We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and friendly”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Buckfastleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Found the place on the recommendation of a local resident, whilst visiting Buckfastleigh. The pub is tucked away along the river. It must be lovely on a warm sunny evening! We had a good meal - standard pub food - with some tempting specials. The staff was very welcoming and the waitress looking after us was very good with my daughter. Even the customers made us feel comfortable by trying to strike a conversation with my French parents!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritAntoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here after a family wedding .We were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door. We had also booked in for the Sunday Carvery which was good.The staff were good and so was the food.The room was overlooking the river and you can eat outside if you wish.The room was clean, and comfortable. The Tv worked and was 100%.As there wasnt a hair drier we asked for one. It was provided straight away.No Problem. I will stay again when next in the locality.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The trip was to visit Dartmoor Zoo as depicted in the film "We bought a Zoo". We looked for somewhere near and booked the Abbey Inn. From the minute we pulled into the car park we knew we had made a good choice. Right on the river Dart away from the traffic, this tranquil spot was magical. The staff were welcoming and accommodating. The room(Dart) overlooked the river with a beautiful four poster bed with ensuite. It was sparkling clean with tea/coffee facilities and biscuits. The complimentary shower, shampoo and conditioner was added to with lovely hand cream. The evening meal of freshly caught local fish was delicious with a nice choice of starters and mouthwatering desserts. The hotel bar was friendly and frequented with locals, which is always a good sign. After a good nights sleep we were treated to a full English, perfectly cooked and requests accepted readily. The cost of our stay was very reasonable and the location to the Zoo and Buckfast Abbey was ideal.The new owners were personable and obviously hard working. Certainly would visit again.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms but the 'Dart' room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuccaPooleDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My sister and I spent a very pleasant time sipping rose wine at this beautiful inn situated in a
lovely location by the river. The weather in the late afternoon was sunny and warm.

The Inn is within walking distance from Buckfast Abbey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a weekend as we were attending a wedding nearby. We were welcomed on arrival, and they had even kept the bar open late for us as we arrived late on. The new owners had taken over only a week previously so the bar had not been changed yet but I believe it has now been tidied up. Even so it was a charming enough country pub. Upstairs our room had a four poster bed and lovely view over the river. We also had our own key for a side door so that we could come in and out as we pleased, arriving late without disturbing our hosts, something that can often put me off staying in guest houses. Breakfast was a hearty affair. Can't complain at all really. Great location, nice clean rooms, friendly staff, good value for money. My only complaint was that you can't buy Buckfast tonic wine at the bar. Though on second thoughts maybe that's a good thing!

Room Tip: Get the room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed one night at the Abbey Inn whilst on business in the area. As a woman travelling alone I value a warm welcome, friendly but not overpowering service, good value and flavourful food in an environment where I feel comfortable eating on my own, and a nice glass of red wine! I got all of these at the Abbey Inn, plus a pleasant room with a view of the River Dart gurgling past the window. The new owners were anxious for feedback as I was leaving, as they want to make improvements to ensure they provide what the customer is looking for. When I'm next in the area I will definitely stay here again, and I'm sure I'll enjoy the results of their efforts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

New owners trying hard to pick up a rather run-dwon business. They need to encourage good staff to take up positions to support the already good staff from the previous owners. Need to have email communication.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckfastleigh
1.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
512 reviews
9.7 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,084 reviews
21.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dartbridge Inn
Dartbridge Inn
#6 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#4 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furzeleigh Mill
Furzeleigh Mill
#8 of 10 in Buckfastleigh
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Address: 30 Buckfast Road, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range: £52 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Buckfastleigh
Abbey Inn Buckfastleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing