortable and the staff friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Dart Room which isn't the largest bedroom available but has amazing river views and is light and comfortable and we both slept well. The bathroom is small but perfectly adequate, (my husband is 6'3'' and well built and he didn't have any problems.) Ample breakfasts and generous and delicious dinners. Thank you to Andy, Hayley and team. We will be back.
Andrew and Susan R

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyinn_11, Owner at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Andrew and susan, thank you so much for your very kind and welcoming review, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us for the weekend. The Otter experience is a favourite for many of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back, give us a ring or drop in an e-mail and because of Andrew being 6" 3, we will certainly accomodate you with a bigger but just as lovely room. Many thanks for staying with us and again for your review it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwold suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I have just spent 6 very happy days at the Abbey Inn . The staff without exception were friendly and helpful Lovely warm room comfortably furnished and clean
The breakfasts were excellent .and dinner in the evening was worthy of 5 star hotel

I would certainly return to the Abbey Inn and be pleased to recommend it very highly

Room Tip: I was in "Dipper" with nice view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyinn_11, Owner at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you Anne for your lovely write up about your stay, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us, i hope your train journey back wasnt too much of a conquest for you. Hopefully we will see you again in the not to distant future. Take care. xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
1.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dartbridge Inn
Dartbridge Inn
#7 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#4 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furzeleigh Mill
Furzeleigh Mill
#8 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tradesman's Arms
The Tradesman's Arms
#3 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: 30 Buckfast Road, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Buckfastleigh
Abbey Inn Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing